Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 19:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
VMware Player 3.1.5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 17:55    Post subject: VERSION UPDATE  

Updated to version 3.1.4.
Main/first post reflects this update.


Version 3.1.3 files are still available @ http://www.silverdollarsolutions.com/PuppyLinux/asterisk/VMware_Player/.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 05:15    Post subject:  

i dont get it. Ubuntu's repo and pclinuxos' repo have vmplayer, so why puppy cant?
Well, im having trouble installing this. The pet doesnt see my bundle, i know as it is not deleted. It is in /mnt/home, and the categories is NONE.
I wish u can slam a pet or sfs, without the need of the bundle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 07:38    Post subject:  

Darkgame wrote:
i dont get it. Ubuntu's repo and pclinuxos' repo have vmplayer, so why puppy cant?
I wish u can slam a pet or sfs, without the need of the bundle

The VMware license says you have to apply and be approved to be a redistributor.
http://www.vmware.com/products/player/faqs.html
I'd bet Canonical, the company behind Ubuntu, applied. I don't have the means to do that, though, and I don't know that Puppy does either.

The application asks for a job title and a company contact. Laughing Puppy is nearly anarchy, so I don't think that'll work.
Maybe if one of Puppy's big guns like BarryK applied for it, it could stand a chance of happening, but I'm pretty sure my word and name carry little to no weight with VMware.

Anyway, just trying to stay legal. Smile
Quote:
Well, im having trouble installing this. The pet doesnt see my bundle, i know as it is not deleted. It is in /mnt/home, and the categories is NONE.

Are you using the exact same version of *.bundle and *.pet? My script only works for one version per PET package, so if, say, you tried to run the 3.1.3 PET with a 3.1.4 bundle installer- or vice versa- then it will just blink errors at you, uselessly.

You'll also want to make sure the bundle is executable.

If that checks out and it's something else, then please provide some more information: Puppy version, VMware version (both their bundle and my pet), etc. I'll help as best I can.


EDIT: There's also a dependency, hal, listed on the first page of this thread, with a link to a package. I know it's needed for Lucid 520, but I haven't properly tested 525 yet. It might be necessary on 525, too, so keep that in mind, too.

Last edited by TheAsterisk! on Sun 01 May 2011, 03:40; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 09:30    Post subject:  

ok. I wont ask u to do it, just a wish. I wish there is an installer that allows me to point it to the bundle, and install it
puppy 5.2.5, many stuffs removed. Jwm and openbox incl, currently using icewm.
Vmplayer 3.1.4, both pet and bundle.
Yes, the bundle can be executed.
I remembered there is vmplayer 2.5.2.sfs in the wiki. Where did it go?
I will try to install again, with the fresh, unmodified puppy 5.2.5 tommorow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 08:21    Post subject:  

unmodified puppy 5.2.5 does not work too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 09:41    Post subject:  

Darkgame wrote:
unmodified puppy 5.2.5 does not work too.

Completely unmodified?

I assume you're still installing the devx SFS and the kernel source SFS modules, right?


I don't know what else to say, since I have VMware installed and functional, and I'm running 525 myself. I'm going to reboot into a clean Lucid 525, install the two SFS modules and try it fresh, just to make sure something weird isn't going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 10:17    Post subject:  

Alright, I installed version 3.1.4 from scratch, and it worked just fine for me. (I didn't make an SFS, but if I understand you, that's not where the trouble is.)

I know this can be annoying sometimes, but I'm going to list my steps, just to make sure nothing has been conflated or lost in the din.

    - Booted a fresh Lucid 525 installation off of my hard drive.
    - Rebooted that installation, made a savefile.
    - Selected the devx and kernel source SFS modules to load on boot. Rebooted again.
    - Copied VMware's bundle installer to /mnt/home/. Ran my PET from where it was (a flash drive, I think.)
    - VMware Player successfully installed. (A nag screen about installing things to /mnt/home/ was the only unusual popup or dialogue.)
    - Installed the hal dependency (please see first page). Rebooted.
    - Ran "vmplayer" from the terminal, agreed to their license, and ran vmplayer.


I didn't have to install the hal dependency when I did. You can install that first if you want, but whenever you do it you will either have to reboot or start a daemon manually. (Rebooting is easier.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 10:28    Post subject:  

what? I didnt know that u need the two modules!! Where can i get them?
Edit: guess u should have make it big and clear, lol.
Where are the modules?
Im dying for vmplayer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 10:35    Post subject:  

Oh! I'm actually relieved! I was beginning to worry this problem was going to be a real killer!

lupu_devx_525.sfs
kernel_src_L4-2.6.33.2-patched.sfs

Download those, place them in /mnt/home/ (or Puppy's sub-directory), load them with the bootmanager (Menu -> System -> "BootManager configure bootup"), and reboot Puppy. After that, try installing VMware Player again.

