Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 17:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to set up grub 2 to boot Puppy frugal install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
its-me-again

Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 03:42    Post subject:  How to set up grub 2 to boot Puppy frugal install  

hi i have written a tutorial that has worked for me. http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Grub2

If you have your own grub2 experience feel free to share yours here. and comment if you know i may have errors in my setup. but it does work for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 05:58    Post subject:  

Here si my question about grub 2.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1117475296&t=66279
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3456
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 06:25    Post subject:  

its-me-again:

I posted there as well.

My menu is in the link....too big to post.

Opens as a zip file.

Thanks................Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 06:53    Post subject:  

Hi my grub 2 experiences are as follows.

many os use grub 2 not just ubuntu this is only a guide you may need to change thing if using a separate brub2 /boot partition or another os with grub2

I wanted to create a custom grub loader with all the puppy boot options in it. i do it this way so that the main grub2 boot screen is not 1000s of lines long as each puppy needs its own entries this makes it easier and less colcated doing things this way.

from my ubuntu install i did this

i created a config file with the options in my puppy linux folder.

/dev/sda3/Puppy520/grub2.cfg ( the entries for the puppy boot loader, may differ depending on the vesion of puppy, wary, lupu, dpup, lighthouse pup, etc may have there won custom entries for individual needs).

#This is a config file to get grub to boot puppy linux.
menuentry 'LUPUP 5.2.0 BOOT OPTIONS' {
insmod
set root
linux
intird
}
menuentry '01. Puppy Linux' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '02. acpi=off Default on for PCs >2001, may give boot/shutdown Probs' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 puppy acpi=off
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '03. pfix=ram Run totally in RAM ignore saved sessions' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 puppy pfix=ram
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '04. pfix=nox commandline only, do not start x' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 puppy pfix=nox
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '05. pfix=copy coppy .sfs files to RAM (slower boot, faster running)' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 puppy pfix=copy
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '06. pfix=nocopy do not copy .sfs to RAM (faster boot, slower running' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 puppy pfix=nocopy
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '07. pfix=fsck do filesystem check on lupusave (and host partition)' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 puppy pfix=fsck
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '08. pfix=clean file cleanup (simulate version upgrade)' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 puppy pfix=clean
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '09. pfix=purge more radical file cleanup (to fix broken systems)' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 puppy pfix=purge
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz
}
menuentry '10. pfix=<n> Number of save files to ignore (need to press e then type this commnad)' {
insmod
set root
linux
intird
}

(notice in the config file the first menu optoion is the title. clicking on it will not do anything. then option 10. the last option will also do nothing if clicked on).


2 I then went to /etc/grub.d/custom_40 and.added this. (you can also add the same entry to /boot/grub/custom.config if you have created one, this is mentioned in the initial link from its-me-again).

menuentry 'Puppy Boot' {
search --set --fs-uuid abff01f4-2fbd-498a-bbf3-480beb990594
configfile /Puppy520/grub2.cfg
}

(this option boots, points and loads the grub2.cfg file above). you will need to change the uuid to the one from your hdd where puppy is. then point to the config file

then in the ubuntu os open a terminal and run this. sudo update-grub and your done.

I find this a much cleaner way to do things and you then get all the boot options from the puppy linux os

Last edited by HiDeHo on Mon 19 Sep 2011, 18:51; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 07:09    Post subject:  

As I get it then. You have Ubuntu as the main OS and then do frugal installs of Puppy.

Wich you had time and test if you could iso boot peppermint os using frugal boot of it's iso with an entry on the grub2

Just a wild suggestion. I trust that Ubuntu has formatted it to a Linux partition then. Ext3 or something?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 04:09    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Wich you had time and test if you could iso boot peppermint os using frugal boot of it's iso with an entry on the grub2

Just a wild suggestion. I trust that Ubuntu has formatted it to a Linux partition then. Ext3 or something?


yes it is possible to boot from iso images directly although i have tried it in the past i forget how to do it now. i know that there are users in the #ouooylnux channels on freenode that know how to do that. just ask around and see what you come up with. then post your results here for the grub 2 users.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 04:14    Post subject:  

Free node? sounds advanced but I take a look. I should install Ubuntu on some old computer so I can use it to do grub2 installs on usb.

