Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 13:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
The Official Release of Lucid 5.25 (Lucid Five Twenty-Five)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 74 of 129 [1925 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, ..., 127, 128, 129 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 22:43    Post subject:  

gcmartin,

Of course you know it won't be persistent if you don't reboot and save. The main reason for the reboot is that if you have started PPM then none of the files for PPM in /tmp will be overwritten. Really PPM should have it's own mechanism for updating whatever repo you want instead of going through the lot, but that's up to BarryK.


~

I made a splash for 'stay-connected' and made an important change to the script. It was filling up /tmp/xerrs.log, I redirected the output to /dev/null. It also runs from /root/Startup and can be turned off. I have also reduced the chances of the process running more than once with a wrapper script.
Change to main script:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
while [ 1 ]; do
 ping -c 1 8.8.8.8 >/dev/null 2>&1
 sleep 30
done


EDIT: I'll leave ver 2.0 up but rcrsn51 pointed out the the address being pinged may not be to some users liking. The new address is 149.20.4.69 in ver 3.0, it's to an open source site, I'll leave you to search it out Wink . Everything else is the same.
stay-connected-3.0-lucid.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  stay-connected-3.0-lucid.pet 
Filesize  946 Bytes 
Downloaded  323 Time(s) 
stay-connected-2.0-lucid.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  stay-connected-2.0-lucid.pet 
Filesize  943 Bytes 
Downloaded  291 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 01 Apr 2011, 06:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RandSec

Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 81
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 22:46    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
On PUP522, QuickPET>More PETs>Update PPM. when it completes, it instructs to reboot. Since I'm on a LiveCD, Is this a one-time occurrance or will I be required to REBOOT each time this is invoked?

Thanks in advance


With live cd (or usb) you have to make a save file somewhere or
it's starting from fresh each time.

One of the advantages of a LiveDVD is security, which would be negated by having a save file which malware could modify.

One of the few head-to-head advantages Puppy has over Microsoft Windows is usable LiveDVD security. Puppy is the only known LiveDVD with the ability to add file changes to the boot DVD, and so to configure and update the browser over time. That makes Puppy the current best choice for all on-line banking (or it would be, if we could fix the problems which make Puppy use difficult for an ordinary user). So if the DVD update advantage has not been retained by PPM, it would seem that we either have a PPM problem, or a DVD Save problem, or both.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RandSec

Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 81
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 23:17    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:

That was something that had to be done to Firewall status.
Make it delay working, to give time for the network to come on line.
Take a look next time you reboot.
Firewall status will show up in tray about 30 seconds after you get a desktop.

Maybe the firewall should be in place all the time, and then status would always be available. The firewall could be explicitly turned off, of course, or modified, as the user desired.

The current scheme of on the one hand: requiring network access to get drivers, and on the other: not having a firewall on by default, is a vital failure. The firewall needs to be up by default before the first network transaction is allowed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 23:18    Post subject:  

Quote:
made a splash for 'stay-connected' and made an important change to the script. It was filling up /tmp/xerrs.log, I redirected the output to /dev/null. It also runs from /root/Startup and can be turned off. I have also reduced the chances of the process running more than once with a wrapper script.

Thanks 01micko, so it should be in the distro then, you think? Seems that we have some time Wink

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have been answering my own question: How does Iron 10 work with videos? My wife just watched an hour of Grateful Dead videos, full screen, with not a hiccup in Iron 10 and Luci-522 on youtube.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 00:01    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
rjbrewer wrote:
Found something unusual about my wifi connection dropping
after 15+ minutes of inactivity.

It's only happening on this Dell 700m; Luci-Lupu wifi are stable on
the PowerSpec pc.

Still not a problem on the laptop with rcrsn51 "stay connected" .pet.

You know laptops are always trying to save power. Could a bios setting be causing this?


This bios is dependent on os for any type of power control.
Pent. M 725 speedstep.

It only drops connection with Lupu-luci.
Wary and 4.xx installs don't have the problem.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4628
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 01:07    Post subject:  

RandSec wrote:
bigpup wrote:

That was something that had to be done to Firewall status.
Make it delay working, to give time for the network to come on line.
Take a look next time you reboot.
Firewall status will show up in tray about 30 seconds after you get a desktop.

Maybe the firewall should be in place all the time, and then status would always be available. The firewall could be explicitly turned off, of course, or modified, as the user desired.

The current scheme of on the one hand: requiring network access to get drivers, and on the other: not having a firewall on by default, is a vital failure. The firewall needs to be up by default before the first network transaction is allowed.

From Firewallstate forum Topic:
This is why Firewall Status in tray is delayed on boot-up.
has a small script for boot startup which has a 20 second wait for the network connection to finish. In other versions if the network wasn't up it errored out and wouldn't start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 02:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
It's only happening on this Dell 700m; Luci-Lupu wifi are stable on
the PowerSpec pc.
et seq.

