Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 26 Jul 2014, 15:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
spup-100 April 2011
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 48 of 52 [775 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 07:34    Post subject:  

Nooby, I have FF and Opera as extra installed on my machine.
In spite SeaMonkey is installed as a base, I can run them without problems.
In other words, SeaMonkey is not preventing this.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 07:42    Post subject:  

looks like a case of the squeaky wheel gets the oil Wink Wink

nooby, this Icewm works Smile http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/icewm-1.3.7pre2-L519-lucid.pet

Exit from X and type "xwin icewm" at the prompt.
icewm.png
 Description   
 Filesize   34.21 KB
 Viewed   1220 Time(s)

icewm.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 07:44    Post subject:  

Nooby the Squeeeeeky wheel to your service. Smile

Jay! Cool that just worked as you described. Big friendly smile now I write from within Spup-100 using my old .mozilla on the mnt/home and SFS-Exec loading a FF3.6.sfs and it remember almost everything.
And the picutes due to install of the Icewm are now in 1024 x 768 so very good indeed.

Love it. This Nooby Squeeking wheel got oiled to his satisfaction.

Beem, thanks for encouraging words. Yes Opera worked well last time I tested it.

Now due to Micko I get FF 3.6.16 and writing from it now. Jay!
Beem while I have your attention.

Your set up seems to require that one have on partition for each puppy?

I love the symlink to apps placed outside pupsave and I have that for FF but I wish there existed an easy to follow description or script that worked for newbies.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Tue 19 Apr 2011, 09:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 08:39    Post subject:  



There you go! Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2056
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 08:51    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:


Billtoo.. certainly weird that wallsetter issue. I know it was buggy in quirky awhile back but I thought Barry fixed it, strange I can't break it and we have been using it since 051. Maybe something got corrupted in /root/.config?




I've got two spup installs where pwallpaper doesn't work, one is a usb
flash drive and the other is a sdhc card.
I have another spup install on a hard disk where pwallpaper does work,
could the problem be with the speed of flash/sdhc vs a hard disk?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 10:34    Post subject: Spup-100  

Seems we have the same problem with Iron Browser and Spup-100 (just like Spup-099). I tried every version of Iron 6-7-8-9 and same error message. Tried each with (and without) the dependencies on page-1 of this tread.

Also had a problem with wallpaper changer 'eating' my background graphics when updated to 100. Had same problem in 099 but changed the background graphic-name I wanted to 'default' and that seemed to correct thye problem.

Other than that, all seems to be working OK so far!

>>>---Indian------>
ironerror.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.54 KB
 Viewed   1102 Time(s)

ironerror.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 10:43    Post subject:  

Just got round to installing spup-100.

Took a bit of fiddling about but managed to get every thing set up the way i like it Cool

sbox Very Happy


cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2056
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 11:30    Post subject: spup-100 built from latest woof  

I did a frugal install of spup 1.0.0

Computer
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) Processor 2650e
Memory 1813MB (153MB used)
Operating System Puppy Linux 0.10
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Tue 19 Apr 2011 11:05:56 AM EDT
Display
Resolution 1280x800 pixels
OpenGL Renderer Mesa DRI R300 (RS690 791F) 20090101 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE2 NO-TCL DRI2
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation
Multimedia
Audio Adapter HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
Input Devices
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
PIXART USB OPTICAL MOUSE
Power Button
Lid Switch
Sleep Button
Power Button
PC Speaker
Crystal Eye webcam
SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad

# glxgears
487 frames in 5.1 seconds = 96.415 FPS
383 frames in 5.0 seconds = 76.196 FPS
578 frames in 5.0 seconds = 115.304 FPS
285 frames in 6.3 seconds = 45.556 FPS
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slack Puppy, version 100

Chip description:
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS690 01.00

Driver used by Xorg:
radeon

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

Pwallpaper works on this one,older broadcom wireless detected,sound
okay.

01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS690M [Radeon X1200 Series]
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 13)
05:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
image-5.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.4 KB
 Viewed   1281 Time(s)

image-5.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 11:49    Post subject:  

Nooby,
I have two partitions. A ntfs one with XP and a FAT one.
Puppy files are in directories.
I use the Lin'N'Win method, which provides a kinda grub, but not written to the MBR.
The menu.lst takes care of finding the different puppy's to boot from.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 12:29    Post subject:  

Beem then I apology. I thought I read somewhere you did mention one partition for each Linux? Maybe you wrote one subdir or each and my confusing brain changed that to partition. Okay then so much better. I would love you described that so a newbie could replicated it it is so handy to be able to place programs like Firefox on the mnt/home and reuse them in next and next puppy without starting all over each time.


