Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 08:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2 Official Release JAN 5 2011
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 42 of 71 [1064 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, ..., 69, 70, 71 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 05:05    Post subject:  

I have had problem getting Lupu to boot reliably since many versions back.

I've tested different things to add to the kernel boot line in menu.lst

and now I think I have found one that do help.

rootdelay=8

I need to test more but what do you guys say. What does that actually do and would that help be have reliable boot of Lupu520?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 08:54    Post subject:  

Did a search nooby and found (paraphrased a bit):

The purpose of the rootdelay kernel parameter is to cause the kernel to delay for the specified number of seconds before mounting the root device. This allows slow devices to be discovered before the mount takes place. If the mount is attempted before the device is found then an error message results (unable to mount root file system).

This was found here
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/10483

It seems to be a problem with usb devices on the Ubuntu forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 09:34    Post subject:  

I try to test now and then today and the following days.

The no boot are so unpredictable. Some days it almost never boot and on other times it boots on first or second or third try.

Could it have to do with which OS I used the day before?

Such should be lost when the RAM get out? What else can it be? I have a gut feeling that is some IRQ thing that goes bonk and that is random if it does or not due to two services competing to get that particular IRQ?

Sometimes it helps to add Debug to the kernel line as if that one makes a small delay so I thought the rootdelay=8 seconds would give it enough time to decide on what to do next. But I wish I could create some error message that could be interpreted, Now it just sit there and wait for something. Most likely it is some kernel panic because the only way to get out is to do hard reboot.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sm6lod


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Algaras, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 11:03    Post subject:  

nooby,
FWIW. I have had problems with Reboot since I started to use Puppy. Nowdays I always shut down totally before I boot up again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 11:18    Post subject:  

An initrd.gz with a small line addition during startup that shows Version 5.2

Just replace the initrd.gz you already have.

Helps somewhat when testing various other versions as well.
initrd.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  initrd.gz 
Filesize  1.75 MB 
Downloaded  234 Time(s) 

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 11:29    Post subject:  

Quote:
distrowatch has this to say for the last 7 days...

Does anyone know what the number is measuring?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 11:42    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Loosing connection
With the 516 and while in a holiday resort I still had the issue I reported before that the nameserver entry in /etc/resolv.conf just disappears, resulting in a browser message 'try again'
I had this quite often, but blamed first the connection.

Then I installed there Light House 500G. I didn't have the issue anymore.
So I went to 516 again and immediately I had that issue.

I didn't report it here yet as I saw new versions had come out.
So now I am in 519 and just got the issue.
The nameserver entry in /etc/resolv.conf had disappeared.
I pushed 'try again' for several times and all of a sudden I got the next screens of the site I was in.
I rechecked the nameserver entry in /etc/resolv.conf again and it was there again.

Once a connection is made, does the WiFi support try to reconnect?

In any case, I use Fluppy and now Wary 5.0 also and I don't have this issue and as stated with Light House 500G neither.

This is something which worries me.
I still have this annoying issue.
I just got it in 5.2 final several times in a row.
Got it one time yesterday also.

When looking with network status information, I have no IP on the network eth0 device any more and no entry for the nameserver in /etc/resolv/conf.
Now I had one case where I found a APIPPA address for the eth0 and the nameserver entry missing in /etc/resolv.conf.

I have the feeling something triggers a dhcpcd with the above results described.

Any idea? (I have and reported this issue since 5.1.1)

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 11:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
Loosing connection
With the 516 and while in a holiday resort I still had the issue I reported before that the nameserver entry in /etc/resolv.conf just disappears, resulting in a browser message 'try again'
I had this quite often, but blamed first the connection.

Hi Béèm, Have you tried to use Network Wizard instead of Simple Network Setup, or vice versa?

And oh yes, depending on your browser, go to preferences and turn off and turn of any kind of proxy detection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 11:58    Post subject: USB boot problem
Subject description: boot stops while searching for save files
 

I tried lupu 520 from USB stick (using Unetbootin).
When I try to boot from USB with default startup, my PC hangs at "searchig for save files, searching deeper" returns to the commandline.

When I manually start (press F2) with "puppy pmedia=usbflash" it work okay.
But it is rather annoying ...

This happens on a AMD64 desktop, but also on a eee pc netbook.

Volhout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 12:06    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
distrowatch has this to say for the last 7 days...

Does anyone know what the number is measuring?


Long tons ? Razz

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 762
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 12:09    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
distrowatch has this to say for the last 7 days...

Does anyone know what the number is measuring?


Page Hits of the Puppy page at Distrowatch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 12:16    Post subject:  

This idiot thinks its based on 10.04 and was built by Barry
http://news.softpedia.com/news/Puppy-Linux-5-2-Is-Based-on-Ubuntu-10-04-176685.shtml

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 762
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 12:18    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
Here is a nightly build of Chromium 10 from today JAN 06.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Chromium-10.0.630.0-Lucid.pet[/url]

seems to install but doesn't start Is there something else I need to install?


Open a terminal and enter
Code:
# /usr/lib/chrome-linux/chrome

and see what it says. It might not run on certain processors.


You may be missing some libraries. Doing what Playdayz says will tell you.

For anyone who is interested this pet works on Wary 500 too if the necessary libraries are added. Nice work Playdayz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 12:22    Post subject:  

I've been chasing a small bug that was annoying me on my computer, although I don't think anyone else mentioned the problem.

For 520 I went the upgrade route to my frugal install keeping the save file but just replacing the sfs etc.

However on each reboot I noticed firewallstate showed the firewall off, even though I previously turned it on. I had to keep running the wizard after each boot.

The line was there in /etc/rc.d/rc.local but was not being executed. Confused

I had loaded Startmount pet and this inserted the Startmount line to rc.local as usual.

Now, oddly it was borking the rc.local. After the line for Startmount was run the script exited without running the Firewall start line.
I just moved the Startmount line to after the firewall line and all is well. It now starts the Firewall on reboot and Startmount.

Don't know if it's a one off on my computer or else no-one reported problems.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 762
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 12:28    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
This idiot thinks its based on 10.04 and was built by Barry
http://news.softpedia.com/news/Puppy-Linux-5-2-Is-Based-on-Ubuntu-10-04-176685.shtml


DaveS: Yes, the article is the usual garbled copy and paste journalism.

I see you have added a comment at Softpedia saying 5.2 is based on Maverick. I don't think so. The name gives you a clue. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 42 of 71 [1064 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, ..., 69, 70, 71 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1064s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0178s) ][ GZIP on ]