Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 12:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Classic Pup 2.14X -- Updated 2 series
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 275 of 333 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 273, 274, 275, 276, 277, ..., 331, 332, 333 Next

What is the best Puppy Version ever, LOL
2.14x
24%
 24%  [ 8 ]
2.14x
12%
 12%  [ 4 ]
2.14x
30%
 30%  [ 10 ]
Other: 2.14x only
33%
 33%  [ 11 ]
Total_votes : 33

Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2138
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 10:34    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Also has anyone else tried it yet? I did spend most of the day on it, a little feedback would be nice, lol
ttuuxxx


I installed the full version of Opera the other day and have been using that when I'm not using links.

I'm in your version now and it's working fine I think, it couldn't play videos at cnn until I downloaded the flash plugin from adobe and replaced the one in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins with the one that I downloaded which is 2 mb larger than the one that was in there.
They still don't play great on this pc but not too bad, youtube videos play fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 425
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 10:42    Post_subject: Opera 11.01 pet under 2.14X  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Hi sheldonisaac I never use sfs for any single files,I always use pets, sfs are great for the main iso and well that's where it ends for myself, I even convert the devx to a pet and install it that way. There is no reason at all to use a sfs for a 9MB application, larger apps like OpenOffice ya sure.
sfs compress files better than pets, around 20% +, so its a savings, but when they are only 9MB, really it doesn't matter all that much.

Many thanks, ttuuxxx; your Opera pet works!

I wrote more details, but erred and lost the message.

Will get back later today.

Thanks again!!!

Sheldon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 11:54    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the response guys, as flash goes, Mozilla and Opera are 2 different browsers and well yes probably you'll need two different flash locations or just flash itself versions, from what I've seen its ran pretty good
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 05:27    Post_subject: can't get 214x-top6 to boot from frugal on amd64  

Hello ttuuxxx,

I can't get 214x-top6 to boot, from a frugal install, on my Athlon64-x2. The live CD boots OK. Here is a screencap of how it fails. I have tried adding nosmp to the kernel line in menu.lst. Here is the boot line in menu.lst:

kernel /214x-top6/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda3 psubdir=214x-top6 root=/dev/ram0 nosmp

Any suggestions?

***edited next day: I succeeded in booting the frugal install by moving all the Puppy files to the top directory of the boot partition and using

kernel /vmlinuz ro pmedia=atahd pdev1=hda3 root=/dev/ram0

***

I notice that this frugal install of 214x-top6 will not read a savefile created by the live CD. Just a minute, I'll tell you if it will read a savefile created by itself...yep, it will. Too bad it picks up on another savefile, which *is* inside a psubdir...see posts below.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 853
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 07:07    Post_subject: Re: can't get 214x-top6 to boot from frugal on amd64  

EDIT: -
_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 07:18    Post_subject: Re: can't get 214x-top6 to boot from frugal on amd64  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
Hello ttuuxxx,

I can't get 214x-top6 to boot, from a frugal install, on my Athlon64-x2. The live CD boots OK. Here is a screencap of how it fails. I have tried adding nosmp to the kernel line in menu.lst. Here is the boot line in menu.lst:

kernel /214x-top6/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda3 psubdir=214x-top6 root=/dev/ram0 nosmp

Any suggestions?

It looks like your save files are located in a directory folder , move them to the top level outside of any directory folder. that should help. I don't usually do frugal installs but I think I recall that older puppies didn't like directory folder saves.
Should probably work on that.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 425
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 10:34    Post_subject: Re: can't get 214x-top6 to boot from frugal on amd64  

(I've SNIPPED)
[quote="ttuuxxx"]
Sit Heel Speak wrote:
Hello ttuuxxx,

I can't get 214x-top6 to boot, from a frugal install, on my Athlon64-x2.

This computer has an ASUS P5A motherboard and an AMD K6-2-450 processor, both from about 1999, I think.
I've never done other than frugal Puppy on this computer.
Quote:

The live CD boots OK. Here is a screencap of how it fails.
I have tried adding nosmp to the kernel line in menu.lst. Here is the boot line in menu.lst:
kernel /214x-top6/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda3 psubdir=214x-top6 root=/dev/ram0 nosmp

I copied some of your kernel line parameters, will paste my latest at the bottom

Quote:

It looks like your save files are located in a directory folder , move them to the top level outside of any directory folder. that should help. I don't usually do frugal installs but I think I recall that older puppies didn't like directory folder saves. Should probably work on that.
ttuuxxx

As I recall, it was only when I put the Puppy files in the root of the partition that 214X booted OK.

Haven't yet gotten it to work on the newish Acer Aspire One; maybe some what you two have said will help.

Thanks!
Code:
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=idehd pdev1=hda6 PUPSAVE=vfat,hda6,/pup_save-dec12.2fs nosmp
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 12:10    Post_subject:  

man I wish puppy was made for more cpu types Smile The 3 Sun Micro Systems blade 1500 I was given have sparc 64 cpu's in them, I just spent all weekend trying to find a workable Linux Os for it, most of them are confusing, like gentoo you have install/configure everything via the terminal, including networking, I managed to get about 80% of it installed, then I said ^#$%#$# lol try something else, I tried about 10 different ones, The best one was debian-6.0.0-sparc-xfce+lxde-CD-1.iso but the xfce video resolution selector was complete crap it gave me a couple of selections, but wouldn't let me change drivers or monitor freq etc, funny things like puppy's xorgwizard is 2000000% better.
It doesn't come with a synaptic so I opened a terminal and typed su then the password
and then typed apt -get install synaptic and then I selected kde full, lol 567 extra packages to install and a additional 1206MB used on the hard drive, I figured why not, I can remove xfce, OpenOffice, and a few others and probably almost recover the 1.2gb I just installed. I'll let ya know how it goes Smile

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 425
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 12:50    Post_subject: 214x on Acer Aspire One  

sheldonisaac wrote:

Haven't yet gotten it to work on the newish Acer Aspire One; maybe some of what you two have said will help.

