Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 04:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 1.4 bug reports and feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2099
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2011, 09:52    Post subject: Quirky 1.5
Subject description: tryout
 

I installed quirky to a 4 gb flash drive.
On first boot a popup screen came up saying the mouse pointer hadn't
moved, I use a wireless keyboard and mouse with this netbook and it
is working fine.
The screen resolution is set to 800x600, it should be 1024x600.
Sound works, I set the levels with alsamixer.
Wireless network is working, I have a linksys usb wireless adapter
plugged in and it uses the rt73 usb driver.

Computer
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Memory 1813MB (83MB used)
Operating System Puppy Linux 0.14
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Fri 15 Apr 2011 09:13:03 AM EDT
Display
Resolution 800x600 pixels
OpenGL Renderer Unknown
X11 Vendor (null)
Multimedia
Audio Adapter HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
Audio Adapter HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
Input Devices
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
Logitech USB Receiver
Logitech USB Receiver
Power Button
Lid Switch
Sleep Button
Power Button
Video Bus
PC Speaker
1.3M WebCam

VGA compatible controller ATI Technologies Inc Device 9712
Audio device ATI Technologies Inc Device 970f
Ethernet controller Attansic Technology Corp. Device 1073
Network controller Broadcom Corporation Device 4357

The builtin ethernet and wireless adapters aren't detected.
popup.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.44 KB
 Viewed   1710 Time(s)

popup.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1419
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 06:33    Post subject: Almost good  

Hi Barry

Tried the BABY version frugal install on my HP550 laptop - booted fine, only problem is that the new quirky only uses part of my screen - it should be 1280*800 but looks 1024 wide as there are big black bars down each side. The display that is showing is fine. I tried going out to the prompt and run xorgwizard which did probe as expected and found my 1280*800 screen but on return to xwin the truncated screen was still shown.

Wifi connection via SNS was OK but disconnected after a short time (a regular problem with some puppies) and I'm posting from Seamonkey now (but had 2 prompts to download flashplayer so far.

Cheers
Peter

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 08:23    Post subject:  

Re this thing "Wifi connection via SNS was OK but disconnected after a short time (a regular problem with some puppies) "

Did they not joke about it in teh Lupu 525 thread that it had a Stay connected button that pinged the relevant thing often enough to allow it to stay connected. I am not on that level so I failed to get what they talk about but me being on LAN was not affected and I did see the stay connected once and then never found it again so do a search and maybe you find it? Some stay connected pet???

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 09:43    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Re this thing "Wifi connection via SNS was OK but disconnected after a short time (a regular problem with some puppies) "

Did they not joke about it in teh Lupu 525 thread that it had a Stay connected button that pinged the relevant thing often enough to allow it to stay connected. I am not on that level so I failed to get what they talk about but me being on LAN was not affected and I did see the stay connected once and then never found it again so do a search and maybe you find it? Some stay connected pet???


Oops,

wrong post.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
taca0

Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 23:08    Post subject:  

Hi,

Just to report that Vesa not works on my VIA EPIA M board. I had use Xorg vesa and work only with Xorg version 7.3 1.3.0 or a new one 1.9.5 .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 10:02    Post subject:  

Testing 1.42 full version. Jay that one got internet right away and pictureviewer works but am I suppose to download a video viewer?

Is this a bug? I look in Menu > Multimedia > there is GMPlayer but nothign happens when I click on it. Play button on Desktop also link to defaultmediaplayer but nothing happens when I click. Should it?


okay Maybe I am supposed to use PPM to install one by choice.

SM worked I write from within it now. But when I use SFS-Exec-Dir that Seaside have built then it refuse to start both Firefox 3.6.13.sfs and 4.07.sfs
which it does on other puppies. Is that due to Seamonkey? How can I tell SM to accept FF instead?


My computer usually fail to get internet on older puppies so this one has more drivers.

No criticism but I think SM should be a choice and not included by default.

