Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 10:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Can't open localhost:631/
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Mon 21 Feb 2011, 23:49    Post subject:  Can't open localhost:631/  

Working with Wary 510. But ...
I ran cups_shell -> Seamonkey opened but she can't open localhost:631.
What bug?
Please man, give some instructions! Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 00:35    Post subject: Workarounds for Can't open localhost:631  

I found a similar bug in Lighthouse Pup and found that using Menu | Setup | CUPS Printer Wizard and clicking 'Yes' when asked if I want to add a new printer, then the web interface opens. Otherwise it doesn't, unless I first type
Code:
/etc/init.d/cups start
in a terminal.

This was all after verifying that cupsd is already running... Confused Seems like cupsd has to be restarted, even though it was already started by the init.d script during boot up. So unless someone has a better way I plan to modify /usr/sbin/cups_shell and /usr/local/bin/cupsview in Lighthouse to always run /etc/init.d/cups start.

Please try the workarounds and see if they work for you.

Thanks,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 06:42    Post subject:  

Thank you Tazoc,
I will test your instructions
vanchutr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9261
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 06:50    Post subject:  

The next thing you should do is boot off the Wary Live CD using "puppy pfix=ram". Then run the printer wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0416s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]