Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 22:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
spup-121.02 pre-alpha3 based on 13.37
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 38 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 23:10    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:

ttuuxxx.. thanks for seamonkey, but, it suffers the same bug as the version in the iso, gifs don't work. I may go with firefox.
.

animated gifs work fine http://picorbit.com/pbpics/7a60e8f5311138613948b5b35ae01028.gif
what is the issue your having?
even the default seamonkey in the iso displays gif images
ttuuxxx
gif.gif
 Description   
 Filesize   72.81 KB
 Viewed   2443 Time(s)

gif.gif


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 23:26    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:

James C. Using gparted on a drive that has any partiton on it mounted results in gparted not working. I think it is the intended behaviour. It worked fine for me in pfix=ram. Maybe an explanation in the first window (where you choose the drive with a radiobutton) needs to be written.

As for grub, looking into it, may revert to quirky grub. most users will only use it once, so it has to work the first time right? Smile


Well, tried Gparted again on the same box as I used last night , same procedure except I reset the locale first before attempting anything.

Gparted worked, no problem. Smile

Used the installer to do a frugal, no problem. Actually doing the install right now on the other box.

Installed Grub, no problem. Booting into 120 now. Guess the locale bug made everything mess up.Worked perfectly after I set the locale.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2720
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 02:10    Post_subject:  

I'll try to remove quotes, but I think I have your spup 100 build and it worked for me with that resolution.
Didn't do anything special for mtpaintsnapshot to work except changing to different locale which doesn't give error.

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 02:52    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx

All small gifs were just flashing, a real pain, especially when posting a message!
I have fixed it now anyway, recompiled without cairo, it's a known issue with seamonkey-2.0.X and newer cairo. It's fixed in 2.1x series but that's too bloated.

Here's the new one
http://www.brainwavedesigncentral.net/micko01/stuff/puppy/spup/pet_packages-spup/seamonkey-2.0.14-spup2.pet 12M

I had to patch the source, they missed a boiler plate entry in 1 file Rolling Eyes

Patch and build instructions here

dejan, yeah that locale bug seems to be the culprit for most of the bugs, except xorgwizard

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2720
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 03:01    Post_subject:  

Yes I noticed on seamonkey that gif on tabs when loading pages that's suposed to be spining was blinking instead
_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
withoutpity

Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 03:42    Post_subject: HI,use this go get rid of the en_US locale error  

no locale error again for en_US after extract this to /.
spup-en_US.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  spup-en_US.tar.gz 
Filesize  40.4 KB 
Downloaded  196 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 03:56    Post_subject:  

withoutpity
That solves that! In lupu it is on the iso, spup not, so next time it will be Cool , I should have known that Rolling Eyes

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1052
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 04:39    Post_subject:  

Mick, can I have a url for those missing devx files please, just realized that the box i'm using for testing spup has no net access and i'll have to pull them down and use a memstick to move them across for now.

thanks
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 05:26    Post_subject:  

scsijon

give me an hour or so... I just found the source of the xorgwizard bug (oh glee!).. and wifey's calling ... chow time!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 05:46    Post_subject:  

Quote:
and wifey's calling ... chow time!


Wife? Food?
. . . distraction eh?

Remember the power(lessness) of Slack Smile
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Church_of_the_SubGenius#Slack

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 06:23    Post_subject:  

Hi all

Having video problems when 120 boots it goes straight to desktop but is very distorted and unusable (looks like the same unsolved problem as I get with debian when using a tft monitor (neuveau driver I think)) have tried ALT-CTRL-BACKSPACE and running xorgwizard (with the nv, neuveau and vesa drivers) but cannot get back to desktop and none of the drivers when tested produce the test screen just goes straight to the finished message with no resolution set. when I run xwin just get the if x has not started run xorgwizard message

On board Nvidia graphics (nVidia Coperation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] [10de:03d6] (rev a2)) and 24" tft screen

going to try the 800mhz box with the older nvidia card next

hope this helps
Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 06:49    Post_subject:  

scsijon

http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackware/slackware-13.37/slackware/l/libelf-0.8.13-i486-2.txz
http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackware/slackware-13.37/slackware/a/cxxlibs-6.0.14-i486-1.txz
http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackware/slackware-13.37/slackware/l/libmpc-0.8.2-i486-2.txz

stripe

yeah xorgwizard is broken.. I'm testing a new version tonight, will post when I get success, then I'm having a rest! (rest = distraction ??? ) ( Laughing )

Good news

The patch I made to xorgwizard works. There is more to do (ie incorporate zigbert's gui for running in X) but this is a start.

I tried it in my full install and it worked fine (before the install was foobarred Shocked )

Try it out
xorgwizard_patched-0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard_patched-0.1.pet 
Filesize  22.96 KB 
Downloaded  225 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2387
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 08:15    Post_subject:  

01micko, I was looking through your xorgwizard script, and compared to what I have in Puplite, which is a slightly modified version, stolen from LupQ... I notice that you don't have some of shinobars synaptic touchpad fixes..

And also, on line 1558, I think there should be a new line after 'LANG=C' (maybe? I can see 'LANG=C xwin ... ", all one line)..

I also have a smaller, tabbed GUI when running X, rather than that big long one which fills the screen.

And one more thing, Puplite seems to have the same issue describe by dejan, above - desktop PCs are fine, but on laptops (my eee pc and an acer) Puplite seems to have the same messed up keyboard layouts, and always defaults to 800x600 - which looks crap as it is stretched to widescreen of course..

Do the fixes you included in your patched version (about the percents in xorg.conf... changes labelled 01micko) fix this problem? Or something else?

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 08:55    Post_subject:  

Hi mick

I took your compiled Seamonkey version and change it so it has more functionality like my last one Smile I posted.
-Changed the theme to the one I made up
-added a handful of search engines F9 so that you can search ten times better.
-moved the ./root folder files to the main usr/lib/seamonkey folder, That way each pc will have a unique user id, that is the way mozilla designed it for user security. Also If a user messes up there settings they can delete the whole ./root/.mozilla folder and start clean with the default settings we added like font sizes, home button, personal bookmarks etc.
-I added Flashblock because most puppy linux users love it and a button on the navbar to turn it off/on, great on youtube, it speeds up the playback better.
Now its really nice Smile
ttuuxxx
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/Spup/120/seamonkey-2.0.14.1-spup2.pet

seamonkey-2.0.14.1-spup2|seamonkey|2.0.14.1-spup2||Personal|33776K||seamonkey-2.0.14.1-spup2.pet||SeaMonkey Addressbook|slackware|13.1||

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 09:42    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Now its really nice


Confirmed Smile
The original browser with leet spot
was crashing whenever I asked it to do something useful
- like go to a website such as gmail Embarassed

Now working - for once x10 improvement is not an exaggeration
In fact working against not working is a min x100 improvement

thanks guys Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 38 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0952s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]