There is a guy starting a new thread about Qrky 1,5 maybe some of you can help him? Too advanced for me.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 17:36    Post subject:  

Hi Barry here's 2 tiny video and audio converters I compiled on qrky-142-BABY.iso
I tested them both and they worked, they use ffmpeg as the backend
ttuuxxx
TranscoderVideoEdition-0.0.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  TranscoderVideoEdition-0.0.5.pet 
Filesize  28.45 KB 
Downloaded  284 Time(s) 
TranscoderAudioEdition-0.0.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  TranscoderAudioEdition-0.0.5.pet 
Filesize  22.19 KB 
Downloaded  292 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 17:57    Post subject:  

I also Compiled a static version of xfburn-0.4.3,
exo-0.6.0 <--static
libburn-1.0.6 <--static
libisoburn-1.0.8-i386 <--static
libisofs-1.0.6 <--static
libxfce4util-4.8.1 <--static
libxfcegui4-4.8.0 <--static

I also added each function into the menu, and Right click rox functions when clicking on a iso image to format the cdrw/dvdrw or to burn the iso.
like below
ttuuxxx
xfburn-0.4.3-i386.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xfburn-0.4.3-i386.pet 
Filesize  346.12 KB 
Downloaded  349 Time(s) 
xfburn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   30.27 KB
 Viewed   1413 Time(s)

xfburn.jpg

xfburn2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   45.58 KB
 Viewed   1454 Time(s)

xfburn2.jpg


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr 2011, 04:29    Post subject:  

here's xfce's task manager static deps version.
it also has a taskbar icon that when you hover on it, it displays system resources.
I also converted a gnome icon for it, it was 5kb in size, when I was finished with it, it was 500 bits in size, 1/10 the original size Smile, yes it was a bit of shadow loss, and I recoloured most of it, it it still looks really nice Smile
ttuuxxx
taskmanager.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   75.2 KB
 Viewed   1369 Time(s)

taskmanager.jpg

xfce4-taskmanager-1.0.0-i386.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xfce4-taskmanager-1.0.0-i386.pet 
Filesize  61.85 KB 
Downloaded  309 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 06:57    Post subject:  

Testing 142 and it is maybe me not getting it.

SeaMonkey works good but when I try to use a Firefox.sfs then it refuse to start up.

Are seamonkey and firefox fighting for dominance something? Tested with two different sfs 3.6.13 and 4.0

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 10:09    Post subject:  

hi nooby, not sure which firefox your using? Is it one that Barry compiled?
I just tried the latest mozzila firefox release package on wary and it worked, just extract it /lib and opened the folder and clicked the firefox script and it ran.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 11:43    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
hi nooby, not sure which firefox your using? Is it one that Barry compiled?
I just tried the latest mozzila firefox release package on wary and it worked, just extract it /lib and opened the folder and clicked the firefox script and it ran.
ttuuxxx

I am in Q142 now but I am not that bright so I can extract in /lib without totally messing it up. and I am a poor reader of text.

You took it from FF mozilla themselves.

I am talking a about two different FF3.6.13.sfs and FF4.sfs that I have found in the forum. To do what you write is beyond me. I would screw up the whole pupsave most likely so

I am asking what is it about this latest Q142 is it the wrong kernel most likely?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 13:13    Post subject:
Subject description: thanks, ttuuxxx
 

xfburn I like (and the libs'll come in handy for mousepad .. maybe that thunar deal as well if not packed with the dotpet)

speaking of file managers, is a recompile of xfe indicated? (some bobbles in my old compact-version copyover in other pups at times). no-nls and only the xfe theme icon-dir are my prefs (plus xfw and xfv add-ons for a little functional bloat) if you're in the mood.

about three hours of dialup-dl 'labor' to go for the Baby Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Wed 27 Apr 2011, 09:26    Post subject:
Subject description: q142-baby (light testing)
 

first and continuing looks

With my hwr, q142-baby went to a viable 800x600 (24bit) desk right after the usual locale run-through (tz GMT-5 retained correctly on first go, no need to fiddle with it in-X). Not that much more effort to edit the xorg.conf, re-X and get a more convenient 1024x768 (24bit) display size.

What I was hoping for - shinobar's sfs_load on-the-fly works just dandy (even on initial run!). This is great for liveCD multisession fans since you can check out an sfs before you commit to it, roll your own sfs and check it or whatever your setup and tools allow. The only slight disadvantage on disc media is that the sfses are burned-to-disc once committed at save (the mbs can add up with large packages like OO).

Small annoyance - fast scrolling shows a 'tearing' visual effect as drawing breaks down (possibly might be 'fixed' by taking depth down to 16bit from 24, but I'd rather have 24's smoother look than 16's 'blockiness' with finer-graded images).