I moved the Puppy files out of their directory to the root of the partition, and now Puppy 214X boots.
The built-in trackpad? works OK, but the USB mouse is so jerky as to be nearly useless.

I booted with pfix=ram, and chose xorg 800x600; would that have anything to do with the mouse problem?

Thanks, Sheldon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 14:34    Post_subject:  

sheldonisaac wrote:
...I moved the Puppy files out of their directory to the root of the partition, and now Puppy 214X boots...
Aha, that was the magic trick--don't put the Puppy files in a subdirectory (a psubdir).

Also, change sda3 to hda3 in my pdev1 parameter of the kernel line, I'd forgotten that these older kernels use hda not sda.

I now have a frugal install of 214x-top6 running. At 1600 x 1200.

However...one oddity...it will not read the savefile which was created by the live CD.

Lemme see now if it will read the savefile which I will create upon shutdown of this boot...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 15:00    Post_subject:  

Yep, the frugal install reads the savefile which it itself created. Strange that it won't read the one created by the live CD.

Unfortunately, the init also picks up on the existence of my boxpup-421-retro savefile, which is in psubdir /boxpup-421-retro, so the init process halts to give me the choice between the two.

Perhaps study of the init and Puppy Universal Installer of boxpup-421-retro might yield clues as to how to make 214x create the installation in a psubdir, and work properly while co-existing with other frugal installs in their own psubdir's.

Anyway, on now to see if I can make my unmodified Opera .pet and/or .sfs work in it...done.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 853
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 16:57    Post_subject:  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
Yep, the frugal install reads the savefile which it itself created. Strange that it won't read the one created by the live CD.

Unfortunately, the init also picks up on the existence of my boxpup-421-retro savefile, which is in psubdir /boxpup-421-retro, so the init process halts to give me the choice between the two.

Perhaps study of the init and Puppy Universal Installer of boxpup-421-retro might yield clues as to how to make 214x create the installation in a psubdir, and work properly while co-existing with other frugal installs in their own psubdir's.

Anyway, on now to see if I can make my unmodified Opera .pet and/or .sfs work in it...
There was a (semi?)-conclusive discussion on this a few thousand ( Shocked ) posts back in this thread.
I don't remember all the variants of how to enable having all 214X-files in a sub-directory, though. I simply applied the full-caboodle solution and have only copied/pasted/modified the GRUB entries for new 214X frugal installations. At times I've had a lot of them frugally installed, all in their own sub-dir.
Anyway, I'll attach the GRUB entry I use, with the reservation that some parts could be superfluous.
Code:
#
title Puppy 214XRC5_P on hda5/puppy_214XRC5P_ReiserFS
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /puppy_214XRC5P/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=hda5 PUPMODE=12 DEV1FS=ext2 SFSFILE=ext2,hda5,/puppy_214XRC5P/pup_214X.sfs ZDRV=ext2,hda5,/puppy_214XRC5P/zdrv_214X.sfs PUPSAVE=ext2,hda5,/puppy_214XRC5P/pup_save-214XRC5P.rfs PKEYS=se pTZ="PUP-1"
initrd /puppy_214XRC5P/initrd.gz
#
There was also a subsequent discussion on how much of the above could be omitted (also a few thousand posts back)...

The above boot stanza inhibits the choice between save-files - only boots the one specified ...

fwiw/hth Smile/
MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 17:36    Post_subject:  

MinHundHettePerro wrote:
...There was a (semi?)-conclusive discussion on this a few thousand ( Shocked ) posts back in this thread...MHHP
Ah. I see. Thanks.

However, I don't think I will be lingering here. Puppy Studio 3.3, with icewm reconfigured a bit, suits my needs so well --it is the first Puppy, ever, that I actually find pleasant to use-- --heck, I'm in freakin' love with the thing-- that I now find it painful to use other Puppies.

Here is one of the things I find most painful about 214x-top6. This is not meant to take away from the prodigious amount of work which ttuuxxx has put into it, but, I find these scrunched-up columns in Rox to be unacceptable:
http://i54.tinypic.com/2e2pm6p.png

Also, when you have as many files in a subdirectory as I do, the older disk drivers in kernel 2.6.18.n just do not compare with the speed of the ones in newer kernels, i.e. I fall asleep waiting for rox and find.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
_Mark_

Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 19:15    Post_subject:  

Hey ttuuxxx

Found a bit of a typo in the logout screen you missed a c out of switch, on the switch to jwm button
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 19:49    Post_subject:  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:

Here is one of the things I find most painful about 214x-top6. This is not meant to take away from the prodigious amount of work which ttuuxxx has put into it, but, I find these scrunched-up columns in Rox to be unacceptable:
http://i54.tinypic.com/2e2pm6p.png

Hmm I never had rox look like that, are you sure you didn't reconfigure it? Are you sure you don't have a pupsave from 2.14R, I remember it looked like that. Below is what it looks like when you bootup live. Rox also has never been slow on 2.14X, well not on any of my pc's. The only time its a bit slower compared to 4&5 series is when I install very large pets, around 80+ MB
ttuuxxx
rox.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   60.41 KB
 Viewed   908 Time(s)

rox.jpg


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 275 of 333 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 273, 274, 275, 276, 277, ..., 331, 332, 333 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1843s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0854s) ][ GZIP on ]