Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 07:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
3D-card-Wizard, version 10 - with Ati 8.25.18 (Nvidia: test)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 12 [166 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5216
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 05:51    Post subject:  

Anyone reading this thread might feel overwhelmed by the confusing choice of ATI drivers. From the information at http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/ATI let me summarise the situation -

ATI graphics cards based on mach64 chipsets are called "Rage Pro" and similar.
Xorg driver = "ati"
DRI kernel module = "mach64"
DRI driver = "mach64"

ATI graphics cards based on r128 chipsets are called "Rage 128" and similar.
Xorg driver = "r128"
DRI kernel module = "r128"
DRI driver = "r128"

The ATI Radeon situation is a bit more complex:

Radeon chipsets rv100/R100/rv200 (models VE, & 7000-7800)
Xorg driver = "radeon"
DRI kernel module = "radeon"
DRI driver = "radeon"

Radeon chipsets R200/rv250/rv280 (models 8500-9250)
Xorg driver = "radeon"
DRI kernel module = "radeon"
DRI driver = "r200"

Radeon chipsets R300 up (model 9500 up)
There is an experimental "r300" DRI driver, but these cards are probably better supported by the proprietary ATI "fglrx" driver.

And just to make things more complex, the correct kernel module for your AGP bridge must also be loaded. MU has a script to achieve this "automagically", which I think Barry is including in the standard Puppy2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 07:13    Post subject:  

Thanks for the results.
The agp-module is detected and loaded by the wizard (on Kernel 2.6).
But this part will be removed for the next release of Puppy2, that already includes this part.

I also will add more informative messages, when you can choose between different options.
Thanks for testing Smile
So it could be released as "final" version then?
Hope someone can confirm the r300 -module works.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 10:45    Post subject:  

Update:
http://dotpups.de/tests/3D-DRI-wizard.pup

New:
fixed bug when downloading dri-r300.pup
The r300 now uses a driver compiled by tempestuous in january.
If you want to test the Debian-driver, save this Dotpup as "dri-r300.pup" before running the wizard in
/usr/local/3D-DRI-wizard/resource/xorg
http://noforum.de/dotpups/X11R6addons/dri-r300-Debian.pup

The wizard has more descriptive Textwindows now.

If for your card the DRI will not work (you see it in the first Wizard-message when you run the wizard again), then post here this line from the first Wizard-message:
Quote:

The following Graficscard was detected:

(--) PCI:*(1:0:0) ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV100 QY [Radeon 7000/VE] rev 0, Mem @ 0xd8000000/27, 0xd7000000/16, I/O @ 0xd800/8, BIOS @ 0xd7fe0000/17


Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 11:18    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Then it downloaded the drivers and opengl. It worked! Glxgears reports 450 FPS, which is what I got before I got the latest R100 DRI module and opengl/mesa.


Kirk, what files (R100 DRI module and opengl/mes) do you talk about?
Where did you get them?

It seems you cannot trust the glx-diagnoseprograms.
To detect DRI, I added driinfo.
With glxinfo I get DRI: no, even if it works.
Puppys OpenGL-drivers report DRI: yes, but they seem not to work with all cards, that's why the wizard offers to download the OpenGL compiled by tempestous.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 12:09    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
From the information at http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/ATI let me summarise the situation -

ATI graphics cards based on mach64 chipsets are called "Rage Pro" and similar.
Xorg driver = "ati"
DRI kernel module = "mach64"
DRI driver = "mach64"


More precisely, from http://www.retinalburn.net/linux/dri_status.html:

Cards earlier than the ATI 3D Rage Pro don't have a triangle setup engine and are not supported. This includes VT chips, ATI 3D Rage, ATI 3D Rage II/II+/IIc, and ATI 3D Rage LT. Supported cards include ATI 3D Rage Pro, ATI 3D Rage LT Pro, ATI 3D Rage XL or XC, and ATI 3D Rage Mobility.

