Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 20:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Save-pup-lock
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 17:07    Post subject:  

Nope not exactly. One lose either the icons one putthere oneself or lose the icons that should be there. So would be cool to get them back. Smile 23.15 PM now so I go to bed now and I have much to do traveling away for some 6 hours so can not test much until much later.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 17:41    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Nope not exactly. One lose either the icons one putthere oneself or lose the icons that should be there. So would be cool to get them back. Smile 23.15 PM now so I go to bed now and I have much to do traveling away for some 6 hours so can not test much until much later.


Nooby,

When you're ready to test, check in a terminal type "cat /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons". The last line should be this "</special-files>".

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 19:38    Post subject:  

Edit, I guess we have to look at this more carefully. No criticism at all.

I got curious on all the error messages so I started all over with a totally new install and never installed your Save-pup-lock and tried out the save that comes from ideflash being there instead.

That is where the errors start. We have to find other solutions and not use ideflash

That produced same errors and even worse error so I trust that it is not really what you changed. One most likely can not do as we do it now. One need to get what it going on better because there are too many bugs as it is set up now. I think yous should edit out all the save things from the first post to not let others go through all the wild tests Smile

and you should feel good about the sfs-exec thing accomplished and put the save thing on backburner until you know more about the differences between pup431 and quirky 142 and snowpup 15 and soo on.
Now me back to bed. I hope

my older text.


Almost there. I got adventures and saved the icons from puppy 5 and then looked in the globicons and they lacked almost all of them so I copied in the rules from the older puppy and got almost all of them back.

So something goes wrong but it can be repaired if one know how to which I don't but I have to test more. I guess they disappear next time I do a save. I test that and then go back to bed. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 20:50    Post subject:  

Nooby,

I've tried save-pup-lock "ideflash" and "usbflash' on pup431, lupu510,511 on "usbflash" and have not experienced any of this.

I set up a new save file for each one, rebooted and then installed save-pup-lock and rebooted. All icons ok.

I'm at a loss to explain what you're experiencing.

Regards,
s
(Maybe we'll just use the regular direct save and life will be easier Smile )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 03:21    Post subject:  

Could be something odd with my set up here.

Or one would need a very detailed step for step description to exclude that one do something in odd order.

What about the original scenario you found out you could do totally without a pupsavefile using a dir2sfs and making a zp431xxx zl525332 whatever file that loaded at boot and that way you could keep your preferred setup and still have no pupsavefile this way.

I remember vaguely that it never "took" when I booted.
Have you tested this now in Lupu525?

I prefer Snowpup5 and that one already have a zl513357? file so could that one be opened and I add my personal prefs in that one and that way need no save file?

Maybe too involved thng to deal with for newbies.

How else to do it? One could replace the challenged "corrupt" pupsavefile with a known preferred version that one copy over from a safe place and replace the corrupt one that one don't want to keep?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 09:48    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Could be something odd with my set up here.

Or one would need a very detailed step for step description to exclude that one do something in odd order.

What about the original scenario you found out you could do totally without a pupsavefile using a dir2sfs and making a zp431xxx zl525332 whatever file that loaded at boot and that way you could keep your preferred setup and still have no pupsavefile this way.

I remember vaguely that it never "took" when I booted.
Have you tested this now in Lupu525?

I prefer Snowpup5 and that one already have a zl513357? file so could that one be opened and I add my personal prefs in that one and that way need no save file?

Maybe too involved thng to deal with for newbies.


Nooby,

Yes, the zdrive method has a limitation. If you make changes in the zdrive that have the same file names as in the main pup-xxx.sfs file, because of the layering system, the main pup-xxx.sfs takes priority. So any changes involving the desktop will be overcome in the layering system.

There is a way to overcome this by copying over these files at startup, but this gets rather complicated and probably not for most people.

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
qafe0331

Joined: 12 Mar 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 08:39    Post subject:  

this is really helpful, but i thing i noticed though, settings outside /root are saved in my lucid 5.2.8,

so when i install pets, the settings placed in /root are not saved but those outside /root still remains after restart.

any help? newbie here..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 16:33    Post subject:  

qafe0331 wrote:
this is really helpful, but i thing i noticed though, settings outside /root are saved in my lucid 5.2.8,

so when i install pets, the settings placed in /root are not saved but those outside /root still remains after restart.

any help? newbie here..


qafe0331,

Would you open a terminal and type the following:
Code:
cat /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE

and then post the result here.

Thanks,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
qafe0331

Joined: 12 Mar 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 20:00    Post subject:  

Code:
sh-4.1# cat /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
PUPMODE=13
PDEV1='sda1'
DEV1FS='vfat'
PUPSFS='sda1,vfat,/lupu_528.sfs'
PUPSAVE='sda1,vfat,/lupusave-qafe2.2fs'
PMEDIA='usbflash'
#ATADRIVES is all internal ide/pata/sata drives, excluding optical, excluding usb...
ATADRIVES=''
#ATAOPTICALDRIVES is list of non-usb optical drives...
ATAOPTICALDRIVES='sr0 '
#these directories are unionfs/aufs layers in /initrd...
SAVE_LAYER='/pup_ro1'
PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'
#The partition that has the lupusave file is mounted here...
PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
#(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.
#this file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
ZDRV=''
#complete set of modules in the initrd (moved to main f.s.)...
ZDRVINIT='no'
#Partition no. override on boot drive to which session is (or will be) saved...
PSAVEMARK=''

This is the result, thanks for the reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 20:52    Post subject:  

qafe0331,

Hmmm. it looks like things have changed a bit since Save-pup-lock was made.

