Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 19:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 21 [302 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 08:24    Post subject: LightHouse 502G  

Not sure if I can use this in LightHouse 502G (slaxer based)
I tried the 5.2 based wpa_supplicant, not knowing which other one I have to choose.

I get this message:
Code:
Wpa_supplicant Status:
-------------------------------------------------
sh: regel 2: /usr/local/sbin/wpa_cli: No such file or directory
-------------------------------------------------
As I did the network setup with the regular wizard, I have a working connection.
I include the diagnostic file generated by frisbee, but probably some info in there is from this setup.

Maybe it's not possible to use this frisbee in LightHouse.
pnetworkdiag-20110205.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pnetworkdiag-20110205.tar.gz 
Filesize  26.61 KB 
Downloaded  652 Time(s) 

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 18:12    Post subject:  

I believe Tazoc was going to take a look at integrating Frisbee into LighthousePup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 01:14    Post subject:  

Hi jemimah,

I got this working in Fatdog, yes recompiled everything including wpa_supplicant-0.7.3 with your .config. Works well too. Smile

Only issue is that the tray icon did not update after a reboot, it was connected fine though. I had to right click the icon and open the frisbee gui then the tray icon updated. I just closed the gui at that point, works after that.

Thanks

edit: same after x restart, icon shows disabled state, tarball attached

edit 2: I recompiled wpa_supplicant in spup and Frisbee works perfectly with spup ( Smile ), so it is a Fatdog issue, don't worry about it, I'm sure between jamesbond, kirk and myself we will figure it out
pnetworkdiag-20110206.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pnetworkdiag-20110206.tar.gz 
Filesize  27.77 KB 
Downloaded  635 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 06:35    Post subject:  

Confused There is no option to disconnect from a particular network and connect to another

Can you add it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 13:57    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Hi jemimah,

I got this working in Fatdog, yes recompiled everything including wpa_supplicant-0.7.3 with your .config. Works well too. Smile

Only issue is that the tray icon did not update after a reboot, it was connected fine though. I had to right click the icon and open the frisbee gui then the tray icon updated. I just closed the gui at that point, works after that.

Thanks

edit: same after x restart, icon shows disabled state, tarball attached

edit 2: I recompiled wpa_supplicant in spup and Frisbee works perfectly with spup ( Smile ), so it is a Fatdog issue, don't worry about it, I'm sure between jamesbond, kirk and myself we will figure it out


I tested wpa_supplicant .7.3 and with some netbook hardware it was really really slow to return scan results - so I stuck with .6.9 on purpose. So, if people complain of no scan results, you may want to downgrade and see if that helps.


Frisbee_tray is passive and only changes state if you send it a signal to do so. The script in /root/Startup and the scripts in /lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-hooks are responsible for sending messages to the tray applet. Note that there is a bug in beta 1 that doesn't change the tray state for a static IP. I hope to relase beta 2 later today or tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 14:23    Post subject:  

chrismt wrote:
Confused There is no option to disconnect from a particular network and connect to another

Can you add it?


What you're supposed to do is set priorities for each network, so if one goes down you automatically get the next one on the list. However, it seems that no matter what, wpa_supplicant prioritizes secure networks higher than insecure ones. I may check how difficult it would be to patch it to not do that.

The quick fix is to just disable the networks you don't want and re-enable them when you do want them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ilanrab


Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 16:16    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
I made a one-click Pet for Lucid 5.2 that contains frisbee, dhcpcd, xpupsay, and the wpa-supplicant--everything needed .... entered the password ... and everything just worked.
Thanks jemimah.


Yes. It is just that simple. Nice work guys. Laughing
The auto-detect and connect feature works real good, and the way the
settings are arranged is a real plus.

I move my USB flash (puppy 520) between a Dell desktop, netbook, and laptop constantly (each has a different set of wireless H/W components). Frisbee will now save me the time of having to select the wireless router, and enter the password, each time that I move this USB flash drive from one computer to the others (and reboot, of course).

Thank you,
ir

_________________
ir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 21:03    Post subject:  

Updated to Beta 2.

Edit: I messed up a file in the Frisbee-beta2 pet so if you grabbed in in the past hour, you'll want to get it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 11:02    Post subject:  

Connect and Disconnect buttons like in Pwireless would be great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 11:57    Post subject:  

Connect/Disconnect is still there, it's just a checkbox now that says "Enable Wireless Networking". The applet also allows you to connect and disconnect wireless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 10:05    Post subject:  

Ah, I'm a bit late to the game. I'm using beta-1 on Fatdog too ... it works fine on my laptop with intel wireless, but I have a little problem with another one that runs wl (doesn't it sound familiar sigh closed-source drivers Confused )
Connection everything works fine, it persists across reboots, but dhcp doesn't start automatically (ie I've got no IP).. If I run dhcpcd manually then everything seems to work. Let me know if want to pursue this. Since Frisbee is started at reboot time, how do I debug? Any log file of some sort?

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 12:08    Post subject:  

Yes there's a rather large "View DHCP Log" button on the Configure Network Interfaces tab. Wink

The question is whether the Frisbee startup script in /etc/init.d is not starting it or whether dhcpcd is not properly detecting when the interface comes up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 20:53    Post subject:  

Here is Frisbee-beta-2-lucid52 for Lucid 5.2. It is one package--everything included. I uninstalled beta 1 then installed beta 2. I had to redo the profile for my wireless.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Frisbee-beta-2-lucid52.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 21:24    Post subject:  

I made a pet package for Fatdog64, it contains:

Frisbee beta2
dhcpcd-5.2.9-jemimah-patched.tar.gz (new)
xpupsay-1.2.1.tar.gz
frisbee_tray.tar.gz
wpa_supplicant-0.6.10

I haven't tested this much, good luck!


This is a note mainly for me, I configured dhcpcd like this:
./configure --libexecdir=/lib/dhcpcd --dbdir=/var/lib/dhcpcd --sbindir=/usr/sbin --libdir=/usr/lib64
Frisbee-beta-2-FD64.pet
Description  This contains wpa_supplicant-0.6.10
pet

 Download 
Filename  Frisbee-beta-2-FD64.pet 
Filesize  376.36 KB 
Downloaded  820 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 13 Feb 2011, 05:26    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
I made a pet package for Fatdog64, it contains:

Frisbee beta2
dhcpcd-5.2.9-jemimah-patched.tar.gz (new)
xpupsay-1.2.1.tar.gz
frisbee_tray.tar.gz
wpa_supplicant-0.6.10

I haven't tested this much, good luck!


This is a note mainly for me, I configured dhcpcd like this:
./configure --libexecdir=/lib/dhcpcd --dbdir=/var/lib/dhcpcd --sbindir=/usr/sbin --libdir=/usr/lib64

Works good for me here, thanks kirk, jemimah. Posting this from my (usually troublesome) netbook with the wl driver. This is testing wireless with WPA connection. Haven't tested the wired connection yet.

kirk - I noticed you put the dhcpcd 5.2.9 back in?

Jemimah, is that a dependency for Frisbee? We used to have issues with dhcpcd 5.2.9 on Fatdog, kirk was forced to roll-back to version 3.2.3.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 21 [302 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0760s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]