Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 13:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puplite 5.0
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 14 [206 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec 2010, 13:10    Post subject:  

Sadly it fails to get my LAN card going. Which is kind of sad.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec 2010, 13:39    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Sadly it fails to get my LAN card going. Which is kind of sad.

Did you try all the network managers?

If so... Tried this? http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=34159

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec 2010, 14:12    Post subject:  

Yes all three of them.

My experience of SNS is that that one usually always work and also Fluppy have a network program that usually do find a way to get the WAN LAN going.

But Acer D250 most likely do have a Ethernet version that is problematic.

But both failed to find any kind of card. And if I get it puplite shut down the card. it becomes invisible to the programs.

One need to shut down and take out the power plug to get it back and be able to use it in other puppies.

I am in Lupu-518 now and that one had no problem to get the connection going.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4329
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec 2010, 23:12    Post subject:  

HI, sc0ttman,

Your puplite sounds very interesting indeed. Might be just the thing needed to bring back to life a friend's old Celeron 600 PC. I'll give you more feedback later.

In the meatime, as to your wish to :
> - make pmconky appear above desktop wallpaper
I have attached FYI the conky script I use to make conky appear as a regular window. So it obviously is above the backdrop. Also you can fold (shade) it out of the way if you don't need to see the info all the time. It may not be exactly what you are looking for, but I hope it helps or gives you some ideas. The settings for the window behaviour would be more to the top of the script.

A snapshot is included. If you need the text re-translated, just give me a shout.

Keep up the good work! .
conky-window.jpg
 Description   This is what a conky "window" looks like in the top right of the screen.
 Filesize   41.64 KB
 Viewed   2157 Time(s)

conky-window.jpg

.conkyrc-fenetre.tar.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  .conkyrc-fenetre.tar.bz2 
Filesize  2.86 KB 
Downloaded  467 Time(s) 

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4329
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec 2010, 23:28    Post subject:  

Forgot to ask:

I suppose the devx for puppy 4.20 will work with your puplite 1.0?

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4329
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 31 Dec 2010, 01:32    Post subject:  

HI, sc0ttman.

All the best for the New Year, incidentally, to you and all who read this!

Me again! Smile or maybe Rolling Eyes

I gave your pup a quick try-out and these are my initial impressions:

* fabulous grub opening screen and choices
* I like the "open space" on the desktop and the drive bar
* the choice of browsers

Some things I need getting used to:
* the columns sort in rox instead of simple top-bottom
* xarchiver!
* the closing screen panel to create the pup_save

Disappointed about
* the inability to create a menu bar with rox (improper version number for libxml2.so, apparently; that may be also why you're having trouble showing the conky panel). Maybe you stripped down rox v.2.10 on purpose? In any case, some sort of menu bar is needed (I think) to gain quick access to always used essentials like rxvt, pfind, an editor, the browser. Will wbar or tint work with your setup?

Workarounds I used:
* installed an already unzipped copy of peazip 3.2 that I had (lucky me!) since the included xarchiver did not appear to respond properly
* a copy of icecat 3.9.6 I already had handy. I tried to download it with your browser download utility, and it did. But then PPM indicated that icecat missed lots and lots of libs, whereas icecat is usually a self-contained package; that's strange. The good news is that the latest icecat downloaded from the icecat site works very well in puplite.

In short, I got the impression that puplite is a diamond -- really! -- but still a bit in the rough. And of course my review is very incomplete.

I hope you will receive this as positive criticism.

Sincerely,
musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 31 Dec 2010, 07:37    Post subject:  

Firstly, yes, the devx_420.sfs is the one to use with this..
I will update the first post with a link to it.

musher0 wrote:
I gave your pup a quick try-out and these are my initial impressions:

* fabulous grub opening screen and choices
* I like the "open space" on the desktop and the drive bar
* the choice of browsers

Glad you like it, I like the GRUB live CDs as well... Looks lovely.. More up to date...

musher0 wrote:
Some things I need getting used to:
* the columns sort in rox instead of simple top-bottom
* xarchiver!
* the closing screen panel to create the pup_save

You can change the ROX options so that icons are not small and vertically listed by default, I like it how it is, but others may not Smile

musher0 wrote:
Disappointed about
* the inability to create a menu bar with rox (improper version number for libxml2.so, apparently;

I don't know what you mean...
Create a menu bar with ROX? Can you give a screenshot?
As far as I've tested the only 'error' with ROX is the fact it reports the lack of a lib xml version (as you said)...
But it didn't appear to actually affect anything... Confused

musher0 wrote:
that may be also why you're having trouble showing the conky panel).

