Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 15:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
spup-121.02 pre-alpha3 based on 13.37
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 27 of 38 [567 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 12:43    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
nooby wrote:
Can one install both FF 5 and FF7 in Spup or will them bark at each other?


Yes. Leave ff5 to run from existing icon
and go to /usr/share/Firefox or whereever you have installed FF7 and run from there or copy runtime to desktop and assign new icon . . . Cool


Dont you get a conflict in /root/.mozilla/firefox?

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 12:43    Post subject:  

Hey 01micko, Progress. I installed the pet, deleted the two files, and rebooted. On reboot everything was A-OK, just like on first boot, 1280x960 @ 85HZ.

On second boot, this time it looks like we have the radeon driver, *but* resolution is not the same, now it is, again, 1600x1200 @60Hz (Hurts my eyes!)

I can fix it with xorgwizard or with Setup -> Personalize Settings, but I am thinking you want it to work without having to do that. (I fixed it with Personalize Settings and then rebooted and it kept the proper resolution.)

Add> I just thought to mention. When xorg configures on first boot the resolution is 1280x960 @85Hz. This is labeled *preferred* However, when fixing the second boot 1600x1200 in Personalized Settings or xorgwizard, the 1280x960 option is not available--the nearest is 1280x1024 @ 75Hz.

Cheers,
pd-video2.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pd-video2.tar.gz 
Filesize  12.5 KB 
Downloaded  188 Time(s) 

Last edited by playdayz on Mon 30 May 2011, 18:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 14:35    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Lobster wrote:
nooby wrote:
Can one install both FF 5 and FF7 in Spup or will them bark at each other?


Yes. Leave ff5 to run from existing icon
and go to /usr/share/Firefox or whereever you have installed FF7 and run from there or copy runtime to desktop and assign new icon . . . Cool


Dont you get a conflict in /root/.mozilla/firefox?

guess one does. But I had no idea how to get the FF7 going so I did not dare to take it down. But I usually get a conflict with Semonkey and FF but this time it just worked. Flash and all.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gnz11

Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 15:17    Post subject:
Subject description: re multiple FF's
 

just install the .tar.gz in a directory.then run it from that directory using the firefox script icon in that directory. that keeps them from conflicting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 15:26    Post subject:  

Yes that sounds cool.. I feel too chicken I almost never managed to deal with tar things. I am not on that level yet

But thanks for the cheer up Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 15:41    Post subject:  

If anyone is interested, I have updated Woofy (a simple remaster tool)..

Why post here?

Well, Woofy now supports the most recent Woof builds (with ones with short kernel versions, such as Spup Alpha and Dpup Squeezed).. Woofy allows you to remaster with or without a zdrv, and should now name the zdrv correctly for Spup alpha and all others, based on the main SFS name...

Woofy should be easy enough for most users, and if anyone wants to help test it, or just use it to create their own Spup, then Woofy can be found here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=429229

Thanks.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 18:01    Post subject:  

Testing gnome-mplayer and gecko-mediaplayer compiling. They needs to be same versions. So install both if you want to test latest versions.
I couldnt find any configure files to see how these are compiled but I know the master compiler follows this thread.

Gecko-mediaplayer
Code:
./configure CFLAGS="-mtune=i486 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer" CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}" --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var --build=i486-pc-linux-gnu --with-gconf=yes

Gnome-mplayer
Code:
./configure CFLAGS="-mtune=i486 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer" CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}" --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var --build=i486-pc-linux-gnu --with-alsa --with-dbus --without-libnotify --enable-panscan --with-gconf=yes
gnome-mplayer-1.03.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gnome-mplayer-1.03.pet 
Filesize  131.86 KB 
Downloaded  179 Time(s) 
gnome_NLS-mplayer-1.03.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gnome_NLS-mplayer-1.03.pet 
Filesize  236.48 KB 
Downloaded  181 Time(s) 
gnome_DOC-mplayer-1.03.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gnome_DOC-mplayer-1.03.pet 
Filesize  45.03 KB 
Downloaded  184 Time(s) 
gecko-mediaplayer-1.03.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gecko-mediaplayer-1.03.pet 
Filesize  173.02 KB 
Downloaded  196 Time(s) 
gecko_NLS-mediaplayer-1.03.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gecko_NLS-mediaplayer-1.03.pet 
Filesize  2.53 KB 
Downloaded  185 Time(s) 
gecko_DOC-mediaplayer-1.03.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gecko_DOC-mediaplayer-1.03.pet 
Filesize  18.02 KB 
Downloaded  177 Time(s) 

Last edited by pemasu on Tue 31 May 2011, 01:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 18:37    Post subject:  

Hi pemasu, When I compiled gecko-mediaplayer I thought I had to include
Code:

--with-plugin-dir=/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins



And with gnome-mplayer I used these:
Code:
--with-libmusicbrainz3 --with-pulseaudio=no


libmusicbraniz is only necessary if you want it to look up album covers for the songs it is playing--which I really like Wink The pulseaudio=no was for Lucid where it wouldn't compile otherwise--slacko must have pulseaudio. So maybe nothing different for you there.

