Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 14:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
network connection problems in Lupu5.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
dito

Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jan 2011, 15:41    Post_subject:  network connection problems in Lupu5.2
Sub_title: no network module to load when trying to connect
 

Hello,

Just upgraded from lupu5.1.1 to lupu5.2, and I get no modules to load when trying to connect to the internet via eth0 (no wireless on this machine).

To upgrade my frugal installation, I followed the usual steps replacing the necessary files in the directory I boot from. Everything works, and with greater speed!

But no internet connection...

Did I do anything wrongly? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
dito
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jan 2011, 16:43    Post_subject:  

Did it work with 5.1.1?
If yes what module did get loaded?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dito

Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jan 2011, 18:55    Post_subject:  

5.1.1. loaded one of the two modules for the Xircom network cards, I do not remember which one, but I had no connection problems with it.

5.2 does not show any modules at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jan 2011, 19:43    Post_subject:  

Try to find the name of the modules and see if they are in the 5.2
Type in a terminal find / |grep xxxxx, where xxxxx is the module name you found of the 5.1

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dito

Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jan 2011, 20:46    Post_subject:  

the two modules are there in the kernel, both xircom_cb and xirc2ps_cs, as you can see in the attached jpeg

I specified the modules in the network wizard, but they cannot be loaded, as you can also see in the jpeg

any ideas?
xircom modules.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  xircom modules.jpg 
Filesize  136.63 KB 
Downloaded  163 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 10:01    Post_subject:  

I am puzzled.
You tried to load the yenta_socket, which is the first thing to do, otherwise the xircom modules won't load.
But the needed yenta modules seem not to be there, which is strange, as I have the yenta support loaded in my laptop and 5.2.

Try to boot from the CD with puppy pfix=ram and try the connection.

If it works, then something has gone wrong in the upgrade.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dito

Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 10:16    Post_subject:  

I was trying to avoid writing a new CD, which is the very point of upgrading, isn't it, but it seems there is basically no other choice...

Béèm, thanks for your help.

dito
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 10:20    Post_subject:  

Wait.
I suppose you have a menu.lst.
Then you can add pfix=ram to the kernel line also.
You don't have to burn a CD then.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dito

Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 15:02    Post_subject:  

I added pfix=ram on the kernel line, rebooted, and the network connection was established automatically with module xircom_cb.

However, now xvesa does not work, which I need to use, since xorg does not fit my video card.

So I think something must have gone wrong with the upgrade, although it was done rightly, as far as I can tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0521s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]