Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 00:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy Live CD won't boot (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
tatala

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 00:31    Post_subject:  Puppy Live CD won't boot (Solved)  

I am totally new to Linux and I would like to use Puppy off of a CD to start with. I have downloaded Puppy109CE.iso and burned it to a CD. I can bootup from that CD but that is where it ends. In Windows XP Pro is starts to load and freezes at that point. In Windows 2000 Pro it boots and than starts on a blue screen and tells me its progress and than it says it failed. I have done nothing else to the CD or put anything on my hard drive.
I would appreciate if someone can help me get this working since I am at a loss. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 00:47    Post_subject:  

Sounds to me like you didn't burn a bootable CD from the file you downloaded. How did you burn it? (What burning program?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tatala

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 00:58    Post_subject:  

I used Nero version 6. I went to burn image. I believe it is bootable since Windows told me that there was a bootable cd in the player. It does start to boot into Puppy but fails. In Windows 2000 Pro it goes to the blue screen and gives me its progress and than says it failed. In Win XP it starts to load which I get that message and it freezes right there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 01:05    Post_subject:  

Hey tatala,
I am sort of new to computers (and puppy), but what I have found is most times there is an easy answer. I had a heck of a time trying to get puppy (and other linux OS's like feather) to run off of a live CD on my old laptop. Although I have not yet had the chance to use 109ce (I am on 108r1) I think the two versions arn't too different. So here are some "Q's"
Did you check the file with checksum?
Have you tried rebooting (cold) with the CD in the drive?

In your next reply give some specs of your computer no one was able to help me until they knew what I was working with.
Quote:
In Windows XP Pro is starts to load and freezes at that point. In Windows 2000 Pro it boots and than starts on a blue screen and tells me its progress and than it says it failed.
I installed puppy on a laptop with win95 but I started the whole booting prosses from the bootlog screen. Are you starting already logged into a win OS?
Well these are just some simple Questions but they may help.
Good luck

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tatala

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 01:24    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Did you check the file with checksum?
Have you tried rebooting (cold) with the CD in the drive?
In your next reply give some specs of your computer no one was able to help me until they knew what I was working with.
I installed puppy on a laptop with win95 but I started the whole booting prosses from the bootlog screen. Are you starting already logged into a win OS?
Well these are just some simple Questions but they may help.
Good luck


No I haven't tried to do a checksum. Yes I have tried a cold boot.
My WIN XP is on a laptop of 2.25 GHZ with 512 megs of ram. The Win 2000 is on a desktop with 1024 megs of ram and 2.25 GHz. I have tried a cold boot and also tried a reboot. Any other questions just ask me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
marksouth2000

Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 04:37    Post_subject:  

Tatala, it sounds like you have made a windows bootable CD with the Puppy ISO on it as a file. If you look at the contents of the CD when you are in Windows, what do you see?

In Nero, there should be an option to burn an ISO image to a disk (you might have to google for this, I don't have Nero or Windows so I can't tell you).

When booting, Puppy does not produce blue screens or Windows errot messages, so these are signs that stuff is not working correctly.

A quick google gave me this page of instructions:

http://www.wizardskeep.org/mainhall/tutor/neroiso.html

Hope this helps,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 06:04    Post_subject:  

Have you been in your BIOS and ensured you are booting from CD ONLY? If set for boot from other devices - XP gets in there before the CD gets a chance (sometimes)
(make a note of the settings and you can change it back)

CMOS
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/EnterCMOS

Booting up
http://puppylinux.org/docs/?Installing_%2F_Booting

Videos
http://rhinoweb.us/

Hope that helps Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pence

Joined: 30 Jul 2005
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 09:36    Post_subject:  

With Nero,ignore the (Data-Bootable data disc) option. Instead,select the (Disc image or saved project) option.
Look in: (the location of the download).
Files of type:( Image Files)
Double-click the puppy iso and proceed.
This works with Nero Express.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 11:02    Post_subject:  

I agree with ms2k: the blue screen is a dead giveaway that there is something wrong with the way you burned the bootable CD. Here is a thread on how to burn a bootable CD from Windows. There are several free burning programs for Windows that will do the job.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tatala

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 13:46    Post_subject:  

Ok you guys were right about a bad iso file burn. I got it now but I come to the menu (not sure which to use) so I chose #4 to load in ram disk. It tries and than in Windows 2000 it says unable to locate USR_cram.fs and later says it is unable to load the entire USR folder.
Windows xp says the same thing and takes me to Keyboard map and I can't do anything there that the computer accepts. It isn't a freeze since the cursor keeps blinking on the <OK>. Now what must I do to get over this problem? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 17:02    Post_subject:  

Booting into RAM disk) is probably the safest option to try. How much RAM have you? You need at least 128MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 17:15    Post_subject:  

tatala wrote:
It tries and than in Windows 2000 it says...
Windows xp says ...

I strongly suggest to refer to your computers by "My Laptop" and "My Desktop". Having windows XP or windows 2000 has nothing to do with your problems. If you are booting with the LiveCD windows is not booting, windows is not doing anything.

So 'windows says' does not make any sense. The Live CD shows that message.

The errors you are mentioning are a clear sign of a bad CD.

Try burning it at 4x or 2X.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tatala

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 21:22    Post_subject:  

I have 1024 megs of Ram. The iso burn was checked by Nero and it said it was good. Here is what is on the current CD.
boot.cat 2 KB
boot.msg 1 KB
image.gz 7,616 KB
isolinux.bin 11 KB
isolinux.cfg 1 KB
usr_cram.fs 54,520 KB
vmlinuz 1,023 KB

Capacity: 62.0 MB
Used: 62.0 MB
Free: 0 bytes

Does this give you the right information. I make a mistake when I said Windows gives me these messages and I should have said the Puppy installation disk gives those errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tatala

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 15:56    Post_subject:  

I have also checked the md5 for the iso file and it checks out as good. Please refer to my post above this one also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 16:42    Post_subject:  

Have you tried to burn at 2x or 4x?

The error you mention (Where Nero says that it's OK but it's not) has been reported before and burning at a lower speed fixes it.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0773s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]