Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 02:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to record with mhWaveedit?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
marlow

Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2011, 15:36    Post subject:  How to record with mhWaveedit?
Subject description: cannot get alsamixer configured to record in mhWaveedit
 

Hello everybody. I am a complete beginner in the puppy world. As far a I have seen it, puppy is just the thing for me, though I have some troubles configuring things. For instance I would like to record sounds of my soundcard with mhWaveedit. I have read all the threads I found, concerning the same topic and did as I was told, but didn't get any results. The needles, showing input levels in mhWaveedit, just don't move. In alsamixer I muted everything I could except "master" and "front" (so I at least could hear the sounds), toggled "capture" and set "input source" on "mix". I tried every other combination I could think of and made sure the right soundcard was named in the upper left corner (at least it was the same one "alsa wizard" detected). I seem to miss something essential. Can anybody help? I wouldn't like to return to ms
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3250
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2011, 20:20    Post subject: use retrovol  

Just type 'retrovol' in terminal and choose your source.

If it's not installed you can easily install it yourself
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=272182748&t=50744

Also make sure you install audacity as well. It's useful for editing and
recording.

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Audacity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marlow

Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2011, 02:15    Post subject: tried retrovol already  

I tried retrovol already. It is mentioned in the puppy help pages. Though I find it easier to use, it still didn't help. Tried different settings without effect. Tried to put in a CD (can hear that with MPlayer just fine) and record something without any luck. Input source on "Mix" or "CD", no luck.
Right now "IEC958 Default PCM", "Master", "Front" and "Capture" are marked and boosted. Input source is set on "Mix". I have three capture sliders and according three Input sources. Tried all of them without effect.
I used audacity in ms windows. Great program. Will use it when I have something recorded to work on Smile Thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mow9902

Joined: 26 Nov 2008
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2011, 21:20    Post subject:  

Alsamixer has 2 different views:
1. playback - these settings only affect how you HEAR sound (not how it is recorded)
2. capture - these settings only affect how sound is CAPTURED/RECORDED (not how it sounds when playing back)

In order to CAPTURE sound ie RECORD from the microphone the CAPTURE settings in alsamixer MUST be:
o capture L....R on the "capture" setting
o capture L....R on the "Mix" setting
o capture L....R on the "ADC" setting
o capture L....R on the "DAC" setting


# open a recorder application (say mhwaveedit) - make sure you have selected OSS Open sound system in the preferences
# go back to alsamixer - move over the to the mic (on the playback screen) , then mute it, and then unmute it again
# go back to mhwavedit and try a record.

I actually had to mute the mic setting in alsamixer, and then unmute it again .
ALSAMIXER settings.jpg
Description  alsamixer settings should look like this.
jpg

 Download 
Filename  ALSAMIXER settings.jpg 
Filesize  34.52 KB 
Downloaded  1952 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marlow

Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 02:03    Post subject: alsamixer settings  

Ok, here may be some problems identified. First, I cannot toggle capture on the mix setting. Nothing happens there when I hit the space bar. I have no ADC nor DAC setting. Will try to add a screenshot of alsamixer.
I had a look at the preferences in mhwaveedit. I guess what I had to look at was register "sound > settings". On "playback device" it said "default". On "recording device" it said "hd". Tried to put "OSS" in there. Result: error notice with start of "record" in mhWaveedit: no such file of directory. Maybe there is the prob?
alsamixer.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  alsamixer.jpg 
Filesize  113.78 KB 
Downloaded  170 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1801
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 11:04    Post subject:  

marlow, what you are trying to do I was able to do a few years back but lately I have had no joy.

If I could hear sound through my speakers from the sound card I could capture it with mhwaveedit, not so anymore, and I have tried.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyite


Joined: 23 Jul 2009
Posts: 758
Location: U.S., Midwest, Central Time Zone, GMT-6

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 11:45    Post subject:  

If you want to record music from an audio CD I recommend you rip instead of capture / record with mhWaveEdit.

Ripping bypasses the sound card and copies files from CD to hard drive digitally thereby creating an exact copy of the source tracks.

