Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 05:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Arcade 10
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 12 [177 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
morgonzola


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 160
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr 2011, 18:38    Post subject:  

well after some experimenting, i just decided to try out installing all the stuff on to lupu which worked for the most part (i didn't have to build it manually i could just rip some debs Very Happy ) Are you thinking about moving this to lupu at some point?
have you seen this if you are worried about size restrictions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 07:05    Post subject:  

morgonzola wrote:
well after some experimenting, i just decided to try out installing all the stuff on to lupu which worked for the most part (i didn't have to build it manually i could just rip some debs Very Happy ) Are you thinking about moving this to lupu at some point?
have you seen this if you are worried about size restrictions?

Out of curiosity, which PETs did you install? And what libs did you need to update?

And yes, I saw Lupu-lite - without nearly any apps installed it is still only 5bm smaller than Puppy Arcade! But... Yes, at some point I do plan to make a Puppy 5 based Puppy Arcade... Possibly version 12 - I think version 11 will have to be be the last in a TurboPup base Sad

(Although to be honest, Puppy Arcade is very near completion, as far as I am concerned...I don't know what more I can do with it, expect add a few emulators, make a few new GUIs, improve a few things here and there.... )

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SouthPaws

Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 19:41    Post subject: Emulator
Subject description: Suggestion
 

Is there a 3DO(panasonic) emulator...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 09:23    Post subject: Re: Emulator
Subject description: Suggestion
 

SouthPaws wrote:
Is there a 3DO(panasonic) emulator...?

SDLMESS - http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=467026

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
morgonzola


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 160
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 16:15    Post subject:  

well i installed xboxdrv (duh Laughing ) and then it needed libboost-thread1.42.0 which is available from Debian's site

i ripped debs of these and i am not sure if it works with turbopup due to a different glibc? (correct me if im wrong)

and yea i agree i think puppy arcade is a great puplet all you really need to do is adapt it to newer versions (or not)

i made the xboxdrv+liboost thing into an sfs so i can upload if you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 16:55    Post subject:  

morgonzola wrote:
well i installed xboxdrv (duh Laughing ) and then it needed libboost-thread1.42.0 which is available from Debian's site

i ripped debs of these and i am not sure if it works with turbopup due to a different glibc? (correct me if im wrong)

and yea i agree i think puppy arcade is a great puplet all you really need to do is adapt it to newer versions (or not)

i made the xboxdrv+liboost thing into an sfs so i can upload if you want.

If you upload it somewhere, I'll host it at ppm.scottjarvis.com, with all my other stuff... I don't have an xbox pad to play with, but someone might like it!

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nomenclaturist

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2011, 00:29    Post subject: FCEU Screen Size in Puppy  

Hi. I've been using FCEU (which seems to work much better than NEStopia on my machines - one is an Asus EEE with an Atom processor and the other is a whitebox with a Pentium IV).

The only problem with FCEU is that it runs in a small box covering only about a third of the screen, centered in a black band covering the rest of the screen. Not sure why this is the case because MAME takes up the whole screen just fine on both machines.

I've tried playing with the settings, but when resolution is set to anything larger than 800x600 games simply don't load. I also tried the "scale" setting, and when set to anything larger than 2X again, games just don't load. Anyway, even if resolution can't be increased, it would be nice if the gaming box could take up a larger portion of the screen. Any suggestions as to how to make this happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2011, 07:30    Post subject: Re: FCEU Screen Size in Puppy  

nomenclaturist wrote:
Hi. I've been using FCEU (which seems to work much better than NEStopia on my machines - one is an Asus EEE with an Atom processor and the other is a whitebox with a Pentium IV).

The only problem with FCEU is that it runs in a small box covering only about a third of the screen, centered in a black band covering the rest of the screen. Not sure why this is the case because MAME takes up the whole screen just fine on both machines.

I've tried playing with the settings, but when resolution is set to anything larger than 800x600 games simply don't load. I also tried the "scale" setting, and when set to anything larger than 2X again, games just don't load. Anyway, even if resolution can't be increased, it would be nice if the gaming box could take up a larger portion of the screen. Any suggestions as to how to make this happen?