CFLAGS and CXXFLAGS, I was setting as environment variables--see the thread on compiling Firefox. But I was using them to compile for a particular architecture. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67756

I think you are missing a dash on gnome-mplayer the last item -with-gconf=yes should be --with-gconf=yes.

Finally, I was able to compile with -O3, for highest optimization--no big deal I am sure. As I understand it, -O2 is considered more usual.

I did not use --enable-panscan--that seems like a good feature if it is to play DVD's.

The ones I compiled are at http://diddywahdiddy.net/LupuNews/index6.html

Last edited by playdayz on Mon 30 May 2011, 18:46; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5723
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 18:43    Post subject:  

Seems like it's time for another gratuitous KDE screenshot..... Laughing
spup-120.50-kde.png
 Description   
 Filesize   174.85 KB
 Viewed   1015 Time(s)

spup-120.50-kde.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 19:24    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Seems like it's time for another gratuitous KDE screenshot..... Laughing
Where can we get the KDE desktop program, so we can use the KDE desktop also?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5723
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 19:40    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
James C wrote:
Seems like it's time for another gratuitous KDE screenshot..... Laughing
Where can we get the KDE desktop program, so we can use the KDE desktop also?


I installed everything straight from the Slackware repo .....but be warned the installed size is huge and KDE throws the occasional error message.
Fun to play with though. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 19:43    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
James C wrote:
Seems like it's time for another gratuitous KDE screenshot..... Laughing
Where can we get the KDE desktop program, so we can use the KDE desktop also?


I think right now you're only option it to build it yourself. Dont think they've released a package of it yet.
I'm getting hung up on installing the newest nVidia drivers (270.41.19).
Once I get that squared away Im going to see about going the Gnome 3.0 route for sh*ts and giggles. Razz

So far the command line in Spup is REALLY nice. I like its minimalist interface. haha

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 19:45    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
jim3630

Quote:
Initially, the universal installer would not install to hdd with error "cannot be mounted currently mounted read-write does not have lupusave.3f.file in it"


Hmmm... that seems weird. I don't know how the "lupusave" bit fits into the picture Confused . Are just trying a frugal install? If not please elaborate. TIA.

~
Jim1911..

Of course wbar configuration does need some tweaking. At the moment it's not high on my list but it will get done.

I'll see if I can reproduce your error with the wallpapers. There was some similar bug awhile ago and it turned out to be the wallpaper setter It was supposed to be fixed. Are you having trouble copying anything else to ext4?
EDIT: I just tried Jim and it was ok.. are you using a full install? My pupsave is on ext4, my full is on ext3.. I grabbed some of those images from futwerk, he posted a heap of walls, I saw you had some, I also saw he most likely accidentally, put commas in the filename. I saved them in my full install, transferred to pupsave and no problems. However the pupsave only supports up to ext3.



01micko yes frugal install but after the strange error message universal installer would not proceed. so mounted image, copied, pasted files and would boot up but unable to connect to internet in spite of successfully loading and configuring the wo.ko driver.

the universal installer is not correctly working in Ice Puppy 13 giving same error message. With ip12,11 and subsequently I assume seems to work correctly not giving the previously reported error message. It also works in snow puppy 18 but not in snow puppy 19 giving the same previously reported error message.

01micko read and understand your reason for not including Frisbee. I only connect via wireless and Frisbee works 100% for me in other puppies that have it. do you have a Frisbee pet? thanks jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2011, 01:14    Post subject:  

Playdayz. I fixed the missing dash. I had both gconf compiled with that --with-gconf=yes but I had copied from console the wrong one. It was bit late when I had all done. Lol.
Code:
--with-plugin-dir=/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

I stopped in that when compiling. But I left it out and tested gecko-mediaplayer install. It installs the plugins to the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins anyway. So I left it out.
Code:
--with-libmusicbrainz3 --with-pulseaudio=no


I left the first out intentionally. I believed that spup does not have libmusicbraiz3 installed. No pulseaudio, I will include that but the configure checked that I didnt have pulseaudio and it didnt give warning about it and it didnt stop the compile without definitive parameter in compile so I thought it isnt necessary to mention it.

But I like these compiling evaluations. These are most educating.
Thank you Playdayz. Highly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2011, 01:21    Post subject:  

OK finally managed to mess up my spup pa (pre-alpha) 3 slacko / spot [ some kernel numbers] . . .

Basically I loaded what I thought was VLC (already installed)
but inadvertently selected mhwavedit.
I then dragged a rather large mkv video file into it.
It was converting this to an audio only format - a trick I use sometimes use when creating podcasts from my quickcam.
I closed it down when I realised what had happened.
However mhwavedit has a restore facility if an operation is aborted. That must mean it stores in tmp or a cache somewhere?
So now my personal storage file was reporting in the red.
I think this would have happened in any Puppy?
Time to restart x, did not clear and I could not get back to the desktop, same with reboot.
Just going to a command line.

I am not sure what all this means, whether it is useful
but am reporting in as much detail as possible Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 38 [567 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1170s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0156s) ][ GZIP on ]