Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 18:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Creating PXE puppy (solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 08:10    Post subject:  Creating PXE puppy (solved)  

edit-18-march-2011 -solved using this link -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64107

Hi,

I'm figuring out howto create pxe capable puppy....
i just found this.... http://rom-o-matic.net/
can this be used ?

http://etherboot.org/wiki/syslinux


thank

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199

Last edited by Master_wrong on Fri 18 Mar 2011, 07:01; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4334

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 11:18    Post subject:  

I think you are limited to their kernels, but you can do it manually

I would recommend a stepped approach:

Start with Pup'ngo (only about 5MB)
shift internet setup into the initramfs
download the sfs into ram/disk/usb etc... or mount it directly over nfs/samba/etc...
continue as normal

Once that is working you can setup the pxe parts
Get the corresponding kernel source from http://bkhome.org/sources/ (puppy:linux as user:password)
recompile it with the initramfs (in the initrd.gz) included in the kernel image (you may need to modify a couple of settings for pxe??)

There is also a thread here that explains how to include the sfs files in the initramfs ... that way it would only be one file to load (but use lots of ram)

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 22:58    Post subject: gPXE  

As far as I understand gPXE is a PXE bootloader with more features compared to the usual PXE bootloaders inside the network cards. For example it allows loading over HTTP which is supposed to be faster than TFTP.

Still I think it is easier for a start to get a Puppy booting via the standard PXE.

Slitaz Linux is using gPXE for their webbooting. You can take a look there. They have gPXE on a boot CD and then the main image is loaded over the internet from a webserver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 09:09    Post subject:  

Hi

Thank guys for the explanation but i think this pxe is bit too much difficult for me...
i will learn more then....

magicsaurus, technosaurus..... is there by any chance that you two are related.... ??? Laughing

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fred777

Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 16:49    Post subject:  

Hi master,

try this: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=426299&search_id=1059481267#426299 with puppy 5.1, works like a charm.

regards,
fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 20:59    Post subject:  

Thank fred
_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 22:13    Post subject:  

Raffy's the PXE man....

http://minipc.org/pup/index.php?file=Net-booting%20pioneer.htm

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4762
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 03:13    Post subject: thanks  

Thanks, Aitch, but fred777's URL (esp. its page 1) is already an excellent starting point.
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 09:52    Post subject:  

Question Question Question Question

ok
i found few more reading material...
http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/478
http://linux-sxs.org/internet_serving/pxeboot.html

so i assume we need dhcpd-server ad tftp

but in this
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23615
use pxe from cent-os i assume there is no need to supply those 2 files ?

maybe i should try hpc-pelican,

they were live-cd and pxe... just like puppy, you know maybe we can learn one thing or two
http://idea.uab.es/mcreel/PelicanHPC/

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 10:43    Post subject: PXE  

You always need a DHCP server and a TFTP server on your network if you want to do pure netbooting. The network card need to request an IP address from the DHCP server and the TFTP server needs to provide the OS or at least another bootloader, which then boots the OS.

On Puppy the easiest is to use DNSMASQ as it provides both, a DHCP & TFTP sever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4334

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 11:09    Post subject: Re: PXE  

MagicZaurus wrote:
You always need a DHCP server and a TFTP server on your network if you want to do pure netbooting.
If you have a linux bios you could just as easily use NFS, samba, ... There is no "pure" netbooting per se, (at least with commodity hardware) it all requires some type of bios support (not all boards support gpxe even - especially if you have your network adapter as an addon card)

In fact I can outline a path to success using only an sfs hosted on a free site like google code

1. put your main sfs in a place where you have a direct link (no temp sharing page that makes you wait and click another link)

2. modify the initrd.gz to:
a) autoconnect to the internet (you can get grub cmdline params from: cat /proc/cmdlin for wep keys etc)
b) wget the sfs
c) modify the sfs mounting code for the sfs' location in /tmp or wherever

--------working with 2 local files only now -------------
3. rebuild the kernel with the initramfs included (make menuconfig)

--------working with only 1 local file at this point ----------
you may even be able to get this down to floppy size ...
if you want to rely on only using ram for the sfs you can pull all of the drive code out of init and move it to the sfs

-----------------Linux Bios kernel+bios combo------------------
uncharted territory here - proceed at your own risk to coreboot.org


if you want to pursue this, let me know if you get stuck on any coding issues and I'll try to help out where I can

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 12:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
On Puppy the easiest is to use DNSMASQ as it provides both, a DHCP & TFTP sever.


thank you for the straight answer. i did curious why there is dnsmasq-2.46-i486.pet but there is no dhcp.pet and tftp.pet.
now i understand ok
thank you


Quote:

if you want to pursue this, let me know if you get stuck on any coding issues and I'll try to help out where I can


cloud puppy ?
thank you techno, i will learn more about the simple network first...

livecd netboot
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/LiveCDNetboot

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 09:28    Post subject:  

ok, i found another howto...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=62308

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1030
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 15:23    Post subject:  

I have been pxe booting various puppies with MagicZaurus and ecomoney's dnsmasq-2.46-i486-v0.2.pet installed on my pupserver-435.iso. On the whole it is working very well but has required some special accomodations.

First I changed /root/tftpboot/Start-Netboot.sh to:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#9jan2011-jrb-added creation of /var/lib/misc as it diappears on reboot
mkdir /var/lib/misc 2>/dev/null
ppxe start


Second internet connection doesn't work until I reset the Gateway back to my syslinux router as it takes the ip address of my fileserver as the Gateway. I can do this by running the classic network connection wizard and setting up a new static ip address or by running
Code:
route add default gw 192.168.1.1 eth0
at the command line where 192.168.1.1 is the address of my router.

So far I've booted 4 different computers and three different puppies this way successfully. I don't know if there are hazards associated with running two different dhcpcd servers on the same network. If there are please let me know. Question

Incidentally, this has allowed me to easily dual boot my wifes win7 machine. I had tried easybcd but only ended up borking the mbr. Now its as simple as pressing F12 at bootup and selecting pxeboot. Very Happy

Cheers, J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4211
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 19:45    Post subject:  

@jrb Good information.
jrb wrote:
I have been pxe booting various puppies ... Second internet connection doesn't work until I reset the Gateway back to my syslinux router as it takes the ip address of my fileserver as the Gateway. I can do this by running the classic network connection wizard and setting up a new static ip address or by running
Code:
route add default gw 192.168.1.1 eth0
at the command line where 192.168.1.1 is the address of my router. ... I don't know if there are hazards associated with running two different dhcpcd servers on the same network. ...
Does this mean that the TFTP server AND your router are, both, providing DHCP services on the LAN? What is the IP address and subnet mask used by your router? And, what addresses is it issuing to your LAN machines? Further, what is the subnet mask your TFTP server using?
Thanks in advance for this

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0895s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]