Run puppy as spot

For discussions about security.
Message
Author
User avatar
Aitch
Posts: 6518
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 15:57
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

#61 Post by Aitch »

edited out

Aitch :)

Bruce B

Re: OT

#62 Post by Bruce B »

L18L wrote:@jpeps

Code: Select all

~ printf "\x54\x68\x61\x6E\x6B \x79\x6F\x75\n"
:)
How do you guys get the characters to hexadecimal?

I just wrote a little utility to do it. I hope you like it.
It is new - as in a few minutes old.
Report bugs.

Use like this

echo char a cters | char2hex

or

cat filename.txt | char2hex

Code: Select all

#include <stdio.h>

main() {

int ch;

    while((ch=getchar()) != EOF) {

        if ( ch == 10 ) {
            printf ("0a ");
            continue;
        }

        printf ("%0x ", ch);

    }

}

To make your own binary

gcc char2hex.c -o char2hex

~

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: OT

#63 Post by L18L »

Bruce B wrote:
L18L wrote:@jpeps

Code: Select all

~ printf "\x54\x68\x61\x6E\x6B \x79\x6F\x75\n"
:)
How do you guys get the characters to hexadecimal?
I was looking up in:

XML in a Nutshell
by Elliotte Rusty Harold and W. Scott Means

ISBN 0-59600058-8

Chapter 23
Character Sets
:wink:

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#64 Post by nooby »

All this is very fun and most likely very handy to be able to do but every time me get overly excited that finally I will be able to run Chromium as Spot then it is about some cute char one can make :)

No criticism guys.

Could we maybe within reasonable time get back on running puppy as spot. ?

No hurry, what about Monday next week or so :)

In another thread I learned that Chromium refuse to work if it is root.

So we need to get a reliable way to tell it we are not root running it.

Now I have a version that Terryphi made and all kudos to him and others for doing such hacking but it would also be good if we could get it to run without hacking it. They upload upgrades when they find bugs and to wait for some Dev to hack it again is not a good solution.

Is it related to ask. What is the difference between Spot and Fido?

Latest woof seems to include Fido? Could that help out with running an unaltered Chromium or is Spot the most likely way to satisfy the No Evil Peeeeple at Google?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Bruce B

#65 Post by Bruce B »

nooby wrote:No criticism guys
So we can talk about what we want? Thank you.

There might not be much difference between users.

cat /etc/passwd

Then the compare the differences between the two users.

~

Bruce B

#66 Post by Bruce B »

nooby wrote:So we need to get a reliable way to tell it we are not root running it.
Try it first like this

su spot
/path/foo/bar/to/chromium


Report back when you are happy with us

~

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#67 Post by nooby »

Report back when you are happy with us

I am very happy with you guys!
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Run puppy as spot

#68 Post by L18L »

nooby wrote:Could we maybe within reasonable time get back on running puppy as spot. ?

No hurry, what about Monday next week or so :)
...
Is it related to ask. What is the difference between Spot and Fido?
...
Latest woof seems to include Fido?...
This is Monday now.

I think that Run puppy as spot is deprecated or so now.

Difference between spot and fido
spot is the older one, used for hiawatha webserver
fido is the new one, can be used to run puppy as fido. Highly experimental. Barry has given the tools and we can play with it. :wink:

Yes, the official way to run non-root is fido
Latest wary will give you the choice to run it as root or as fido. This choice has to be made once and there is no way of return.

Cheers
fido

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#69 Post by nooby »

Yes, the official way to run non-root is fido
Latest wary will give you the choice to run it as root or as fido. This choice has to be made once and there is no way of return.

Cheers
fido
Fido do what fido says he will do. Run as non root :)

So will Chromium then accept Puppy as trusty linux distro if I present myself as Fido :)

I have fido on Wary and Snow and Ice? and maybe one more not sure.

Then I have Spot on Browsersafe by Micko and Spot from a thread earlier.

So I have tried to use it but on my level it was not easy at all.

But what you say here " there is no way of return." that is a truth only for that install of that browser. AFAIK you can always do ctrl+alt-bckspace and then do su root something and then install a browser that accept to be run from root. So one don't have to reboot only go out to promt.

No big deal. The problem is to get all the permissions right what it is allowed to do and not allowed to.

We have none at the moment that work on it do we? :)

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02299
Last edited by nooby on Mon 23 May 2011, 14:53, edited 1 time in total.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#70 Post by Lobster »

Wary RC is the latest Fido enabled release and Barry is not recommending the use of Fido - yet
(however it is there for examination, experimentation and development)
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02299 8)
Last edited by Lobster on Mon 23 May 2011, 20:59, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#71 Post by nooby »

Can we all agree on this then?

But what you say here " there is no way of return." that is a truth only for that install of that browser.
AFAIK you can always do ctrl+alt-backspace and then do su root something and then install a browser for root to use.