Therefore even though my card (ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage I/II 215GT [Mach64 GT]) does self-identify as a Mach64, Direct Rendering is not supported. The Rage Pro was introduced in 1997, this card has "(copyright) 1996" stenciled on both sides.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 12:22    Post subject:  

Thanks Sit Heel Speak, I updated the wizard with this text.
I also added some screenshots to the first message Smile
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 13:00    Post subject:  

Of course, the real challenge now is to get this Savage/IX to work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 20:39    Post subject:  

Quote:
Kirk, what files (R100 DRI module and opengl/mes) do you talk about?
Where did you get them?


I'm using the opengl/mesa compiled by tempestous and I compiled the drivers & DRI modules from the DRI CVS a couple months ago. After I compiled the drivers my old opengl libs wouldn't work so I tried tempestous opengl and it worked great. I saw the post from tempestous about radeon drivers, but I've been using the ati driver with R100 & R200, specifically Radeon 7500 mobility, Radeon 8000 mobility, and a Radeon 9250 all with the ati driver and all with good direct rendering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2006, 21:13    Post subject:  

Kirk, I use the DRI-drivers from xorg 6.8.2 compiled in Puppy, so mine are older.
If you could upload your newer ones, I would update the dri-packages tomorrow.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5216
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2006, 03:05    Post subject:  

The reason why my libGL (Mesa) package seems to work better than some other libGL versions may be explained by the fact that I linked this compilation to my earlier libdrm compilation (following a HOWTO from http://freedesktop.org) and my libGL package now contains these libdrm files.

Since such links seem to be important, I guess it might be important not to mix different versions, too, so I will bundle all my DRI stuff together and send it to MU ... not just the Puppy2 DRI kernel modules as originally planned.
I'm just setting up the Puppy2 kernel source now, so this should happen in the next few hours.
Mark, my DRI drivers are from freedesktop.org, Mesa CVS (January 2006). These should certainly be newer than the ones from Xorg 6.8.2.

Sit Heal Speak, DRI functions are disabled in the standard Savage Xorg driver. I will send MU a revised Savage Xorg (6.8.1) driver with DRI re-enabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2006, 09:18    Post subject:  

Kirk, no more need to upload your drivers, tempestous compiled new ones.
They are available here, some also include new 2D-drivers.
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/XServer/DRI/
Intel and openchrome(via) also have XvMC-libraries.

I must do some rewriting of the wizard, so that it uses them, so the current version still uses the old ones.

Thanks tempestous Exclamation
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2006, 10:09    Post subject:  

New version 06:

It uses the freshly compiled modules from tempestous.
This includes s3v for Puppy2 (not Puppy1).
If you use Puppy2,:
Versions older than Pupp2-alpha-7-may are no longer supported!

The mach64 and Via-openchrome now are available in Puppy2, too.

But I did not test Puppy2-alpha-7-may yet, I just removed the AGP-functions/modules, as Puppy2 now has them "inbuilt" Exclamation

http://dotpups.de/tests/3D-DRI-wizard.pup (170 kb)

The old version 05 for older Alphaversions of Puppy2 still is available:
http://dotpups.de/tests/3D-DRI-wizard-05-outdated.pup

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2006, 13:09    Post subject:  

Had to update again, the new DRM-kernelmodules for Puppy2 did not work.
The wizard uses the old ones now.

When I ran "depmod", I got this error for every module:
WARNING: Couldn't find symtab and strtab in module /lib/modules/2.6.16.7/char/drm/via.ko

Tempestous, did you "strip" them? They are smaller than the old ones. I think Kernelmodules must not be striped.

And my DRI-detection worked wrong, corrected it now.

I also found another Bug:
My "findhostbridge" in Puppy2 still does not work correct in detecting the AGP-bridge on some computers. Sad
I currently have no idea, I fear I have to use scanpci now.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2006, 14:02    Post subject:  

Here is a bugfix for Puppy2-alpha-7may , that corrects the detection of the AGP-bridge.
http://dotpups.de/tests/findhostbridge-bugfix.pup
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2006, 16:10    Post subject:  

update:
recompiled the DRM-kernelmodules in Puppy2, so now we have the "mach64" -module there, too.
But on the freedesktop-site I found less modules than tempestous had, no no "s3v" is included.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 12 [166 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0830s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]