That way I would get both worlds without contamining this modern computer with Ubuntu in full install. Thanks for your answer

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 05:28    Post subject:  

another thing to note is that you do not need to install the whole cd contents to hdd. just install intrid.gz, vmlinuz, and the puppy version .sfs. (you can also get these files if you mount the iso file for the puppy version). take these files and put them in a folder on the hdd i would lable the filder pup520 for lupu520. adn pup431 for puppy 431 etc. each folder needs the own setup.

i would also put my customised grub 2 file in teh puppy file being set up for the particular puplet you are using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2011, 23:31    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Free node? sounds advanced but I take a look. I should install Ubuntu on some old computer so I can use it to do grub2 installs on usb.

That way I would get both worlds without contaminating this modern computer with Ubuntu in full install. Thanks for your answer


grb 2 will work on usb but it is a bit big really and overkill when there si apps like syslinux.

for usb installs its better to try syslinux.
syslinux comes built into the puppy installer. and allows to install puppy to any flash drive.

also unetbootin is another tool that provides a gui for syslinux. it allows you to install any iso to usb easily. http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/

and you an also just download the latest version of sysliux here. http://syslinux.zytor.com/wiki/index.php/The_Syslinux_Project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 13:15    Post subject:  

My poor English and my confusing way of expressing myself misled you badly.

I am using a NTFS formatted HDD and doing only frugal installs and syslinux does not boot iso on NTFS.

Only Grub2 does. You write that there are other os than Ubuntu that uses grub2.

Depends on how one use words. AFAIK there is almost exclusively only Ubuntu and OS made on the Ubuntu way of doing OS that uses grub2.

I doubt there is any other. They may not use the word ubuntu but they learned from ubuntu how to set it up and that is the only reason they have grub2? Who else would even bother with it if not Ubuntu was that dominating?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 14:00    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
My poor English and my confusing way of expressing myself misled you badly.

I am using a NTFS formatted HDD and doing only frugal installs and syslinux does not boot iso on NTFS.

Only Grub2 does. You write that there are other os than Ubuntu that uses grub2.

Depends on how one use words. AFAIK there is almost exclusively only Ubuntu and OS made on the Ubuntu way of doing OS that uses grub2.

I doubt there is any other. They may not use the word ubuntu but they learned from ubuntu how to set it up and that is the only reason they have grub2? Who else would even bother with it if not Ubuntu was that dominating?


Grub is part of the GNU project.
Development of Grub2 began years before Ubuntu even existed.
It is used on other Linux os also.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4447
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 14:43    Post subject: Menu.lst sample offered  

Thanks @HiDeHo and @Its-Me-Again

It appears that the syntax you show here for GRUB2 is same as would be used for GRUB4DOS.

So, I can/should assume that these 2 products are relatives.

Also, if anyone has a "working" menu.lst sample, please post. There is ENORMOUS potential for a working example of this. And, if you would, please show the folder layout in the fs for us as well so that we don't lose focus trying to guess what the author of the post intends. It would certainly help many of us to start off with a successful launch of booting any ISO from a menu.lst.

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 15:15    Post subject:  

rjbrewer "It is used on other Linux os also."

You could have given an example. I trust that 99% of all such examples are based on Ubuntu. I am most likely the most confused linux user we have here but I read for years now DisroWatch and AFAIK or IIRRC there has not been mention one single distro using grub2 without being Ubuntu related in that they used Ubuntu and made a variety of it. so it would be very surprising to find one independent of Ubuntu distro that use grub2

why would them to to that length and get almost every linux user against them? Sure I can be wrong but none of you did give a name of the distros you guys thing about.

GCMartin.

Yes that is exactly why I have asked for the ability of Puppy to install puppy with grub2 like Ubuntu can do from within Ubuntu.

What one need is the ability to do frugal install of iso directly on NTFS so one are dualbooting with Ms Windows even if one never use Windows and that way if somebody want help with Windows then one still have it available and can help them over phone or visit each other.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5940
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 15:28    Post subject:  

Here you go nooby, all of these distros use Grub 2....

