Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 07:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
[SOLVED] Serial mouse doesn't work (error during boot ?)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
evtooms

Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 14 Apr 2011, 16:48    Post_subject:  [SOLVED] Serial mouse doesn't work (error during boot ?)  

Hello (and please excuse my bad English)

I am trying to install Puppy Linux 5.2.5 on an old Pentium II PC with a classic serial Logitech mouse.

When I boot in normal mode, an error shows up just before the loading of X-Window. Therefore, I am not able to see it for more that one second.

The error looks like : "/etc/oldmousebutton Folder does not exist"

I imagine that my mouse was properly detected but that the path of the correct driver was mistyped by the developpers.

But I am a total newbie when it comes to configuring Linux... Unfortunately, I have been unable to find a way to correct the bug, or to install the mouse manually. Could you please help me or just send me a link to a page explaining something I could try ? Thanks a lot in advance !

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Apr 2011, 19:58    Post_subject:  

So, X starts, but you have no mouse movement. Then type CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE to kill X, then type:

# xorgwizard

You will see an option to test X, and an option to change the mouse and choose a serial mouse.

Puppy does not auto-detect a serial mouse, it has to be selected manually.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
evtooms

Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2011, 09:13    Post_subject:    

OK, In fact I thought there was an error because X had failed to load something called "oldmousebutton".

But anyway, as you adviced me to do, I killed X, runned xorgwizard, chose "serial mouse / COM1" and now it works perfectly.

Thanks a lot for your help !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0414s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]