Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 06:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Tutorial -How to edit Openbox window manager menus
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3261
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 21:04    Post subject:  Tutorial -How to edit Openbox window manager menus
Subject description: Lucid Puppy 5.2 converted to Spanish, German, French
 

I found by trial and error how to translate an Openbox popup launch menu.
The official website has some info but this tutorial gives the basic
info along with some pictures.


I am trying to change the launch menus that Openbox provides
(with a right click on the desktop). I want them to show labels in
foreign languages such as Spanish,French and German.
This is important when making a foreign language menu system for
Lucid Puppy 5.2 which uses the Openbox window manager by default.

There are two liabilities.

1) When a new application is installed on your Puppy
then you will be forced to hand-edit the menu XML file
to add this new application. This isn't hard to do as I will show
at the end of tutorial but it is irritating.

2) The start menu (the tray button at bottom left of screen) remains the original.
That means that this is not the menu system that is being changed.
It is the desktop popup launch menu that is changed.


Instructions:

Open the openbox preference file
Code:
geany  /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml

and change 'menu.xml' to 'menu2.xml'.
Save the file.



Now open the folder /root/.config/openbox/
and make a copy of the file 'menu.xml'
You rename it to 'menu2.xml'.

The terminal commands to do this are
Code:

cd /root/.config/openbox/
cp -T menu.xml menu2.xml

...but I like to use Rox-Filer to do file management.

You can now edit the labels inside the menu2.xml file safely.
For example try changing the word 'Desktop' to the
Spanish word 'Escritorio' using a text editor.



Warning!! It is the Label that you must change not the ID.

A simple refresh of the Openbox menu is all that is needed to see the result.




If you install a new program (for example 'ptiming'),
you must manually add this detail to the 'menu2.xml' file at the appropriate place.
The execute instruction ('ptiming' in the example) is important!!

Code:
<item label="pTiming event timer system">
<action name="Execute"><execute>ptiming</execute></action>
</item>


The result is the application 'pTiming' now appears
on the popup menu ( after a refresh) . (see image)




Here's a page with tips for Openbox
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-852420.html
______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3261
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 16:35    Post subject: tips for using openbox  

Alt-Tab switches the front application

Window key - F1 Go to Desktop 1

Window key - F2 Go to Desktop 2

Window key - d Toggles the Desktop

Middle mouse click on the window top to force it to bottom of heap

Middle mouse click on maximize icon (in upper right of window)
to make it grow vertically

Rox Filer has some shortcuts as well, such as
middle mouse click on folder to open it in a new window
(leaving the old window alone)

Double click in some empty space in Rox window to make it
bigger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 08:55    Post subject:  

Hi Don,

I went through probably the same trial and error Wink and succeeded in making the Dutch openbox right-click menu persistent Smile
Wish I had found your above Tutorial earlier, would have saved a lot of time and frustration...

Do you know how to do the same for the menu (lower left corner of the desktop)?
I can change the entries manually to Dutch, but did not succeed in making my changes persistent.

This is what I tried so far:

- Replacing /root/.config/fbpanel/default
- replacing /root/.config/openbox/menu.xml
- replacing /usr/sbin/pfbpanel
- changing line 169 in xinitrc from
Code:
fbpanel &
to
Code:
fbpanel -p nl-default &
(idea DaveS)
- disable fixmenus executable (idea DaveS)

I am running in circles, possibly because of my limited skills, but all I want is to arrive at a Dutch Lucid Puppy!

Either there's a menu master source I cannot pfind, or an overriding puppy script.

Thanks!
right-click-menu-dutch.png
 Description   
 Filesize   57.25 KB
 Viewed   552 Time(s)

right-click-menu-dutch.png

menu-entries not localized.png
 Description   
 Filesize   64.46 KB
 Viewed   556 Time(s)

menu-entries not localized.png


_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 09:35    Post subject:  

Hi Bert,
If you have your right click menu localized you could set that as the fbpanel menu instead?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=542864#542864
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 15:26    Post subject:  

Hi stu90,

That worked! Thank you very much.

Don's method for the right-click menu works well. I noticed that it doesn't suffice to just copy a ready made - in my case dutch - menu2.xml into .config/openbox. It has to be edited a little and saved again and then it all works like Don describes.

Two things about your trick:

- the menu no longer has icons.
- the menu-icon itself is a smaller version than the original. See the attachment. In that screenshot I set the "show menu"-option back to "true", just for the screenshot. Both menus are usable in that strange situation Laughing

Anyway , your method solves a big problem! (the inability to completely and persistently add localization to the fbpanel menu)

I think I will have a good look at your tint2 How-to. I'm a bit fed up with fbpanel for the moment Wink

Thanks again,
Bert
menu.png
 Description   
 Filesize   18.98 KB
 Viewed   1216 Time(s)

menu.png


_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0659s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]