Try one of the following to rip audio from CD:

Pcdripper

RipOff CD Ripper

Asunder CD Ripper

To record sound fron an external source such as home theatre or stereo with mhWaveEdit see my How To

_________________
Learn more about Puppy Linux: Puppy Linux FAQ
Protect your privacy: Scroogle.org - Ixquick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3250
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 16:04    Post subject: try ice puppy  

You seem to have a very advanced sound card.
Multiple capture??? I have only one capture Laughing

The problem might be that the Linux people have
been slow to build in compatibility for this card.
In that case you should try the latest kernel.

The Puppy Linux with the latest kernel is
Ice Puppy. It's available here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=66836

It worked well on my machine, but it's highly experimental.

Also the latest Wary by Barry Kauler has a new method for
loading alsa that may solve some sound problems with
some machines.

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02304

_______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marlow

Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 16:32    Post subject:  

Hi smokey01, what you are saying is not quite hope inducing. Seems to me, I have to rely on ms windows (darn!)
puppyyite, I just tried to record from a CD to test if it was even possible even, when recording a stream from internet was not, but thanks anyway.
don570, your recommendation is way beyond my skills. But thanks anyway. I guess I will have a friend of mine let have a go on the problem. If he cannot sort it out, I admit defeat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1801
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 18:10    Post subject:  

marlow, I had another go at mhwaveedit but couldn't get it to recognise sound from the internet.

I had a lot more success with Audacity, with cords as suggested by puppyite. I plugged a 3.5mm male to a 3.5mm male jack from my headphone port into my line-in port. The volume needs to be turned down otherwise you get a lot of distortion. I'm not sure how safe this is on the equipment but it worked very well.

I still haven't worked out how to configure audacity or mhwaveedit to use the sound card as a sound source.

I might also try IcePuppy and Wary, as suggested by Don, as I have them both installed. IcePuppy is a brilliant distribution by pemasu.

I would rather not have to use cords which would improve my comfort level.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4211
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 19:16    Post subject: Can ICE/SNOW do this as you show?  

smokey01 wrote:
... I had a lot more success with Audacity, with cords as suggested by puppyite. I plugged a 3.5mm male to a 3.5mm male jack from my headphone port into my line-in port. The volume needs to be turned down otherwise you get a lot of distortion. I'm not sure how safe this is on the equipment but it worked very well.

I still haven't worked out how to configure audacity or mhwaveedit to use the sound card as a sound source.

I might also try IcePuppy ... .
I'd be interested in your finding on the ICE/SNOW platforms in recordings:
  • Did the cord work on ICE? (Y/N)
  • Did the any other approach(s) work on ICE? (Y/N)
Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1801
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 20:50    Post subject:  

gcmartin, connection between headphone socket > line-in socket:

IcePuppy - both mhwaveedit and audacity works

Lupu510 - audacity works but not mhwaveedit

It also works fine with mhwaveedit in Lupu 525.

Success at last.

I wish I could make it work without the cord though.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2011, 01:03    Post subject:  

Mhwavedit no cords;

Live radio stream from kcur, my local pbs station playing.

Puppy 4.12 full, Wary 098 full, Wary 5.12 live cd.

Retrovol capture set to about half
Capture .so set to mix.
Pcm and volume about half

Open mhwavedit and drag right side of window till red record button
shows

Click Record
Choose sample > cd quality
Start recording
Finish (when finished)
File > save as > name it
Save > where ever
Save as > mp3? > okay- it's saving
Close the windows (sites)
Drag named file to Play

Will try music cd next.

edit;

Recorded "Who Stole the Kishka" by Frankie Yankovic (World's
Greatest Polkas cd).
No problems.

edit;

It saves on the line that begins with the word "cursor". The subtle
difference in shading is not very obvious, so watch closely.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1801
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2011, 02:38    Post subject:  

rjbrewer, I'm not sure how you set the Capture .so to mix. I don't seem to have that option.

If you are talking about Input .so I only have Mic, Front Mic, Line and CD.

See attached.
retrovol.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   80.18 KB
 Viewed   1098 Time(s)

retrovol.jpg


_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2011, 03:28    Post subject:  

Strange, I'm not seeing any "mix" in your shot.

My laptop sound:
Intel 82801DB-ICH4
Sigmatel Stac9750,51
alsa.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.35 KB
 Viewed   1136 Time(s)

alsa.jpg


_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0914s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]