Yes, install OpenGL and get it working, then use FCEU with OpenGL enabled - the stretch option and various other display options will now work fine.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gedditoffme

Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 26 Apr 2011, 03:34    Post subject:  

Hey all,

I'm having trouble getting my gamepads working. They just don't seem to be recognised by ROMLoader or RejoystickCC. However, they do respond in 'Joypad Calibrator - gamepad setup' (the axes seem a bit screwy, but it's there).

There was an install CD with the gamepads (which are really cheap ones from Hong Kong), but I expect it is Windows only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 18:32    Post subject:  

gedditoffme wrote:
Hey all,

I'm having trouble getting my gamepads working. They just don't seem to be recognised by ROMLoader or RejoystickCC. However, they do respond in 'Joypad Calibrator - gamepad setup' (the axes seem a bit screwy, but it's there).

There was an install CD with the gamepads (which are really cheap ones from Hong Kong), but I expect it is Windows only.

I'm guessing your joypad is not supported by the linux kernel.. There is a list somewhere, maybe in /root/quick-tips, or on this forum...

I tend to only use PS2 style Logitech joypads as they are supported by linux as standard, they are also cheap and work well, for a range of systems (MAME, SNES, NES, etc)..

Maybe try typing 'rejoystick' in the terminal, to load the CLI version, without the joypad checks wrapper that I added - that might work better for you.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OFC Dark Puppy

Joined: 24 Apr 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 02 May 2011, 21:52    Post subject:  

Maybe someone already covered this.

I love this distro and I want to use it desperately. However I don't have blank cds at the moment. Could it be frugally installed manually like any other pup?

Would that hurt it's performance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 02:49    Post subject:  

OFC Dark Puppy wrote:
Maybe someone already covered this.

I love this distro and I want to use it desperately. However I don't have blank cds at the moment. Could it be frugally installed manually like any other pup?

Would that hurt it's performance?

It can be installed just like any other pup, and no it won't hurt performance, it will improve it, unless your HD is slower than a CD! (very, very unlikely, unless it's reaaaaally old!)

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gedditoffme

Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 07:53    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
gedditoffme wrote:
Hey all,

I'm having trouble getting my gamepads working. They just don't seem to be recognised by ROMLoader or RejoystickCC. However, they do respond in 'Joypad Calibrator - gamepad setup' (the axes seem a bit screwy, but it's there).

There was an install CD with the gamepads (which are really cheap ones from Hong Kong), but I expect it is Windows only.

I'm guessing your joypad is not supported by the linux kernel.. There is a list somewhere, maybe in /root/quick-tips, or on this forum...

I tend to only use PS2 style Logitech joypads as they are supported by linux as standard, they are also cheap and work well, for a range of systems (MAME, SNES, NES, etc)..

Maybe try typing 'rejoystick' in the terminal, to load the CLI version, without the joypad checks wrapper that I added - that might work better for you.


I can't find that list of supported joysticks, but it can't be completely unsupported if it is being detected in "Joypad Calibrator".

No luck wiith rejoystick from the terminal though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OFC Dark Puppy

Joined: 24 Apr 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 12:13    Post subject:  

Another quick question. With so little in Puppy Arcade unrelated to gaming, how do I get those graphics drivers into it?

Also I'm concerned that my ATI is no longer usable. Any tips on how to maximize performance in a buggy intel card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 18:31    Post subject:  

OFC Dark Puppy wrote:
Another quick question. With so little in Puppy Arcade unrelated to gaming, how do I get those graphics drivers into it?

Also I'm concerned that my ATI is no longer usable. Any tips on how to maximize performance in a buggy intel card?

Same way as all other puppies - download the PET file containing the correct drivers for your card and install.. Links in the first post.

Note: I previously tried to port the puppy 5 OpenGL drivers installer thing built into QuickPet into puppy 4, but the CLI utilities it relies apon give very different information in puppy 4 and 5... But the links for the drivers are in the first post..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 12 [177 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0915s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]