For some reason pets are installing directly to the save filesystem in later puppies - I've found the same problem with Racy-5.22 as well.

At the moment, I don't see how to prevent this, so I don't recommend using this on newer pups.

Thanks for running the test.

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2012, 20:02    Post subject:  

qafe0331,

Well, I've found a way to get around writing directly to the save file in recent puppies.

I've tested it out mostly in Racy-5.2.2, but it should work in all others as well.

Attached to the first post is "Save-pup-lock-02.pet" for newer puppies. Please test and let me know if this avoids the problem.

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Les Kerf

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2012, 23:36    Post subject:  

seaside wrote:
qafe0331,

Well, I've found a way to get around writing directly to the save file in recent puppies.

I've tested it out mostly in Racy-5.2.2, but it should work in all others as well.

Attached to the first post is "Save-pup-lock-02.pet" for newer puppies. Please test and let me know if this avoids the problem.

Cheers,
s


I just stumbled onto this thread while searching for ways to keep from auto-saving. It seems to be working on Lucid 528 with a USB thumb drive.
Thanks for making this PET.
Les
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1039

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 14:53    Post subject:  

Hey Seaside!

First of all thanks for this little gem, which is priceless for people like me - constantly messing up with the system's internals. Wink

Everything would be fine, but I've discovered two problems today.
System: Slacko 5.3.3, frugal, pmedia=usbflash (USB) as well as pmedia=ataflash (HDD).

1. There's incompatibility between Save-pup-lock-02 and petget version in Slacko.
After installing Save-pup-lock-02 and rebooting, there's no way to install any new .pet.
In short: files aren't copied to their destinations.
Fortunately, upgrading to the latest petget-20120418.pet solves the problem, although I don't know why..?
(I haven't noticed that before, because I had petget upgraded already; just found out today, when setting up new Slacko USB install, from scratch).

2. This one is worse: one can use Save-pup-lock only once during a session.
After
Code:
mv /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppyHOLD /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy

yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -placement top -text "Saving RAM to 'pup_save' file..." &
 
   mount -n -o remount,rw /dev/loop1

  sync
  nice -n 19 /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy
  killall yaf-splash

mv /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppyHOLD
 mount -o remount,ro /dev/loop1

there's no way to make pup_ro1 writable again.
mount -n -o remount,rw /dev/loop1 returns:
Quote:
mount: initrd/pup_ro1 not mounted already, or bad option

Apparently snapmergepuppy is doing something to /initrd/pup_ro1, but I have very limited knowledge regarding layered filesystems etc. and all my attempts to fix this have failed...

If you could check out is there any possibility to resolve at least no.2, it would be really great! Smile

EDIT: Ok, I just figured out that problem no.2 occurs only (it's getting weird) if the savefile has ext3 filesystem. In ext2, suprisingly, everything is ok, so far...

Thanks again &
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Sat 01 Sep 2012, 15:25    Post subject:  

SFR,

Yes, much of the Petget coding is different, depending on which puppy or derivative, as well as the layering systems Aufs and Union.

For installing pets, I now use this script put into a right-click->open-with->Pet-install.
Code:
 #/bin/sh
#pet-installer
#seaside - use as right-click item

tar -z -x --strip=2 --directory=/ -f  "$1"
if [ -f /pinstall.sh ];then #pet pkgs.
 chmod +x /pinstall.sh
 cd /
   /pinstall.sh
 rm -f /pinstall.sh
fi
fixmenus
exec jwm -restart


That way, I'm sure exactly where the pet is being installed. (You could also change the mime type so that pet-install would run if a pet file is clicked)

As far as the filesystem not remounting, depending on ext3, I haven't been able to replicate that - (I have had some infrequent cases, but not based on the filesystem)

Since Puppies have a "mount" script, a "busybox" mount and a "mount-FULL" (actual mount command) there is a possibility that this error
Quote:
mount: initrd/pup_ro1 not mounted already, or bad option
may be caused by this line-
Code:
mount -n -o remount,rw /dev/loop1
The "mount -n" option isn't in every mount implementation, so you could try it with just
Code:
mount  -o remount,rw /dev/loop1


Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1039

PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep 2012, 06:45    Post subject:  

I don't know why can't you replicate the problem, perhaps it's something specific to Slacko again..?
Just for the record, here's more detailed procedure which reveals this error for me:

0. Slacko 5.3.3, fresh boot with pfix=ram, pmedia=ataflash. Create a savefile (ext3) and reboot.
1. First boot since savefile was created:
1a. mount -o remount,ro /dev/loop1 [ok]
1b. mount -o remount,rw /dev/loop1 [ok]
1c. Repeating 1a-1b [ok]
1d. sync && snapmergepuppy [ok]
1e. Repeating 1a-1d [ok]
1f. /initrd/pup_ro1 is left mounted as ro or rw (doesn't matter) + reboot
2. Second and further boots since savefile was created:
2a. mount -o remount,ro /dev/loop1 [ok]
2b. mount -o remount,rw /dev/loop1 [ok]
2c. Repeating 2a-2b [ok]
2d. sync && snapmergepuppy [ok]
2e. mount -o remount,ro /dev/loop1 [ok]
2f. mount -o remount,rw /dev/loop1 [fail]
mount: /initrd/pup_ro1 not mounted already, or bad option

Note 1: The same happens with -n option.
Note 2: The same happens when I won't execute 1a-1f; the problem always begins with the second boot.

But after all it's not a big deal, since it works flawlessly with ext2 + the latest petget and/or your raw install script. Wink

Thanks & Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1017s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]