Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 10:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Gnome 2.20.3 SFS (Only for Puppy4)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Author Message
QBall2U


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Somewhere, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 02:38    Post_subject:  

Has anyone tried using the sfsconvert version converter utility on the gnome-2.20.3test02_400.sfs to convert it to whatever version of the filesystem they are using (i.e. squashfs 3.0 to squashfs 4.0) THEN changing the '_400' to, say '_420' or '_430'?

Just curious if that would work? Confused I mean, if it was made using Dingo (puppy 4.0) for a squashfs 3.0, would converting it to squashfs 4.0 (like we do for other .sfs file groups) work?

Thanks! Wink

_________________
Pup 4.30 live-cd (1.6GiB save) on IBM Thinkpad R32, Intel P4 Mobile CPU 1.6 GHz, 256 MiB RAM, Intersil Prism 2.5 wavelan chipset, ATI Tech. Radeon Mobility M6 LY video controller.

Puppy Search: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
hexdef101

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat 01 May 2010, 19:21    Post_subject:  

yes and it converts perfectly
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
heri.neutrino

Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 24 Dec 2010, 19:23    Post_subject:  

how to install gnomenu and dockbarx in gnome?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
xileros


Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr 2011, 00:07    Post_subject:  

i guess i'm just missing something but how would one go about getting this sfs working on a full install of 525?

i tried on 520 but it just played funny colors and offsets..

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jonrpick


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2011, 18:19    Post_subject:  

Agreed... I'd love to see Gnome on Puppy. I realize some may see that as adding something rather "bloated" to a very slim distro, but overall, it would still be far smaller than say, Fedora...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Fri 03 Jun 2011, 15:30    Post_subject:  

Hi folks,

Well... like WOW has posted this .sfs is originally for the 4.00 Puppy Series actually ( and I'm posting from it now by the way ). Puppy 5 and up uses a different version of squashfs if I remember correctly, hence why you folks are seeing "splashy colours" and whatnot when booting and trying to load the Gnome.sfs file. See, I went and tried mounting it without converting it and ditto - that's exactly what happened to me as well! Wink

However! I went and changed the .sfs file over to the newer "version" of squashfs which I believe is 4 ( this was made in version 3 ).

The results for me? It still failed to work in any of my 5 and up Series. One would have to install an entirely new Gnome from the Lucid repos into LucidPup-5+ and hope that would work, the biggest reason being that in this package - I believe at least - there's a MAJOR mismatch between GTK2.0 versions ( among several other problems of course ).

Where I've gone and have installed so many window managers - plus a few desktop environments - straight from the Ubuntu Lucid repos and directly into LucidPup-5+ via the PPM all without any ill effect whatsoever, it would be interesting "someday" to do a bare, frugal, install and just test a Gnome desktop install... just to see what would happen, eh? Very Happy ( Just for an idea? The "Trinity Desktop" - the former "KDE-3.5.10" - installs and works flawlessly, and with a lot of attention Synaptic/aptget may likewise be added for even further software fun. )

So many projects... so little time left! LOL!

Cheers/Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge d'Acadie"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DM was on fire!


Joined: 12 Sep 2009
Posts: 156
Location: N.E. Georgia Mountains, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun 2011, 01:02    Post_subject:  

It really might just be easier for someone to try and make a new version of GNOME. lol
I'd love to run GNOME on a Puppy drive (Xfce is nice but I like GNOME), so if anyone's looking for beta testers just give me a wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2012, 05:45    Post_subject:  

Wow, I actually got this to work, and in 4.3.1 (frugal) no less.

What I did is follow the instructions in the original post, except:
1. I converted the SFS to 4.3.1 using the included Convert SFS utility.
2. Changed the name of the SFS to have "431" at the end.
3. The Dingo-Xorg-DRI.pet is no longer available, so I used the xorg_xorg_full_dri-7.3.pet from the Puppy 4 repository.
Note: xorg_xorg_dri-7.3-1.pet from the same repository does not work properly. I've tried this too and it's missing too many components.

It does have a few (minor) problems:
1. A few of the applications do not have icons in the menus (but they work), and also the JWM settings show up in the menus (and obviously do not work in Gnome).
2. During bootup there's these weird repeated messages in text about the CD ROM and removable devices. Ignore them. USB devices work.
3. You can't shut down using the normal button. If you press shut down or re-boot in the shut down menu it won't work. Instead you have choose shut down but don't press any of the options, wait for it to count down 60 seconds. You'll then get thrown into text mode and you can type "poweroff" or "reboot".

It is now possible to save files directly on the desktop. What I didn't like is that now a lot of things require double clicks and I couldn't find an option to use single clicks like in most Puppies.
Screenshot-1.png
Description  (never mind the date, it's not a joke)
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot-1.png 
Filesize  624.6 KB 
Downloaded  312 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2012, 08:58    Post_subject:  

Hi Mini-Jaguar,

As for your mouse and setting it to "single click", you should be able to go into "system>preferences>mouse" and I believe it's in there you can set for left/right hand mouse, as well as whether or not you'd like single or double clicks.

I find it rather odd, however, about the menu items from JWM not having their icons in the Gnome desktop as well as not working in Gnome. I'm using WOW's Gnome in Puppy-4.2.1 and it works perfectly! All the programmes from JWM work in Gnome and vice-versa while only a few icons are absent - I could probably count them on one hand even.

I wished - and often asked several people well-acquainted with the process - that a real "Gnome-Pup" could have been built. ( The one mentioned in my sigfile is actually a joke as it's Puppy-4.2.1 running WOW's Gnome, along with several window managers too. )

I wished I could help but this is about as much as I can do for now. My apologies...

Amicalement/In Friendship,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2012, 12:06    Post_subject:  

It wasn't a lot of icons missing, I think 21 or 22 I counted them, I would say about 95% of the icons are there, and it's not what I'm worried about since I need to learn to install icons in Gnome.

The JWM utilities had icons, but they didn't do anything, I don't see what changing the wallpaper or icons in JWM would do in Gnome anyways.

The shutdown problem is kind of weird (not that there isn't the workaround). And also I'm not sure how to go about removing removable drives now, just unmount? There's no remove and it posted some warning about removing my USB stick once and it was actually unmounted.

If 4.2.1 doesn't have these problems I might try that instead.

The mouse options just had double-click timeout, I found an applet to do the single click but I still have to learn to compile programs. It's not a burning issue though, I can live with the double-click until I figure it out.

I'm also curious as to how it would handle Toutou in Gnome. It's 4.3.1 but heavily modified. I'm almost out of CDs though, I probably have to go buy CDs. Again...

O.k., thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 12:33    Post_subject:  

I tried Toutou, but it had the same shutdown problem as the regular 4.3.1. Plus some Gnome-only menu entries are in English (annoying if the os is not in English). But Toutou is nice without Gnome.

4.2.1 (retro) is indeed better and shuts down normally. Plus it has fewer missing icons, maybe 3-4 less than with 4.3.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0778s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]