Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 17:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to start menu using the WIN keys? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
whileloop

Joined: 26 Feb 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 04:53    Post_subject:  How to start menu using the WIN keys? (Solved)
Sub_title: popup menu of the MENU button
 

I want to config the WIN keys as keyboard shortcut to open up the menu of the MENU button.
Is is possible to trigger the menu by keyboard shortcut?
And what is the keycode of WIN keys and what command should be exec?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
r1tz


Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 165
Location: In #puppylinux (IRC)

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 06:00    Post_subject:  

What "window manager" are you using?

Or at least state what version of puppy. windows manager is more important, but if you give the version of puppy, we can deduce what WM you are using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
whileloop

Joined: 26 Feb 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 11:16    Post_subject:  

I am using Lucid Puppy is version 5.2.
Any suggestion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
r1tz


Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 165
Location: In #puppylinux (IRC)

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 11:29    Post_subject:  

Ok, puppy 5.2 uses openbox be default so.

Open up /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml

Note that .config is a hidden file. Ctrl-H to see it.

Then insert this.
Code:

<keyboard>
  ...
  <keybind key="Super_L">
    <action name="ShowMenu">
      <menu>root-menu</menu>
    </action>
  </keybind>
  ...
</keyboard>

Note that the <keyboard> and </keyboard> are already there, you need to paste it inbetween.

Make another with Super_R if you want your right window key too.

This will work, unless you have some very weird keyboard, if it doesnt work, just post back Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
whileloop

Joined: 26 Feb 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 14:48    Post_subject:  

It works. Now, the windows key can popup the openbox's root menu, which has the same function as the fbpanel "Start" menu. Just lack icons.
Thank you r1tz!


I think if I want to show the fbpanel menu by windows key, I need xdotool, which I will try later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 02:57    Post_subject:  

In case someone runs a search for this and end up reading this thread, I hereby inform that IceWM opens the root menu with the Win key. It is pre configured to do that, no extra configuration is necessary.

I have been unable to figure out how to achieve the same with JWM. I also like to use the Win key for other things, like Win+z=minimize etc. The Win key doesn't seem to work at all in JWM. But works fine in IceWM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 12:19    Post_subject:  

This works for my keyboard in JWM.
Code:

<Key keycode="115">root:3</Key>


Added to the file "/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal".

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jeffjeff


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Härnösand/Sweden/Europe

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 04:36    Post_subject: Keyboard patch in openbox not working  

I've always found it strange that Puppy hasn't tried to make the change to Linux from Windows easier by having the WIN key open the root menu. Some versions had F12, some Ctrl+Esc, some I haven't found any key combination. (With the exception of mouse right click)

I'm using Puppy 5.2 and tried patching the XML file according to the above.
[list=]Restarted X-server
Rebooted computer
Checked to make sure the changes were still in that file[/list]
but it still isn't working.
When I look in the files keyboard section I notice a bunch of things

it says in the beginning: "<!-- Do not edit this file, it will be overwritten on install.
Copy the file to $HOME/.config/openbox/ instead. -->
But I WAS working in root/.config/openbox.

other shortcuts contain

S A C which I assume are Shift Alt and Ctrl
but what is W if not Windows key?

I just noticed that at the end of the code I added:

</keybind> <keybind key="C-A-Left">

could that be a problem? Confused
I'm changing to
Code:
  <keyboard>
    <chainQuitKey>C-g</chainQuitKey>
    <!-- Keybindings for desktop switching, added Super L&R open menu Jeff-->
    <keybind key="Super_L">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
       <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="Super_R">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
       <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="C-A-Left">
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
jeffjeff


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Härnösand/Sweden/Europe

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 07:07    Post_subject:  

Rearranging

</keybind> <keybind key="C-A-Left">

to

</keybind>
<keybind key="C-A-Left">

didn't help Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 00:40    Post_subject:  

I noticed in your code for the final key assignment that you did not have a closing keybind line like the one above it.
I am not familiar enough to know if it is needed, but it seems that for every opening function, one should have a closing function.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jeffjeff


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Härnösand/Sweden/Europe

PostPosted: Mon 24 Dec 2012, 09:17    Post_subject: only not (visibly) closed  

that last
<keybind key="C-A-Left">
was just showing the beginning of the code after what I inserted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0675s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]