Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 04:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
The Official Release of Lucid 5.25 (Lucid Five Twenty-Five)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 73 of 129 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, ..., 127, 128, 129 Next
Author Message
cowboy


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 247
Location: North America; the Western Hemisphere; Yonder

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 16:26    Post_subject: sylpheed menu item  

Sylpheed is offered as a menu item in both "Internet" and "Network". Is the Network entry normal?
_________________
"Everywhere is within walking distance, if you have the time." - Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5388
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 16:32    Post_subject:  

You know, sometimes the small problems get overlooked trying to solve the big problem.
image01717.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   57.08 KB
 Viewed   1043 Time(s)

image01717.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5388
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 16:44    Post_subject:  

Pwidgets for Quickpet and PPM.

Pwidgets is now at version 2.3.5
A lot of bug fixes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 17:50    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Rox running slowly.

I got it. 01micko explains in Shinobar's Wary thread. It comes from renaming /etc/hosts and not /etc/hostname, or vice versa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 17:53    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Sylpheed is offered as a menu item in both "Internet" and "Network". Is the Network entry normal?

One entry is normal. Just missed it until now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5388
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 18:09    Post_subject:  

Iron 10 browser
Has menu entry in Network and Internet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 18:26    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Iron 10 browser
Has menu entry in Network and Internet.

Dude, you're the greatest. This one I can fix in the pet (not in the distro)--that makes it easy! Using Iron 10 now--it *is* fassssst.

I was able to get Sylpheed too cowboy. That minute and a half has got to be a good clue for someone on the sound. Firewallstate comes up slowly--it could be blocking. delayedrun could take a while to finish--those are just wild guesses. We probably couldn't change anything now though unless it was a slam dunk (famous last words Wink Is your 521RC a fresh install?

BTW, Has anyone tried Iron 10 with videos? It is large because it contains its own video codecs!

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 18:45    Post_subject:  

Found something unusual about my wifi connection dropping
after 15+ minutes of inactivity.

It's only happening on this Dell 700m; Luci-Lupu wifi are stable on
the PowerSpec pc.

Still not a problem on the laptop with rcrsn51 "stay connected" .pet.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 19:01    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Still not a problem on the laptop with rcrsn51 "stay connected" .pet.

Should we add that to the distro so that it would be there for anyone who had problems.? I am thinking, Yes. But I am lazy, can someone provide the link? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2589
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 19:06    Post_subject:  

Quote:
can someone provide the link

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=63004

Go to your /root/Startup folder and make a script called stay-connected. Add these lines
Code:
#!/bin/sh
while [ 1 ]; do
ping -c 1 8.8.8.8
sleep 30
done


Possible to change sleep30...
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 19:14    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
Still not a problem on the laptop with rcrsn51 "stay connected" .pet.

Should we add that to the distro so that it would be there for anyone who had problems.? I am thinking, Yes. But I am lazy, can someone provide the link? Thanks.


The .pet.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=477395#477395

Might add; I was not having "reboot" connection loss.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 19:37    Post_subject:  

This installs stay-connected and makes a menu item under Internet. I did not want it to run unless the user wanted to start it. That's one thing about Puppy, running as little overhead as possible. Was it Lucid 5.2 we were able to remove hald (hal daemon) and then found immediately that we had to include the libhal (but still not the daemon). That's why we are small and fast yet still full-featured! Wink

When you click it in the menu, it works. It guess it needs a splash so people know.

Edit: No, I will put it in PPM under Internet--if people install it will run. If they don't want it they can uninstall.
stay-connected-1.0-lucid.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  stay-connected-1.0-lucid.pet 
Filesize  588 Bytes 
Downloaded  202 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4441
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 20:43    Post_subject:  

On PUP522, QuickPET>More PETs>Update PPM. when it completes, it instructs to reboot. Since I'm on a LiveCD, Is this a one-time occurrance or will I be required to REBOOT each time this is invoked?

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 21:43    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
On PUP522, QuickPET>More PETs>Update PPM. when it completes, it instructs to reboot. Since I'm on a LiveCD, Is this a one-time occurrance or will I be required to REBOOT each time this is invoked?

Thanks in advance


With live cd (or usb) you have to make a save file somewhere or
it's starting from fresh each time.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5388
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 22:04    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
Found something unusual about my wifi connection dropping
after 15+ minutes of inactivity.

It's only happening on this Dell 700m; Luci-Lupu wifi are stable on
the PowerSpec pc.

Still not a problem on the laptop with rcrsn51 "stay connected" .pet.

You know laptops are always trying to save power. Could a bios setting be causing this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 73 of 129 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, ..., 127, 128, 129 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1069s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0288s) ][ GZIP on ]