Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 04:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Snow Puppy 020 with more apps, fonts and themes
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 05 Jan 2011, 19:52    Post_subject:  

another question.

Pemasu, now I ahve tested two of your lupu-513 the one from Christmas? and the one from Happy new year.

513-scsi.iso and 513RC-004.iso

And they are both behaving really good. As I get it them are based on Lupu-511? and are not the latest Maveric Puppy based on same kernels and other stuff and the main differences are what you learned from Jemimah and IguLeder? RFKILL and such that you added and that is why it never fails on my Acer D 250.

Now the question. Is this not then possible to implement on latest Mapu 5.2?

And what is it that keep those Devs from making it that inclusive so us with Acer D250 also can use the latest.

I know too little. does it makes it bigger? something else that makes it incompatible with some software they like? Why else not always have what you added?

Looking forward to have a Snowy Puppy version of the Mapu too.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 05:10    Post_subject:  

Lucid 5.2 is not possible to build by woof. Playdayz used packages from Lucid and Maverick both. It is not possible to build that kind mix up using woof.

I used Lucid 5.1.1 specs which are latest to build Ubuntu Puppy. Ubuntu Lucid is long standing release, there isnt any hurry for me to change to Maverick just for changing sake. What aint broken, dont fix it. This build just works, so no need to make big move atm.

Testing Maverick packages and build from them just by yourself takes time and needs finetuning. I think Playdayz tried that using Maverick packages, but I dont know the result.

But I included many new properties and features from Luci 5.2 development thread, some of them are not even in Luci 5.2. Like simple wallpaper setter. And these builds used the newest Barrys uploaded woof apps also, so they were updated compared to Luci 5.1.1.

Every derivative builder makes their builds as they want. There arent any guidelines or rules how they should be build. That is the fun of it. And you can change your build as you wish also. But I am going to stay in some route.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 16:00    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Crazy question from me to both of you.


I know that Jemimah trust that RFKILL is what makes Fluppy, Snowy and Inpu Puppy different to many other puppies.

But could not these things explain why even Inpu can fail to boot.

I mean if modules compete to get USB going and I make use of both USB mouse and USB keyboard and have two screens too so maybe the script sense this and some kind of collusion of priority take place?

Just my naivety shining through.


I have no idea of what's really going on, i didn't think about yet another possible conflict with USB wireless mouse.

_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up ! http://pupitup.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 16:01    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Crazy question from me to both of you.


I know that Jemimah trust that RFKILL is what makes Fluppy, Snowy and Inpu Puppy different to many other puppies.

But could not these things explain why even Inpu can fail to boot.

I mean if modules compete to get USB going and I make use of both USB mouse and USB keyboard and have two screens too so maybe the script sense this and some kind of collusion of priority take place?

Just my naivety shining through.


I have no idea of what's really going on, i didn't think about yet another possible conflict with USB wireless mouse.

_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up ! http://pupitup.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 16:02    Post_subject:  

I have no idea of what's really going on, i didn't think about yet another possible conflict with USB wireless mouse.

nooby wrote:
Crazy question from me to both of you.


I know that Jemimah trust that RFKILL is what makes Fluppy, Snowy and Inpu Puppy different to many other puppies.

But could not these things explain why even Inpu can fail to boot.

I mean if modules compete to get USB going and I make use of both USB mouse and USB keyboard and have two screens too so maybe the script sense this and some kind of collusion of priority take place?

Just my naivety shining through.

_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up ! http://pupitup.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 12:20    Post_subject:  

Pemasu,
My wifi USB adapter works fine now with the rt2870 module built into puppy 520. No additional soft or config needed.

For information the device uses a Ralink chipset and is described below:
Code:

             Alfa Network AWUS036H 2000mW

When it comes to coverage, this product is the absolute winner!
Extremely high transmit power (2000mW +30dBm) and a very high receiver sensivity (-99dBm)

The device works perfectly even with the included 5dBi antenna. Though you can connect a larger and more powerful or a parbolic antenna, due to the RPSMA connector.

Supports the newest WPA/WPA2 encrypting methods.
Works with Windows (Netstumbler), Mac an Linux (aircrack, airplay, aerodump, kismet, wellenreiter)
Compatible with BlackTrack4 incl. injection

Specifications

Wireless standards: IEEE 802.11b/g/n
802.11b - up to 11 MBps
802.11g - up to 54 MBps
802.11n - up to 150 MBps

Support S/W AP
Antenna Type 1 x 2.4Ghz RPSMA connector
Chipset Realtek 8187L
Output Power 30dBm
Sensitivity for 802.11b
1, 2 Mbps (BPSK, QPSK): - 99dBm
11 Mbps (CCK): -91dBm(Typically PER < 8% packet size 1024
and 25ºC + 5ºC)
Data Modulation Type BPSK,QPSK, CCK and OFDM
Power Voltage: 5V+5%
Security WEP 64/128 802.1X support
Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) WPA-PSK WPA II
Operating Temp 0°C ~ +50°C
Storage -10°C ~ +65°C
Humidity 5%~98% non-condensing
Dimention 8.5*2.2*6.3cm
Weight 38.5g

SOFTWARE AP-mode

Netstumbler - WINDOWS
Netstumbler - WINDOWS
Kismet - LINUX
Aircrack - LINUX

Warning: The usage is illigal in many countries and can cause damage on other hardware components. The property is legal.