Fairly easy to get everthing trimmed and as I like it (guess the xcompmgr stuff was left out to keep vesa driver as simple as possible). q142-baby looks like a winner here Smile

___addenda-110512
..(wt%#&@ is this login-password nonsense? when it's supposed to be saving session to cd savedir Neutral )
a) a short synopsis - needed to remaster the livecd (to effectively get rid of some things that persisted and tidy up in general) and after a try or two finally got it reasonably correct (or so it seemed, I thought it might be clear sailing after the 2nd remaster got past the initial save with no foulups).

b) But no. About the 2nd or 3rd savedir reboot->save(yes) went to
Code:
login[29088]: root login on 'tty1'
# _
.. %#&@, this 'option' or whatever never ends well for me Sad .. maybe "login --help" might give some insight, so try "login -f" and that needs an argument so maybe "login -f root" but that goes back to a similar rehash of
Code:
login[29088]: root login on 'tty1'
# _
Rolling Eyes , maybe "login -p" and that goes to a delightful "puppypc login:" which when "root" is entered gives "password" and <enterkey> doesn't seem correct or any other thrash that I tried .. I did get it to give me "ogin" and "assword" which at that point in time seemed fairly appropriate until I hit/held the casebutton out of frustration.

c) how do I get rid of this login-password nonsense when all I want to do is have it save the blessed session to a savedir like it's supposed to on reboot/poweroff->save? Should I make sure the /etc/pssword(?) file is not in the next remaster or what? Mostly I simply blank the 'given' /tmp/root dir's contents and copy the working /root contents to it and then check /tmp/etc to ensure that the setup I want is there (as far as I can tell).

Despite all that, a couple bg variations (1024x768) on q142's 'default.jpg' in the following attachment - full-size screenie-link to subtler jwm-'branded' sample @138k

___addenda110515
.. my bad - was doing odd things (as per usual for me) and forgot to rename a loaded sfs back to original working name after poking about looking at the contents (like I tell the cat, curiosity may be regarded as a coin with two sides and a rim Laughing ), it's pretty much all good after a blank-disc and reburn of the 2nd remaster iso (~178mb or macpup-ish in size, a strange-but-true savings size-wise was to remove the /*sfses - somehow they seem to get incorporated into the mix anyway after some use so the actual squashfiles might be considered as mere bulk .. or at least that's how it turned out in the 1st remaster that weighed in at 277mb :grunt:, adding the devx sfs was just a tad much for that one on liveCDmulti - foof, the disc mounted as boot anyway so no loss and even a bit of gain in redoing for slim-ish the next time). Been avoiding the possibility of having to deal with the above-noted 'nonsense' by using savesession-dvd while in-X after the initial save. That 'nonsense' is just confusing to me (why it happens at reboot/poweroff->save) .. notice during boots that it 'autologins' to tty1 so probably just an anomaly. Even if it throws up the demi-warning graypage, yah I can ignore that just fine and all seems kopacetic.

___addenda 110703
Tried twm-1.0.3 window manager in this pup and it works well - same window-resize issue as w512 but the proper bmp images for the titlebar endbuttons showed (maybe something there since only the generic '?' bmp images showed in w020 and w512 for me). mplayershell was missing a lib or so somewhere along the way (pulled from wary and good to go).
____________
test on: i686 machine
processor - Pentium 3 @1GHz
RAM - 512M
vidcard0 - RV280 (aka ATI Radeon 9200), AGP
vidcard1 - not used, but also RV280 (switched off in BIOS - aka Radeon 9200SE), PCI (old-style)
soundcard - emu10k1 (aka Creative Audigy 2 ZS or SB0350)
boot/save method - liveCD multisession (cd-rw media)
limitations - no printer, no internet connection
q142e-bg.tar.gz
Description  md5=59e0493b78e7891d246edb975eac24b5
gz

 Download 
Filename  q142e-bg.tar.gz 
Filesize  76.13 KB 
Downloaded  272 Time(s) 

Last edited by `f00 on Sun 03 Jul 2011, 19:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 22:41    Post subject:  

quirkybaby 1.4.2

video window doesn't occupy full screen
asks which sound card -- not simple to guess
asks to choose mouse if not moving -- not needed
chat icon doesnt work (no pidgin)
play icon doesnt work because missing shared library: libXv.so.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1038s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]