Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 07:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.03 203M Wine 1.3.14 (not being maintained)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 16 [228 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 13 Mar 2011, 17:01    Post subject:  

punkman wrote:
Thanks for answering guys. Another question- How do I change which sfs files to load automatically? The flash sfs is not loaded by default, but I feel it would be very easy if it was loaded by default. So I have kept it in my pendrive . But at every live boot it asks for configuration if I want to load it. How is it possible to add it to automatic options?
The default SFS add-ons for first boot/liveCD are pre-defined inside the initrd.gz (/etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG). If you are saving your session, select add-ons by pressing Enter when prompted at boot, or from Menu | System | BootManager | Select and configure SFS. Upon closing the selection panel, the BootManager: SFS Boot Settings allows configuring the Boot-time prompt (Auto|Configure|Prompt|Disable). The Help button describes boot option overrides that also govern this SFS configuration (pfix=sfsauto|sfscfg|nosfs). One of these boot options can be added (or removed for the default prompt) from the extlinux.cfg or syslinux.cfg on your pen drive.

The Flash SFS, however may not work if Flash was previously installed by other means, so I use the Flash 10.1 Pet instead via Lighthouse Update or at http://lhpup.org/update/503/Internet/Flash-10.1.102.65.pet

There is a newer version at http://lhpup.org/update/503/Internet/Flash-10.2.152.27.pet although I don't use it, because Flash 10.2 no longer uses /tmp when rendering video, making it more difficult to save and view the content locally.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fxjudy

Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 00:43    Post subject: Re: Internet connection via Puppy Network Interface
Subject description: First connection to ADSL
 

Thank you for your reply.I connect via wire,don't have a router,I can connect via pppoe,frisbee still don't work for me,I set ignore in frisbee,how to uninstall frisbee?
nickdobrinich wrote:
@fxjudy:
Hi and welcome to Lighthouse Puppy world.
I usually connect via Network or Wireless LAN (Puppy) the first time I am trying a new or unknown connection.
It is the smaller button right below the large Frisbee button on the Internet Connection Wizard screen reached through the Connect icon.

Are you connecting via wire or wirelessly?
Do you have a router, either separate or part of your ADSL modem?
Is it supplying DHCP addresses?
If fixed addressing, the address range will have been given to you by your provider.
It should also have DNS servers listed.
If not, try 8.8.8.8 which is Google's DNS server.

Failing that, I have had luck watching the pop up messages to see what connections the wizard is trying to connect to.
Then I try the Static IP option like this (these are dummy addresses):
IP address: 69.123.45.140
Subnet: 255.255.255.248
Gateway: 69.123.45.140 (same as the IP address)

After the initial connection is made, Frisbee seems to work well.
Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 02:29    Post subject: Frisbee and wired connections  

Sorry, I don't know how to disable Frisbee.
I recommend that you get a router, it will make your life much easier.
I've had good luck with Netgear.
I have struggled on installs without one and it was painful, more dumb luck than skill, and sometimes lost the static IP on reboot or power fail, depending on what the cable provider was doing.
I think the router does a keep alive to maintain the connection and is smart enough to reconnect to the modem if the connection is lost.

Once you set up the router (in Windows, unfortunately, borrow a machine if you have to), it will automatically find your ADSL modem and make the external connection.
Then on your LAN side, it will give you DHCP addresses.
Frisbee will see this and connect with no problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 06:19    Post subject:  

So only if I get a black or blank page I should use the force xvesa argument?

Quote:
If LHP boots to a blank screen when booting from a GRUB bootloader, please add xforcevesa nomodeset to the kernel line in your menu.lst.


Okay I maybe test it later today. Mariner is that the bigger one? I like the idea of having sfs that one can add and it does not make the save file bigger but it was a while since I tested the 502 so curious on the 503 and using Audacity.

I want to learn how I can record only if the sound in the room goes over a certain input level and to set the audio resolution low so the recording can go on for a long time without making a big file.

I want to record my sleep behavior. I know I have sleep apnea so I want to be able to monitor it without having to by a Piece of crap from apple.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4350
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 01:44    Post subject: Apnea recording  

nooby wrote:
... I want to record my sleep behavior. ...
I AM NOT A audio specialist at all. But, as I understand it, you can reduce the sampling rate to as low as possible; start with 32Hz and experiment with sound quality on playback. The higher the sampling, the larger the file.