Good suggestion, but goingnuts already found it is the jwm version which matters.. I will roll back jwm to an earlier version to make PMconky work...
And thanks for the conky attachment, I will definitely play with it...
But will probably go with PMconky, as it is sooooo light...

musher0 wrote:
Maybe you stripped down rox v.2.10 on purpose? In any case, some sort of menu bar is needed (I think) to gain quick access to always used essentials like rxvt, pfind, an editor, the browser. Will wbar or tint work with your setup?

I didn't strip ROX of anything, just updated its version and settings... Cos it looks nicer and has more mime types than the previous version..

A menu bar with links to essentials IS included - simply click on the desktop to see it, or the 'Apps' button in the bottom-left...

And yes, Wbar will work fine on Puplite... It may needs a few libs to be installed as well though..

musher0 wrote:
Workarounds I used:
* installed an already unzipped copy of peazip 3.2 that I had (lucky me!) since the included xarchiver did not appear to respond properly

Hmmm.. I never had problems with xarchiver... I used the version ttuuxxx made, which works really well... What was your problem?

musher0 wrote:
* a copy of icecat 3.9.6 I already had handy. I tried to download it with your browser download utility, and it did. But then PPM indicated that icecat missed lots and lots of libs, whereas icecat is usually a self-contained package; that's strange.

I'll check Icecat, which worked fine last time I installed it... (Not on the latest Puplite, but during the build process...).. Firedog and Firefox also report lots of missing libs, but they work fine...

musher0 wrote:
In short, I got the impression that puplite is a diamond -- really! -- but still a bit in the rough. And of course my review is very incomplete.

I hope you will receive this as positive criticism.

Sincerely,
musher0

Thank for the info, it is very much appreciated... I'm gonna double check a few things, and see how we go...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4329
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 31 Dec 2010, 09:47    Post subject:  

Hello, sc0ttman!

Thanks for your reply.

This is a rox panel (at the bottom of the screen). jemimah also makes it avaiable in her "Fluppy" It's activated with the command

Code:
rox -b=bottom-panel


This one also has some rox-applets: tray, mem counter, cpu activity check, desktops.

xarchiver exited with an error when I wanted to unzip the archive in another directory than the one it was in. (I'm more used to the other one, XArchive; that may be another cause of the problem!)
rox-bottom-panel.jpg
Description  NOT "rock bottom", hehe. :-)
jpg

 Download 
Filename  rox-bottom-panel.jpg 
Filesize  29.5 KB 
Downloaded  566 Time(s) 

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 31 Dec 2010, 10:08    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, sc0ttman!

Thanks for your reply.

This is a rox panel (at the bottom of the screen). jemimah also makes it avaiable in her "Fluppy" It's activated with the command

Code:
rox -b=bottom-panel

OK I created a rox panel, don't know how to edit what goes in it yet, but it loaded fine..

However, to use a ROX panel nicely, you would need to move or disable the jwm tray (edit/rename /root/.jwmrc-tray) and move the drive icons (edit /usr/sbin/create_jwm_drives.sh)

Both of these are do-able, if you are interested in going that way..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4329
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 31 Dec 2010, 12:29    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Hello, sc0ttman!

Thanks for your reply.

This is a rox panel (at the bottom of the screen). jemimah also makes it avaiable in her "Fluppy" It's activated with the command

Code:
rox -b=bottom-panel

OK I created a rox panel, don't know how to edit what goes in it yet, but it loaded fine..

However, to use a ROX panel nicely, you would need to move or disable the jwm tray (edit/rename /root/.jwmrc-tray) and move the drive icons (edit /usr/sbin/create_jwm_drives.sh)

Both of these are do-able, if you are interested in going that way..