Great for wardriving ! Cool Wink

_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up ! http://pupitup.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 17:14    Post_subject:  

Eztuxer, thank you of your information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Peter444

Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 34
Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 22:38    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Lucid 513rc-004 Internet connection
 

pemasu
Am enjoying your selection of packages in snowpuppy513rc-004, and the nice touches like asking to restart x after changing screen resolution etc

As mentioned by others I am also suffering some pain in achieving and maintaining easy internet connection

The attached jpegs shows some of the different connection messages

As I am always connected to the net via a wired router and Lucid511 connects ok is there something I can copy from Lucid511 into Lucid513 to resolve my issue?

Also if you look at the task bar in the Lucid513 jpeg you will also see two? savefile capacity bars

Regards and Happy New Year
puppy432 internet connection vmware.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.62 KB
 Viewed   935 Time(s)

puppy432 internet connection vmware.jpg

513 internet connection vmware.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   33.38 KB
 Viewed   916 Time(s)

513 internet connection vmware.jpg

511 internet connection.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.65 KB
 Viewed   2634 Time(s)

511 internet connection.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 13:49    Post_subject:  

Peter444. Thank you of your feedback. The network tools should be the same as in Lucid 5.1.1, only difference is that I added Frisbee, mostly because it works best for me, but also to see if it interference other network scripts. Looks like that all net work connections does not like this mix up. But because I dont know the exact reason, I dont know which scripts should be removed.

You could test if removing /etc/init.d/10-Frisbee or moving it to not executable location helps.
And also move or remove /root/Startup/1frisbee-tray to not executable location.

But I dont really know if this helps.

Anyway, when I have time enough, I will build Snow Puppy 005 and make frisbee as separate pet for those like me, who likes it and it works fine. Also Jemimah probably announces official Frisbee when it seems stable enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 14:35    Post_subject:  

I am too lazy to test wireless but pemasu you could be right about them competing???

Because the tray show that both are active but LAN works good for me

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Peter444

Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 34
Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 08:20    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Lucid 513rc-004 Internet connection
 

Pemasu

Thank you for your quick response, I have tried both suggestions without any success

Some further testing reveals if pfix=ram is used loading from either hard drive or live cd
results in successful auto connection to the net

If a save file is used either to live cd or hard drive the next boot does not see the active Ethernet connection

I have attached some selected relevant? info from the log file, it may be of some use to you when you are working on rc-005
snowpuppy513rc004pfixram.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   258.94 KB
 Viewed   892 Time(s)

snowpuppy513rc004pfixram.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 10:43    Post_subject:  

Peter444. About the log file. The dhcpcd used is the one provided by Frisbee. Using Barrys Simple Network Setup then probably is the result of failure. Maybe succesful net connection would be provided by launching Frisbee. It handles wired eth0 connections also, not only wireless connections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Peter444

Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 34
Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia

PostPosted: Thu 13 Jan 2011, 00:36    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Lucid 513rc-004 Internet connection
 

pemasu

Booting via pfix=ram always achieves auto connection to the net

If I look at the connection wizard the default hightlighted is internet connection wizard

To change the default to frisbee means you have to make a save file, when you do this you cannot connect to the net either with frisbee or any other connection option, the message is cannot see any active interface

Dont want to waste your time I will revert to Puppy 412 and xp for the time being

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 10:22    Post_subject:  

Thanks Pemasu.

Maybe that is why Snow Puppy fails to get wired connection at times here.

Both simple and frisbee are activated at same time. Would they then not compete with each other. How do I shut off one of them without having to start with pfix=ram and lose all saved things.

I lost connection two times yesterday and one time today and it was inpossible to use Snow Puppy to get internet back so I am in Fluppy now and that one only show Frisbee going and not SNS as in Snow.

And I get internet instantly with Fluppy and totally failed when the error happens in Snow. Tried for some thirty minutes to get it going but had to give up using fluppy on another Acer D255 first and them after the Acer D250 cooled down using Fluppy on that one too made internet come back.

Snow when the bug or error happens do shut down the Ethernet card so it is not available for any OS to use until one shut down and take off all power and pull WAN cable and let it rest for more than 10 minutes or so and then the Ethernet card is available again so some kind of lock?

Could that not be a conflict of two programs and the card shut itself down to not get damaged?

Crazy questions but I stumble blind on foreign terrain here. Smile

I guess I have to go back to Fluppy and not use Snow but I love snow better so I ask you kindly first what you think can be the reason and if I can go into some config and shut down the SNS if it compete with Frisbee?

Apart from that I just love how you set up Snow. Have used it 24/7 now since I installed it.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 10:33    Post_subject:  

If you move to other place or remove /etc/rc.d/rc.network script file, you can try to use Frisbee only.

Frisbee handles wired and wireless connections both. Frisbee works fine without that script which initializes the old connection routines.

You can copy back that /etc/rc.d/rc.network from /initrd/pup_ro2/etc/rc.d/rc.network so just removing is quite safe.

How much this affect, I dont have clear idea, because I dont have any problems with these co-existing connection apps.
But I have realized that to some they can be real problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0974s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]