That exhausts any knowledge I have. And, how you do this in the recording program???

I just happened to have been listening to something that you probably already know.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 04:02    Post subject:  

gcmartin very good find there. Thanks. Yes that is one reason that I want to be able to record. The other are music from streaming media.
I am using 503 and mariner now not sure what that means.

wow this one are different from the standard Lupu or Snowpup that I am used to but I wanted to test it due to the Audacity and wine thing.

But it asked so many questions and I get lost among all the choices.

That is not a criticism just explaining my worried that I am not on par with the requirment of the OS on me. Me lacking the resources to fully get the features and chose them.

It force me to learn Swedish. Which is kind of cute beause that is my mother tongue but I have not told it to say anything in Swedish as I remember. I prefer it to even have my crazy English instead of any porper Swedish. Give me an all English LHP so I know what the words means in English Smile Sorry me whining.

I hate it when I fail to get how to change something back to English when it is so nice that it automatically do things without asking me first .

It even gave me thumbs I have to find where to shut that down.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4350
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 14:53    Post subject: Re: LHP_5.03G-update-1.pet
Subject description: Update 1 for Lighthouse Pup 5.03
 

I want to Thank you for resolving the LiveDVD issue where, in 5.02, it did NOT see the SFSs that were added to the root of LiveCD. Now, when the boot process gets to the SFS selection screen, ALL SFSs are present for selection so that a rescan (R) is NOT needed. 5.03 is really a shining 32bit Distro.
tazoc wrote:
Attached below is Update-1 for Lighthouse 5.03.... TazOC
Questions: Would it be accurate to assume that if a LightHouse user clicks the "Update" icon on the LightHouse/Mariner desktop and clicks the checkbox for "get_updates" that the LightHouse system will pull down and apply this and all of your updates to the running filesystem (I would understand that it may require a save-session and reboot)?

This seems like what you intend for this icon on the desktop.
Thanks in advance.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fxjudy

Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 22:42    Post subject: sfs don't work  

I have a sfs file,it can work with lucid puppy 520,but don't work with lighthouse,how to make it work ,thank you.
I try to attached this file but failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 22:57    Post subject: Re: LHP_5.03G-update-1.pet
Subject description: Update 1 for Lighthouse Pup 5.03
 

gcmartin wrote:
5.03 is really a shining 32bit Distro.
tazoc wrote:
Attached below is Update-1 for Lighthouse 5.03.... TazOC
Questions: Would it be accurate to assume that if a LightHouse user clicks the "Update" icon on the LightHouse/Mariner desktop and clicks the checkbox for "get_updates" that the LightHouse system will pull down and apply this and all of your updates to the running filesystem (I would understand that it may require a save-session and reboot)?

This seems like what you intend for this icon on the desktop.
Thanks in advance.
Thank you, I'm glad the Multi-session mode / LiveCD/DVD is working better now.

The recent Update 1 for 5.03 is not on LHP Update yet, I will do that soon. 'get_updates', the first 'package' listed is not really a package but rather a package list that the script uses to display available updates, their size and description. So selecting 'get_updates' by itself does not install any packages.

Selecting one or more Pets, for example, Audacity-1.3.11-L1.pet in Lighthouse Update and then clicking OK will download and initiate an install with Petget for each package, asking for confirmation first. If you answer No when prompted, the Pet is not installed, but is copied to the cache folder at /root/.cache/lhp-update/. Then a new entry, 'browse_cache' enables the user to extract the Pet with right-click | Extract and examine the contents before installing.

It is not necessary to install all of the updates, as most are optional. The Help button displays more information about this and the update notifier, which automatically checks for new updates up to once per day.

The Pets in Update do not require a reboot, unless the installer prompts otherwise. With Multi-session LiveCD/DVD pupmode 77, however I believe the session is not saved back to the re-writable disc until reboot or shutdown.

I received your PM requesting a Samba Pet and I will work on that also.

@Nooby,
Thank you for suggesting Frisbee as it works well for me when connecting via network or wireless LAN.

I have not done any audio recording from microphone or streaming media. Hopefully Audacity from Lighthouse Update and/or StreamRipper will be helpful.