Not a new boy around here rj, so why are you still wasting your dosh on dodgy proprietary cr*p?! You know that Dellboy and his cohorts get up to all sorts of leverage trickery with their boxes to save a few cents and garner favour with the Beast of Redmond. Not enough proverbial six-year olds in your neighbourhood to build proper kit from eg NewEgg or Anand?

If you're stuck with junk HW, esp. if there are BIOS issues, you can try searching for the actual Chinese manufacturer of the board and flash to the generic BIOS. Works for me when I'm gifted with defective proprietary stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 02:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
The firewall needs to be up by default before the first network transaction is allowed.

Not quite. Only if your machine(s) has/have already been cloned. That is only likely if you've already done something stupid, eg like opening obviously bent emails from people you've never heard of, trying to buy V-i-a-g-r-a online (just when will the Yankies learn to institute a proper NHS service?!)or visiting porn sites (your wife knows about this?!). There are those around who are dumb enough to dual boot with other OS es.
How many times? Buy a pair of caddies. HDs are cheap. One per user. If the other person screws up on their HD that's their problem. But, with Puppy, even that expedient is overkill - use one machine per person. People dispose of machines perfectly able to run Puppy. You don't need multi-cores, etc, etc. That's what this is all about. If you want bells, whistles and go-faster stripes you deserve all you get.
And stop bugging our clever developers to make this compact distro run the latest and greatest gadgets that don't even run on the supplied driver for you-know-who's OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 03:08    Post subject:  

SeaMonkey-2.0.13 No Mail

I compiled this a couple of days ago in lupu 521, I have been using it ever since, seems pretty solid.

Note, it's configured with no mail and not to update and with lupu's system cairo and sqlite, so no other deps are needed. It's only 10M so might be a good alternative for users who want something smaller.

http://brainwavedesigncentral.net/micko01/stuff/puppy/lupu/pet-packages-lupu/seamonkey-2.0.13-lupu-no-mail.pet

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3286
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 03:13    Post subject:  

That is about the same as a user that has a very low spec PC, say 64-128 megs ram with a swap partition and then comes here and complains that he cannot watch movies on youtube without jerky video.
For goodness sake, with all the disk swapping going on, he should realize that Puppy will not make his old PC run like a newer PC with sufficient ram and a faster processor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 04:30    Post subject:  

RandSec wrote:
The firewall needs to be up by default before the first network transaction is allowed.

Consider how the Windows firewall works. If you turn it on, it automatically allows exceptions for file/print sharing. So you can perform those activities on your LAN seamlessly.

Now that Lupu has made firewall handling easy, people are turning it on, then discovering that their LAN doesn't behave as expected. The usual, incorrect, assumption is that their client/server software isn't working properly.

I would argue against turning on the firewall by default. But if you do, there some be some messages that warn about the side effects. Or the firewall should be automatically configured to allow file/print sharing protocols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 04:37    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
made a splash for 'stay-connected' and made an important change to the script. It was filling up /tmp/xerrs.log, I redirected the output to /dev/null. It also runs from /root/Startup and can be turned off. I have also reduced the chances of the process running more than once with a wrapper script.

Thanks 01micko, so it should be in the distro then, you think? Seems that we have some time

Considering the discussion here, you might want to think about who owns 8.8.8.8. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 04:57    Post subject:  

RandSec wrote :
Quote:
One of the few head-to-head advantages Puppy has over Microsoft Windows is usable LiveDVD security. Puppy is the only known LiveDVD with the ability to add file changes to the boot DVD, and so to configure and update the browser over time. That makes Puppy the current best choice for all on-line banking (or it would be, if we could fix the problems which make Puppy use difficult for an ordinary user). So if the DVD update advantage has not been retained by PPM, it would seem that we either have a PPM problem, or a DVD Save problem, or both.


How can we duplicate that to USB for us that have no CD nor DVD player such as on Netbook Acer D250 10" sized mini laptops?

Why can not a usb be made safe that way? Or a frugal on the hdd install?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 05:36    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
playdayz wrote:
Quote:
made a splash for 'stay-connected' and made an important change to the script. It was filling up /tmp/xerrs.log, I redirected the output to /dev/null. It also runs from /root/Startup and can be turned off. I have also reduced the chances of the process running more than once with a wrapper script.

Thanks 01micko, so it should be in the distro then, you think? Seems that we have some time

Considering the discussion here, you might want to think about who owns 8.8.8.8. Wink


yes, maybe 149.20.4.69 would be more appropriate Wink

Edit: Above post has the. new option added

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 01 Apr 2011, 06:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 05:51    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

How can we duplicate that to USB for us that have no CD nor DVD player such as on Netbook Acer D250 10" sized mini laptops?

Why can not a usb be made safe that way? Or a frugal on the hdd install?


Well you can't really as the media is rw (though I guess with some clever code it could be done as rw Confused ). However, if you can boot from an SD card they have the little switch on the side to make them read only (aka ro) . I read somewhere on the forum that this works as far as booting puppy and running in RAM, though this was awhile ago. I'm feeling a bit lazy so sorry no link! Razz

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 74 of 129 [1925 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, ..., 127, 128, 129 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1172s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0257s) ][ GZIP on ]