Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 06:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Wary can't see the ethernet port on ADSL2+ router
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Feb 2011, 04:19    Post subject:  Wary can't see the ethernet port on ADSL2+ router
Subject description: but XP works just fine!
 

Running Wary live CD on a hp laptop about 3 yrs old (speed: fast; RAM: plenty)
Tried set up using: Menu -> Internet Wizard -> Wired or Wireless LAN

With the modem switched off, one network is found:
Code:
eth0 wireless ipw pci:intel2200BG

so I presume this is the laptop's built-in wifi

Connecting Billion 5210S RC to the ethernet port, Wary sees no additional network. Though if I connect the Billion's usb port, then eth1 usb network is found. (But if I continue as a usb setup procedure, it barfs halfway.)

Using the Billion's ethernet port connection and booting to XP, the internet works just fine.

Maybe I need a driver? Google can find no Linux ethernet drivers, only Win drivers for usb.

Can I dig into XP and extract a driver, then use it with ndiswrapper? Where to look in the XP filesystem for the ethernet driver? How to recognize it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5270
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Feb 2011, 04:42    Post subject:  

Your diagnosis is somewhat askew.
Shep wrote:
With the modem switched off, one network is found:
Code:
eth0 wireless ipw pci:intel2200BG

so I presume this is the laptop's built-in wifi

Yes, that's your laptop's built-in wifi. It's not a network, it's a network interface.
This interface will be seen, regardless of any wifi networks which might be within range. Connectivity is a separate issue.

Shep wrote:
Connecting Billion 5210S RC to the ethernet port, Wary sees no additional network.

Similarly, the issue here is your laptop's ethernet interface (regardless of whether you physically connect it or not) which is clearly not being recognised.

Accurate diagnosis is necessary to fix this problem; we need to know the device ID of your ethernet interface. Please run this command -
Code:
lspci -n

and report the result.
Remember, you can copy text from the command prompt by higlighting it, then pasting it into a new document in Geany by simultaneously pressing the left and right mouse buttons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Feb 2011, 19:25    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:

Accurate diagnosis is necessary to fix this problem; we need to know the device ID of your ethernet interface. Please run this command -
Code:
lspci -n

and report the result.


Thanks. Here's that detail.
Code:
00:00.0 0600: 8086:3340 (rev 03)
00:01.0 0604: 8086:3341 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:24c2 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 0c03: 8086:24c4 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 0c03: 8086:24c7 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 0c03: 8086:24cd (rev 01)
00:1e.0 0604: 8086:2448 (rev 81)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:24cc (rev 01)
00:1f.1 0101: 8086:24ca (rev 01)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:24c3 (rev 01)
00:1f.5 0401: 8086:24c5 (rev 01)
00:1f.6 0703: 8086:24c6 (rev 01)
01:00.0 0300: 1002:4c66 (rev 01)
02:00.0 0c00: 1106:3044 (rev 80)
02:01.0 0200: 10ec:8139 (rev 20)
02:02.0 0280: 8086:4220 (rev 05)
02:04.0 0607: 1524:1410 (rev 01)


More verbosely:
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 81)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV250 [Mobility FireGL 9000] (rev 01)
02:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306 Fire II IEEE 1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller (rev 80)
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 20)
02:02.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)
02:04.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)


The laptop is ~6 years old: hp Compaq nx7010 1.6GHz, 515 MB (that's what hardinfo says)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5270
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 24 Feb 2011, 09:14    Post subject:  

Shep wrote:
Code:
02:01.0 0200: 10ec:8139 (rev 20)

Well your ethernet device is recognised, and it's a very common Realtek ethernet device ...
but I see there are 2 different drivers in Puppy (8139cp and 8139too) which will claim that device, and this conflict is likely to be your problem.

The 8139too is the more modern driver, so I suggest you configure Puppy to use it by preference. Go to -
Menu > System > BootManager configure bootup > Give preference to one module over another
and add "8139cp:8139too" without the quotation marks.
Reboot and see if you now have an interface listed in the Network Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Feb 2011, 03:02    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
The 8139too is the more modern driver, so I suggest you configure Puppy to use it by preference. Go to -
Menu > System > BootManager configure bootup > Give preference to one module over another
and add "8139cp:8139too" without the quotation marks.
Reboot and see if you now have an interface listed in the Network Wizard.

I discovered there is nothing for me to do here, because 8139cp:8139too already appears where and as you advised I should add it.

So I thought I'd try blacklisting one driver or the other. In setting about this, I found that 8139too is in the listing on the left, the listing of modules already loaded and from which we can select one or more to blacklist. But 8139cp is not in that left-side list, (nor is it on the right side), frustrating my intention to blacklist it.

Although the setup seems to match what you intended should work, it wasn't detecting eth1.

So I returned to the setup where one can, by loading one module at a time, test those on a list of available drivers, and unload it if no interface is detected. I loaded the 8139cp driver and the new interface, eth1, was detected. So I saved the setting for it to be loaded at startup.

And that's how I'm using it. Seems to work okay.

I'd be interested to hear your interpretation of what is going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 07:34    Post subject:  

^ bump
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 08:05    Post subject:  

Shep wrote:
^ bump


My best guess.

Tempestuous apparently assumed it needed the "too" module.

If the "too" and "cp" positions were switched in the "give preference"
window, that also would have worked.

The module to the right takes preference.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5270
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 10:13    Post subject:  

Yes, so you're saying that the 8139cp driver is working?
OK, then reverse the modules-preference setting I suggested, to "8139too:8139cp".
And make sure you have no blacklist settings conflicting with the modules-preference setting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Mar 2011, 02:23    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Yes, so you're saying that the 8139cp driver is working?

Yes, seems fine.

Q1. Is there any technical reason why I shouldn't just leave it as it is now?

Q2. My route for discovering that 8139cp worked okay was to test the available drivers one by one. But isn't that what the auto probe in the LAN setup should have done? So why did it not find the suitable driver?

Thanks for your input..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5270
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Mar 2011, 03:55    Post subject:  

Shep wrote:
Q2. My route for discovering that 8139cp worked okay was to test the available drivers one by one. But isn't that what the auto probe in the LAN setup should have done? So why did it not find the suitable driver?

Because there are two competing drivers trying to claim your device. The choice between one or the other depends upon the logic contained within the udev/pupevent configuration files, and also any relevant entries in the modules-preference setting. Generally, the 8139too driver is considered better, and this is reflected in Puppy's auto configuration.

Shep wrote:
Q1. Is there any technical reason why I shouldn't just leave it as it is now?

Well as long as everything is working for you, then sure, there's no imperative to change anything.

But technically all is not healthy. It appears that Puppy is automatically loading the 8139too driver at boot up, but the Network Wizard's startup scripts appear to be overriding this choice because you have configured it to do so.

You're lucky that Puppy's Network Wizard works the way it does. Network startup scripts in other Linux distributions would not necessarily override the network driver which is auto-loaded at boot up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0897s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]