@fxjudy,
I agree that a router is ideal if possible. If not, and you want to disable Frisbee, you might try renaming the 'Frisbee' folder in /usr/local/ to Frisbee.save or similar and use Menu | BootManager | Services to uncheck the Frisbee service. I don't know if that will work, but it's worth a try. The Frisbee tray icon can be disabled by moving 1frisbee-tray from /Startup to /Startup/DisabledItems. I haven't used pppoe or dial-up with LHP.

What is the complete file name or link to the SFS you want to use? I'd be happy to test it.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fxjudy

Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 23:54    Post subject: sfs file  

Thank you for your reply.
I upload the sfs file ,you can download here(for lucid520)
http://rapidshare.com/files/452764303/ppstream-1.01ae_____ae______________.sfs
original source(for Ubuntu 8.04+)
http://download.ppstream.com/ppstream_1.0.0-1_i386.deb
http://www.pps.tv/about/6/364.html
It's a chinese online tv program
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2011, 14:43    Post subject: Samba-3.5.6-L1.pet, PPStream-1.01-L1.sfs  

@gcmartin,
Here's a Pet of Samba-3.5.6: Samba-3.5.6-L1.pet

fxjudy wrote:
Thank you for your reply.
I upload the sfs file ,you can download here(for lucid520)
http://rapidshare.com/files/452764303/ppstream-1.01ae_____ae______________.sfs
original source(for Ubuntu 8.04+)
http://download.ppstream.com/ppstream_1.0.0-1_i386.deb
http://www.pps.tv/about/6/364.html
It's a chinese online tv program
Thank you!
fxjudy,
I updated the SFS for Lighthouse, however PPStream seems to need Mariner and KDE SFS. Here are links to all three:
http://lhpup.org/sfs/503/4-KDE-4.4.4-G.sfs
http://lhpup.org/sfs/503/5-Mariner-5G_503.sfs
http://lhpup.org/sfs/503/PPStream-1.01-L1.sfs

Screenshot of PPStream in LXDE is attached. Some of the Chinese fonts render better in LXDE or KDE than in JWM.
-TazOC
PPStream480.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   73.06 KB
 Viewed   1587 Time(s)

PPStream480.jpg

PPStream1280.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  PPStream1280.jpg 
Filesize  381.5 KB 
Downloaded  283 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fxjudy

Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 18 Mar 2011, 04:16    Post subject:  

Thank you very much,I try the new sfs,it can run without other two sfs,but not very stable,maybe just missing some lib or Codec.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4350
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 18 Mar 2011, 20:45    Post subject: Re: Samba-3.5.6-L1.pet, PPStream-1.01-L1.sfs  

tazoc wrote:
@gcmartin,
Here's a Pet of Samba-3.5.6:...
Test on LiveCD found 2 issues:

  • Menu is not updated
  • testparm utility (#1 tool which tells if SAMBA installed properly) does not work.
Suspect minor installation issue.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4350
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 18 Mar 2011, 20:47    Post subject: Re: Samba-3.5.6-L1.pet, PPStream-1.01-L1.sfs  

As you know, SAMBA SFS works perfectly. But,
tazoc wrote:
@gcmartin,
Here's a Pet of Samba-3.5.6:...
Test on Mariner LiveCD (pfix=ram) found 2 issues:
  • Menu is not updated
  • testparm utility (#1 tool which tells if SAMBA installed properly) does not work in terminal window as it should. Am suppose to merely enter "testparm".
Suspect minor installation issue.

Edited: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:22PM For some reason, all utilities are running properly as expected???? I wish I could explain what went wrong. Probably user error (me)! Menu is still missing, though. Expected to see it in Network but, can't find it anywhere.
Edited: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:28PM Found the problem. the Sakura terminal window that was opened before SAMBA PET installation was NOT able to find the SAMBA utilities. But, opening a new Sakura after installation ran utilities as expected.
Edited: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:28PMPET works same as SFS.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 21 Mar 2011, 00:53    Post subject: feedback  

Hi TazOC,
I take your point about frisbee keeping the wi-fi connection alive.
Previously, whenever I closed my laptop lid to hibernate my session, I always had to ctl-alt-backspc then xwin to restart and renew the connection.
Now with frisbee I no longer need to, so I've dropped "connect-wireless" in favor of Frisbee.
Your other fix worked too.
Thanks
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 16 [228 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1757s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]