Cool Let me know if that does it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 10:54    Post subject:  

sorry to give u a headache!
VMPlayer, here i come! Tomorrow, lol. I need sleep. Its nite here.
Phew!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 14:01    Post subject:  

lupu_devx_525.sfs
kernel_src_L4-2.6.33.2-patched.sfs


You don't need those to install VMplayer. You need them when you run VMplayer for the first time. So the faster installation sequence is:
- install VMplayer with the pet installer;
- create the VMplayer sfs with the vmplayer-3.1.4_sfs_script script;
- add the new vmplayer.sfs, lupu_devx_525.sfs, and kernel_src_L4-2.6.33.2-patched.sfs to the boot manager;
- reboot;
- run VMplayer, let it compile and install the drivers;
- remove lupu_devx_525.sfs and kernel_src_L4-2.6.33.2-patched.sfs from the boot manager, you don't need them anymore.

I just had one glitch:
Whenever I "install" an SFS, my desktop icons get all messy, all over the place. Every time So I run the icons layout manager and reloaded a previous configuration. I did that, and I lost my VMplayer icon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 21:14    Post subject:  

Luluc wrote:
You don't need those to install VMplayer. You need them when you run VMplayer for the first time.

You manage to get it to install otherwise? Every time I tried it on Puppy 431 without the source and compilers, it squawked at me and refused to install from the *.bundle. I don't think I've tested it without those SFSs since. Maybe my early run was a fluke?

Well, then the only other possibilities for Darkgame's troubles are that either the wrong file is in /mnt/home/, the file is in the wrong directory, or something specific to Darkgame's installation is wonky. I'm pretty sure that was well covered, though...

Quote:
Whenever I "install" an SFS, my desktop icons get all messy, all over the place. Every time So I run the icons layout manager and reloaded a previous configuration. I did that, and I lost my VMplayer icon.

Hmm...
Of course, you should be able to decline the icon altogether when you run the SFS script, and you can always drag it from /usr/share/applications/ to the desktop by hand.

Is this issue specific to the VMware SFS, or just SFS modules in general?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 21:53    Post subject:  

TheAsterisk! wrote:
Luluc wrote:
Whenever I "install" an SFS, my desktop icons get all messy, all over the place. Every time So I run the icons layout manager and reloaded a previous configuration. I did that, and I lost my VMplayer icon.

Hmm...
Of course, you should be able to decline the icon altogether when you run the SFS script, and you can always drag it from /usr/share/applications/ to the desktop by hand.

Is this issue specific to the VMware SFS, or just SFS modules in general?

SFS modules in general.

But I have other problems now. Kind of a long story...

Problem #1: I installed VMplayer successfully in another savefile. A larger one, 1GB, I couldn't make it install in a 512-MB savefile. Then I created the SFS. Everything went fine, I even ran a virtual machine. Then I saved the SFS file elsewhere and... I deleted the savefile. It was just temporary, too big and a little messed up already, for I had been using it as my test bed for many days. I had another small, clean savefile waiting for me.

So I went back to the small, clean savefile and, once again, I had to use the devtools SFS and the kernel source/headers SFS. Everything went ok. But then VMplayer refuses to run, complaining about something to do with Gconf. I didn't have that problem in my old, big and messy savefile. So I installed the HAL pet recommended here, and the problem won't go away. I can't make VMplayer run at all.

Problem #2: every time I boot with the VMplayer SFS loaded in the boot manager, I lose the "spot" user. I cannot 'su spot' anymore, I get some "permission denied" error. I tried creating another user, still no go. If I unload the VMplayer SFS, spot works again on the very next boot. Conversely, if I load it back, spot is broken again on the next boot. I only tested this with the VMplayer and the Wine SFS. The Wine SFS has no harmful effect, it's just VMplayer.

I run Firefox as spot, so it is a big deal for me. I am unable to run my browser with that bug.

I don't know what to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Mon 02 May 2011, 06:33    Post subject:  

Luluc wrote:
So I went back to the small, clean savefile and, once again, I had to use the devtools SFS and the kernel source/headers SFS. Everything went ok. But then VMplayer refuses to run, complaining about something to do with Gconf. I didn't have that problem in my old, big and messy savefile. So I installed the HAL pet recommended here, and the problem won't go away. I can't make VMplayer run at all.

As long as you rebooted after installing hal, it should start its services at boot-up. Otherwise, there are nag-errors about Gnome and accessibility settings. Gconf errors (the ones that matter) should go away after installing and starting hal.

If you've already done that, then I'm afraid I'm lost.

Quote:
Problem #2: every time I boot with the VMplayer SFS loaded in the boot manager, I lose the "spot" user. I cannot 'su spot' anymore, I get some "permission denied" error.

Yes, I'm also getting that problem, now that I check for it, but only Lucid 525. 520 and 511 don't have the issue, at least not when I test it.


Unfortunately, I'm set for a very busy week, so I probably won't get this resolved on my own until next weekend. In the meantime, you can always try running either an earlier Puppy or an earlier VMware version. (I haven't tested 3.1.3 on Lucid 525, so using it instead may or may not solve the problem.)
Obviously, if something occurs to me I'll post it.


EDIT: I've tried tinkering with aliases, chmod, and groups and owners. Nothing.
I also can no longer "su" to other users, like nobody and webuser.

I'll test su again without X, just in case, and I'll try running 3.1.3 on Lucid 525 to see it it behaves, or if 525 is the common element.

In the meantime, I'll add a warning to the first post about this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Mon 02 May 2011, 09:12    Post subject:  

did not have the time to test it today. Anyway, my bundle file is not *.bundle. Its *.i386, or something like that. Its still can be executed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0980s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]