Re the SRware Iron error. Hey I did get such too but there was a way to still get it to work but now I don't remember anymore.

I have Iron on Lupu 513 which has Pemasu's SnowPup 5 and that one work with a Iron that mikeslr downloaded from their site and he made a small pet for the loading of the tar.gz thing that one put in a dir.

Have you tested that one? I don't remember which other puppie it works on. Is Spup-100 that different from 513?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cowboy


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 247
Location: North America; the Western Hemisphere; Yonder

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 14:36    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:


nooby, this Icewm works Smile http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/icewm-1.3.7pre2-L519-lucid.pet
.


micko, also can confirm that icewm pet works. I've also used the version (at least in 099) that is in the pet packages 5 directory that was designed for Lucid 5.1.1 without issue.

On Seamonkey - there are positives and negatives to including a browser with the distro, I realize. I also realize that this is kind of a thang here on the forum. However, as you point out, a browser is needed for some of the initial setup, etc, and if a browser has to be included...well, include a full browser. Many of the lightweight versions like Dillo and Midori are admirable, but all of them are somewhat unsuitable for browsing the net. Including Seamonkey gets you a workable, usable browser, and a solid email client as well. And, any user can then add their preferred browser or email client as the default, be it Chrome or Firefox or Opera, or T-bird or Sylpheed. But the user that decides to stick with the distro as is, at least has a secure and functional web browser in Seamonkey. Plus, long term, Seamonkey has enough heavy duty geeks on its side to assure that the browser and mail client are always secure and up to date. That is a very big thing.

My dos centavos, useless as always.

_________________
"Everywhere is within walking distance, if you have the time." - Steven Wright

Last edited by cowboy on Wed 20 Apr 2011, 12:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cowboy


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 247
Location: North America; the Western Hemisphere; Yonder

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 14:52    Post subject: spup desktop  

[quote="01micko"
cowboy.. well the "rerwin fix" didn't help eh? Maybe I got the wrong one? Can you do a cross check from lupu to spup of the file /etc/udev/rules.d/00-i915_modeset0.rules and make sure it's the same please? .[/quote]

01micko, I found the i915 file in Spup, but it does not exist in Lupu. Here is a shot of /rules.d in Lupu 5.2. Please tell me anything further you might need, or if I'm looking at something incorrectly here please. Thank you.
desktopcheck.png
 Description   
 Filesize   68.15 KB
 Viewed   351 Time(s)

desktopcheck.png


_________________
"Everywhere is within walking distance, if you have the time." - Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 15:22    Post subject:  

Which puppies need the i915.modeset=1 thang then?

Some say it is already built in and others say one should have it. Being as non-structed as I am I have no clue on such. Are there some test one can do that indicate that it is a good thing to have in Spup? I have a small Netbook Acer D250.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 18:46    Post subject: Iron Browser  

Just to be sure (one more time) I fress installed Iron-9 from the PPM. Other versions from 6 thru 8 at least gave me the 'Awh Snap' screen but with Iron 9, nothing, did not even attempt to run.

While just sitting in dismay in front of my monitor, I noticed something I never took note of before... my CPU gauge was 'full top' to the point where I almost thought I saw smoke coming out of my monitor and it stayed there. I deleted Iron-9 from the system through PPM, went back to desktop, still CPU was 'full top' and staying there. I shut down with a reboot... CPU was running as cool as a cucumber! Thats a mystery, Iron is doing something it shouldn't.... at least on my machine. It's funny, all Puppys from 511 up through 525 have never had a problem with an Iron browser (any version) is it possible I wonder if it is something with Slackware my system doesn't like???

Writing this with Spup-100 and Seamonkey but, IRON is still my perferred browser.

>>>---Indian------>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8906
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 18:48    Post subject:  

Spup-100 is suffering from the same problem as Lupu-525. If you boot off a flash drive with no internal hard drive, you get "Searching deeper .. spup_100.sfs not found".

I'm betting that the latest Wary does the same thing.

[Edit] It does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 48 of 52 [775 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1003s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0162s) ][ GZIP on ]