Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 19:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Musescore Music Score Editor puppy4.0+
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 07:18    Post subject:  

It worked fine yesterday, but this morning after the splash screen it dies.
I've uninstalled and reinstalled it, and ran a dependencies check which was OK, but no luck.
I modified the default opening file to my current work piece, could this have jammed it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 14:36    Post subject:  

eztuxer wrote:
It worked fine yesterday, but this morning after the splash screen it dies.
I've uninstalled and reinstalled it, and ran a dependencies check which was OK, but no luck.
I modified the default opening file to my current work piece, could this have jammed it ?

I would say so. Since it works fine out of the box, But I'm still not that impressed with QT apps and Puppy. They just pass on a scale of working and not working.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 22:43    Post subject:  

It's all fixed up.
The mistake was that I saved my score file as .msc instead of .xml Rolling Eyes
I had to rm a .conf file left over by uninstall.

i might as well spill the beans : This is part of my "big" project :

pupitup (Pup it up) pup up the volume, a music oriented puplet, an all included USB stick mini audio studio.

Release forecast : ASAP (Hopefully before New-Year).

Last edited by eztuxer on Mon 22 Dec 2008, 15:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 18 Dec 2008, 10:46    Post subject:  

here's a sneak preview screenshot.



A little more tidying up, and soft tuning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 00:16    Post subject:  

eztuxer wrote:
here's a sneak preview screenshot.

A little more tidying up, and soft tuning.

***Hint Right click you bin shortcuts and select :File>Set icon and drag and drop the icon that suites the bin file.***
looking good Smile
ttuuxxx

p.s looks like your running out of memory, maybe make a swap partition?

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 06:50    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
lect :File>Set icon and drag and drop the icon that suites the bin file.***


I've just discovered this yesterday.

Quote:

looking good Smile
ttuuxxx

Thanks.
My Puppy's name is Arobas = "@", He is 5 y/o now, was 3 months old on the pic.

Quote:

p.s looks like your running out of memory, maybe make a swap partition?


That's because my 512 MB stick was getting full, cause I'm using the "Maxi" version of pupitup with lots of softs to test and trail.

I switched to a 1 GB partition for puppy, and and another 7GB on the same stick, for data, and sutff.

On the 7 GB I keep my score files, and sound founts so that it will not make a too large pupsave2 file and slow start up.

I'd love to add automount for that /dev/sdb2

There will be a "barebone" version too with minimal soft (only music) for super fast boot Wink

Software wise, I added Firefox, Skype, Audacity, Amuc, Denemo, Timidity.
Working on Xmule, Rosegarden, Jack, etc...

Please let me know what audio/music soft you think is lacking.

Any help welcome since my knowlege of Linux is still embryonic.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 21:35    Post subject:  

Shaping up wit 4.1.2



A few more tweaks, before uploading the iso...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2348
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 05:46    Post subject: too old  

I've been waiting for some time hoping this would be updated since MuseScore is one of these apps which really needs to be kept up to date on Puppy. I'm needing functions (such as ABC files inport, and also play the created tune) which only became available in version 0.9.5. Maybe I should try and compile it, but I'm hesitant to do so, because I'm not familiar with some of the bits and pieces that seem to be involved - Jack and so on... so I'm afraid I might make a mess of it! :-)
_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 21:08    Post subject: Re: too old  

mcewanw wrote:
I've been waiting for some time hoping this would be updated since MuseScore is one of these apps which really needs to be kept up to date on Puppy. I'm needing functions (such as ABC files inport, and also play the created tune) which only became available in version 0.9.5. Smile

I did and I have.

The good news...I got it working on the second attempt.

The bad news...it needed updated QT libraries (better than version 4.5.0 - Puppy 4.31 comes with QT Version 4.3.2 I believe).

I have the files uploaded, but the QT libraries alone are 39Mb so I made them into a SFS.

*EDIT* Made a thread.

Main program: 2.4Mb
Jack: 5.1Mb
Others: <1Mb

And the latest QT (well it was a few weeks ago): 39Mb

If this looks ok I will start a thread. If not, I have jack et al ready. I might look at QtJackCtrl maybe...

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2348
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 02 Dec 2009, 18:21    Post subject: Re: too old  

sikpuppy wrote:
mcewanw wrote:
I've been waiting for some time hoping this would be updated since MuseScore is one of these apps which really needs to be kept up to date on Puppy.

I did and I have.

The good news...I got it working on the second attempt.
. . .
*EDIT* Made a thread.


You are doing a great job sikpuppy. And, timely, I need this program to add to a Puppy distribution I am giving to a musician friend. Yes, I know there are various music Pup distributions, but it was mainly just this app that I wanted available for adding to any Puppy. I'll check out the new thread.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 00:51    Post subject:  

sikpuppy did you have a look at the configure script? some times you can edit them and reduce the version number before compiling.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 02:02    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
sikpuppy did you have a look at the configure script? some times you can edit them and reduce the version number before compiling.
ttuuxxx

Yeah, but I already had the new QT, and in any case I tried to run it without using the new QT and a lot of QT libraries are missing in Puppy 4.3.1. I then copied over any missing libraries from my compile of QT 4.6.0, but then it just gave errors about missing symbols, parts etc.

The QT I compiled could possibly be trimmed, but initially I just wanted it to work. I did stop it from compiling any demos or examples since that adds about an hour onto the compile time! The other thing is that KDE needs the new QT as well, and once I have a QT 4.6.0 SFS, a KDE runtime SFS then I can compile a few nice apps that are fairly small. It's just the initial setting up of the environment that can get bulky.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 02:08    Post subject:  

That's good anyways, puppy does need a newer QT version, a few applications I tried to compile in the past wouldn't work either and I had to use the QT I compiled last year on 4 series.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TheMartian

Joined: 18 May 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 18 May 2011, 16:58    Post subject:  MuseScore .pet file
Subject description: All links to this .pet seem to be dead
 

I want to install MuseScore under Puppy 5.2.5 but all links to an appropriate .pet file for this program appear to be as dead as the dodo. Can anybody help here?

Mark L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Wed 18 May 2011, 17:10    Post subject: Musescore  

Open up the puppy package manager

click the Install button then open up the puppy package manager,

then click the configure button in that window in the lower left hand corner.

check mark the ubuntu-lucid main

click OK

close it out ppm and restart in the search window type musescore.
ppm1.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  ppm1.jpg 
Filesize  190.46 KB 
Downloaded  371 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0877s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]