Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 11:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
How to install amule on puppy linux 5.2? (Solved)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
superstar

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 19:03    Post_subject:  How to install amule on puppy linux 5.2? (Solved)  

hello
sorry about a repost - not sure if earlier one went through.

can someone please tell me how to get amule on puppy linux 5.2 ?
thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 19:15    Post_subject:  

this works on my lucid520..

http://portablelinuxapps.org/

worth a try

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
superstar

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 19:27    Post_subject:  

thanks. i've downloaded it. now how do i make it run? it seems to be opening it up as a text file.... sorry i'm a beginner to linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 19:32    Post_subject:  

i'm still a beginner aswell...... but try this

rename it to aMule
open the folder with it in, right click anywhere in the window and from the menu select 'window' then 'terminal here' . then type this into the terminal and press return. Then try clicking on your file again, see if it works.

Code:
chmod +x aMule

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1145
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 19:33    Post_subject:  

Hi,

I had already sent you a PM. If it works then put it here (in your own words perhaps).

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 19:41    Post_subject:  

actually my first post was wrong!!! Smile just right click on the file , select .'permissions', and select 'make executable'

sorry

666philb

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
superstar

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 20:44    Post_subject:  

thanks! it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
superstar

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri 18 Feb 2011, 21:20    Post_subject:  

hello it doesn't seem to work with e2dk links now.... do i need to do any changes? thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11122
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Feb 2011, 23:46    Post_subject:  

What worked the first time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 01:47    Post_subject:  

@superstar: You mean eD2K links from your browser? You have to set the 'application type' on it.
You mean the servers of the list?

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 06:14    Post_subject:  

Hi superstar....

i've since found out that the portable version doesn't support direct links from your browser. However i made a pet of the portable version for lupu520 which does, it can be downloaded here.

http://uploadingit.com/d/ZRPGNPUX02VJQ2YT
MD5 fb6cca3e36266edf6d0751b315ccb198

After installing you will need to configure your browser, information on how to do that can be found here http://wiki.amule.org/index.php/Ed2k_links_handling

When configured, clicking on a link in your browse doesn't automatically open amule, however when you next open amule the links will be there. If you click a link when amule is open, it appears in amule imediately.

666philb

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
superstar

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 15:11    Post_subject:  

thanks for your replies.

1st - last time it seemed to work with a website. now it doesn't seem to work with a different website.

2nd - yes i did make changes in browser to recognize the ed2k files.

3rd - thanks for the pet. i'm going to try it out and post back how it goes.
is there any changes i need to do so that it doesn't run as a root application? i use to get this warning. i just didn't know how to fix it.


thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
superstar

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 15:24    Post_subject:  

and is there a specific directory i need to store this pet in? thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 17:51    Post_subject:  

superstar.... just click on the pet and it will install automatically
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
superstar

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 19:03    Post_subject:  

thanks i installed it but now chrome browser is giving me problems.
it associates xdg-open with the ed2k link...

anything i can do to fix this? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0759s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0153s) ][ GZIP on ]