So one don't have to reboot only go out to prompt and tell one want to be root and old trusty puppy looks normal again?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

jpeps
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 31 May 2008, 19:00

#72 Post by jpeps »

nooby wrote:Can we all agree on this then?

But what you say here " there is no way of return." that is a truth only for that install of that browser.
AFAIK you can always do ctrl+alt-backspace and then do su root something and then install a browser for root to use.

So one don't have to reboot only go out to prompt and tell one want to be root and old trusty puppy looks normal again?
If you're in spot, you can probably just type "exit" and be back in root. Check using "whoami"

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#73 Post by nooby »

jpeps that worked very well

What is more problematic is that one are not allowed to just start firefox. Most likely one need to install FF and give Spot or Fido the permission to use it first.

I guess that is how it worked on the Ms Windows Vista too? Only that that was some two years ago and I fail to remember such details.

And here is the Catch 22. Fido and Spot is not officially supported yet. Built in only so Devs can have a go and test it out and fix all the bugs so us that are inpatient have none to ask how to. Too early :)

My worst fear is that Spot is too restricted compared to any other user on Ubuntu so that people migrating will feel had for not getting a real thing only a Fido or Spot that behave in a way them not accustom to?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

jpeps
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 31 May 2008, 19:00

#74 Post by jpeps »

nooby wrote:jpeps that worked very well

What is more problematic is that one are not allowed to just start firefox. Most likely one need to install FF and give Spot or Fido the permission to use it first.

I guess that is how it worked on the Ms Windows Vista too? Only that that was some two years ago and I fail to remember such details.

And here is the Catch 22. Fido and Spot is not officially supported yet. Built in only so Devs can have a go and test it out and fix all the bugs so us that are inpatient have none to ask how to. Too early :)

My worst fear is that Spot is too restricted compared to any other user on Ubuntu so that people migrating will feel had for not getting a real thing only a Fido or Spot that behave in a way them not accustom to?
FF and Chromium should work in Spot or Root. The .mozilla folder needs to be in $HOME, but it starts. (then again, I installed FF from a download onto my HD)

Bruce B

#75 Post by Bruce B »

Nooby, it is very simple.

I changed my JWM task bar browser instructions to read like this

exec:su -c /opt/firefox/firefox spot

After which, it is seamless, you wouldn't know if you are running the
browser as root or spot. Except your download and save files will be in
a directory owned by spot. Or if you make an outside directory, spot
needs permissions.

~

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#76 Post by nooby »

Bruce that was very funny! Simple? Only after you told me and to remember these details is not easy.

And what about every newbie reading that now Puppy has Fido and them not curious enough to find where Barry says that only Devs should test Wary with Fido.

But sure maybe not many newbies find out about it so nothing to worry about. I will try it out on either latest Snow or latest Ice puppy then which also has Fido if one want to. But I am in no hurry.

Thanks for telling me how to. So even if I ask Console it will not know if I am in Fido or Root? I guess the easiest way then would be to try to load a htmal file from mnt/home? When in Fido it will not find that file? unless I first use Rox in root but then root maybe open the root FF instead?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#77 Post by nooby »

Bruce B wrote:Nooby, it is very simple.

I changed my JWM task bar browser instructions to read like this

exec:su -c /opt/firefox/firefox spot


~
But if I look in opt directory that one is empty. Does this code then create a symlink to firefox or how does it works?

Ooops sorry this is Spot but what about Fido then. How is that one different from Spot?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Bruce B

#78 Post by Bruce B »

nooby wrote:But if I look in opt directory that one is empty. Does
this code then create a symlink to firefox or how does it works?
Perfect example of when and where to use foobar

/opt/firefox/firefox

/foo/bar/firefox
nooby wrote:Ooops sorry this is Spot but what about Fido then.
How is that one different from Spot?
Nooby's job is to check the world wide for all Linux live CDs, small
distros and anything he can install on an NTFS - then report to others
what he learned.

I'm not likely to know about fido for a while because I'm running 5.20
and it doesn't have fido.

In answer to your question. I don't know (but spot works fine).

~

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#79 Post by nooby »

That was so logical that I got severe head ache now :)

exec:su -c /opt/firefox/firefox spot

maybe then should be
exec:su -c /foobar/foobar/firefox spot

And the word foobar refers to a long text saying. Replace the word foobar with what is the actual place on your system because this code is general to be able to work for everybody and all hardware differ. something :)

Yes I tried to persuade a PCLOS guys yesterday to share his knowledge how to boot PCLOS on NTFS in frugal but most likely none at PCLOS has heard about frugal. or them don't care. or else them would have it up front for everybody to easily find. :)
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Bruce B

#80 Post by Bruce B »

Nooby,

This is your first day on foobar. By tomorrow it will make perfect sense.
And as a reward for your efforts, you will remember the rest of your life.

Bruce

~

Post Reply