Hi!

Without going into the fuss of moving or disabling stuff, here are a couple of solutions you get through configurations:

to put the rox bar on the left :
Code:
rox -l=left-roxbar

on the right :
Code:
rox -r=right-roxbar
, or
on the top :
Code:
rox -t=top-roxbar


If you choose to keep the roxbar on the bottom, you may want to male the jwm panel disappear and reappear by changing the first line of /root/.jwmrc-tray to:
Code:
<JWM>
   <Tray autohide="true" [...don't touch rest of line...]


You may want to make the above into little scripts, which you'll put in ~/Startup, so you have your rox-bar at each boot.

To populate the rox-bar, you simply drag an icon or a program to it.

For example, say you want to put pfind in the roxbar.

Open rox-filer;
go to /usr/local/pfind;
drag the program "pfind" to the roxbar.

That's it!

Additionnaly, you may want to to add an icon. Right-click on the desired item in the rox-bar: a sub-menu appears. Go up to the 'name-of-item'; another sub-menu appears; go down a bit and click on 'icon". A little window opens: leave it open for now.

Then, use your ROX-Filer and open
/usr/share/pixmaps or
/usr/share/icons or
/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps
to find and choose a suitable icon for your program. Drag your icon to the rectangle in the window you have left open. The little icon window will close, and it's done: you now have an icon for your program in the rox-bar. (Incidentally, some programs have ready-made icons, so you don't need to do the above.)

Enjoy!

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 31 Dec 2010, 15:28    Post subject:  

Thanks musher0, useful info for anyone who wants to enable a ROX menu for their desktop..
_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jan 2011, 00:11    Post subject:  

Tested again to get out on internet but failed. Tested all three different Network tools.

It works on all the other puppies I ahve installed except for yours and one more. Think it is TXZ that lack the driver needed. Maybe you use same kernel them do?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jan 2011, 07:31    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Tested again to get out on internet but failed. Tested all three different Network tools.

It works on all the other puppies I ahve installed except for yours and one more. Think it is TXZ that lack the driver needed. Maybe you use same kernel them do?

Thanks for checking again nooby,

What about a standard Puppy 4.2? What about TurboPup?
Do they connect to the internet for you? (if you tried already...)

Puplite has a totally standard zdrv (4.2), so Puppy4.2 and TurboPup should also *not* work...
But if Puppy 4.2 works, or TurboPup works, then I will be very surprised, (and I will fix it!!) Very Happy

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jan 2011, 09:21    Post subject:  

I guess me tested these Puppy4.2 and TurboPup one or two years ago. But on another computer.

So I have to download and test them again to answer you Smile

I've tested Puppy4.2 and TurboPup extreme now. Both failed to get internet. they simply don't see my ethernet card on the Acer D250.

I remember vaguely that Barry or somebody did help me get internet way back in 2009 or 2008 and the puppeee was the only one able to get me internet on the Acer?

I am not sure. I think I remember that it is was very difficult to get internet going on D250.

Jolicloud which is a Ubuntu nettop remix that one was the first to manage it for me using linux on that Netbook.

what was the CLI code for knowing what hardware driver one needs?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jan 2011, 15:28    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
I guess me tested these Puppy4.2 and TurboPup one or two years ago. But on another computer.

So I have to download and test them again to answer you Smile

I've tested Puppy4.2 and TurboPup extreme now. Both failed to get internet. they simply don't see my ethernet card on the Acer D250.

I am not sure. I think I remember that it is was very difficult to get internet going on D250.

what was the CLI code for knowing what hardware driver one needs?

Thanks for checking nooby, I thought that would be the case, as I didn't remove any drivers..

So, I'm thinking a kernel change, to the Wary kernel, may be a good thing to do for Puplite... Wary also uses Xorg 1.3 (like Puplite)...
(This is my preferred choice...)

Or I could try upgrading to the fluppy kernel, and also upgrading the Xorg version as Fluppys as well (Xorg 1.6 or 1.7, I think...)..

But I am learning as I go about drivers and kernel modules, and am still a total nooby myself! Embarassed

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 14 [206 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1116s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]