The following distributions include grub version 1.98:
• AgiliaLinux: 8.0-beta3
• ALT Linux: Sisyphus
• APODIO: 8-rc5
• aptosid: 2011-01, 2010-03, 2010-02, 2010-01, 2009-04
• AriOS: 2.0
• ArtistX: 1.0
• Asturix: 3
• Aurora OS: 4-beta1
• Big Linux: 5.0-beta2
• BlankOn: 6.1
• Bodhi Linux: 1.0.0
• CAELinux: 2010
• CAINE: 2.0
• Càtix: 1.6, 1.5
• Comfusion: 3
• CrunchBang Linux: 10-20110207
• Debian GNU/Linux: testing, 6.0
• Linux Deepin: 10.12.1, 10.06
• DEFT Linux: 6.1
• Dragora GNU/Linux: 2.0
• Dreamlinux: 4.0-beta6
• EasyPeasy: 1.6
• Edubuntu: 10.10, 10.04
• Elementary OS: 0.1
• Epidemic GNU/Linux: 3.2, 3.1
• FreeBSD: 8.2, 8.1
• GnackTrack: R3, Final
• GParted LiveCD: 0.8.0-1, 0.7.1-1, 0.6.4-1, 0.5.2-9
• Greenie Linux: 8.1M, 7.1L
• Grml: 2010.04
• Guadalinex: 7.0
• iMagic OS: 10, Sho
• Joli OS: 1.2
• KANOTIX: 2011-03
• Karoshi: 7.0.2
• kademar Linux: 4.9.5
• Kiwi Linux: 10.08
• Kongoni GNU/Linux: 2011-beta2, 1.12.3
• Kubuntu: 10.10, 10.04
• Linux From Scratch: unstable, 6.8, 6.7
• LinuxTLE: 10.0-rc
• LliureX: 10.09
• Lubuntu: 10.10, 10.04
• Madbox Linux: 10.10.01
• Linux Mangaka: Moe
• MEPIS Linux: 11.0-rc2
• Linux Mint: 10, 9
• MoLinux: 6.2, 6.0
• Monomaxos: 5.0
• moonOS: 4
• Mythbuntu: 10.10, 10.04
• Netrunner: 3, 2
• Nova: 2011-beta3, 2.1
• NuTyX: 2009.4
• openmamba GNU/Linux: 2.0-pre4
• Parsix GNU/Linux: 3.6r2, 3.5r0
• Parted Magic: 6.0, 5.10
• Peppermint OS: One-01042011
• Pinguy OS: 10.10, 10.04.2
• Plop Linux: 4.1.0, 4.0.5
• PureOS: 3.0, 2.0
• Qimo 4 Kids: 2.0
• Qomo Linux: 1.0.0
• Resulinux: 3.1
• Runtu: 10.04
• Sabayon Linux: 5.5, 5.4, 5.3
• Sabily: 10.10, 10.04
• Saline OS: 1.3
• Skolelinux: 6.0.0-alpha1
• Source Mage GNU/Linux: grimoire, grimoire
• Super OS: 10.10, 10.04
• SystemRescueCd: 2.1.0, 2.0.1, 1.6.4, 1.5.8
• Toorox: 02.2011
• Trisquel GNU/Linux: 4.5, 4.0
• Tuquito: 4.1, 4
• TurnKey Linux: 11.1
• UberStudent: 1.0
• Ubuntu: 10.10, 10.04 LTS
• Ubuntu Rescue Remix: 10.10, 10.04
• Ubuntu Studio: 10.10, 10.04
• Ultimate Edition: 2.9, 2.7
• Vinux: 3.1, 3.0.1
• VLOS: 2.2-beta2
• wattOS: R3, R2
• Xubuntu: 10.10, 10.04
• Ylmf OS: 3.0
• Zentyal: 2.0-3, 1.5-1
• ZevenOS: 3.0
• Zorin OS: 4, 3


List is right from a search on Distrowatch.com.
http://distrowatch.com/

I personally don't use the buggy, beta mess, but all you wanted was the list. Smile Hope that helps you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 17:17    Post subject:  

Thanks for the list but I did ask for those that was not Ubuntu. Many of these are based on Ubuntu.

Rather many. It is past 11PM here so I look into the list tomorrow.

How did you set up the search?

Have you actually read that their installer use grub2on NTFS HDD in frugal install loading their Iso or does the search just find the word grub2 in the review or something. I am very skeptical to that all of these mention would not be Ubuntu based and at same time using grub2 as installer and boot up after install.

They maybe can be booted by grub2 that is another thing I talk about that they exclusively use grub2 as their main way to install and boot just like the latest Ubuntu does. That is rare outside of Ubuntu inspired OS.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1045s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]