Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 18:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Need help installing pup on old IBM laptop(solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 11 [151 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2006, 23:57    Post subject:  

Back. The Forum was not letting me log on from 7PM til now.

You should be able to get to Windows by choosing "Windows" in the config.sys menu. That should boot you directly into Windows. If it doesn't, then there is something wrong with your config.sys or autoexec.bat.

Assuming you now have grub.exe and its associated files in C:\Puppy\bootgrub, copy the saved menu.lst from previously to whatever subdirectory your --config-file= parameter in the line in autoexec which starts grub points to. In other words, the old menu.lst should work just fine.

Then boot the Thinkpad and tell me how far it gets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 00:18    Post subject:  

alright I got a new error msg.
C: Puppy\bootgrub\grub.exe --config-file=(hd0,0)/puppy/bootgrub/menu.lst (all one line)
Bad command or file name

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 00:38    Post subject:  

Sorry for this taking so long. My ISP is having difficulties tonight.

It appears that either grub.exe (and its associated files) is missing from subdir c:\puppy\bootgrub, or else menu.lst is missing from c:\puppy\bootgrub.

Are they in fact there? i.e. does issuing from the DOS prompt

dir c:\puppy\bootgrub\grub.exe

produce a result?

dir c:\puppy\bootgrub\menu.lst

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 00:59    Post subject:  

ok this dir c:\puppy\bootgrub\grub.exe gives me this msg volume in drive c has no label
volume serial number is 1625-0ef3
dir c:\puppy\bootgrub\grub
file not found 1,240,530,944 bytes free

this dir c:\puppy\bootgrub\menu.lst gave me this
drive c has no label
volume serial number is 1625-0ef3
dir c:\puppy\bootgrub\grub
menu lst 201 04-19-06 10:39p menu.lst
1 file 201 bytes
0 dir 1,240,530,944 bytes free
[/b]

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 01:07    Post subject:  

Where did you copy the new grub.exe to?

Boot Windows and use Start - File - Find grub.exe beginning with C:\ as uppermost directory.

Or, though it will take longer, you can from the DOS prompt issue

c:
cd \
dir /b /s grub.exe | find "grub" /i

(| = pipe character, shift-backslash)

Modify the autoexec.bat line to point to it, in other words if it's in C:\ then make the line read

C:\grub.exe --config-file=(hd0,0)/puppy/bootgrub/menu.lst

and try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 01:11    Post subject:  

Correction: according to your directory listing, menu.lst is in subdirectory c:\puppy\bootgrub\grub, so if grub.exe is in c:\puppy\bootgrub then the line should read

C:\puppy\bootgrub\grub.exe --config-file=(hd0,0)/puppy/bootgrub/grub/menu.lst
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 01:35    Post subject:  

we just might have it Razz
_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 01:40    Post subject:  

OK, I'm waiting here with bated biscuit breath...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 01:44    Post subject:  

I HAVE PUPPY!!!!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR TIME AND FOR STICKING WITH ME
_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 01:57    Post subject:  

UMM HOW DO i MARK THIS TOPIC AS SOLVED?
_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 02:26    Post subject:  

My ISP was totally out of service for half an hour there.

Go to Page 1, your very first message, and edit the subject line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 02:33    Post subject:  

There is a little bit of cleanup we can still do. For instance, move the line

@echo off

to the very top of your autoexec.bat, and the lines won't double-echo.

In menu.lst change PSLEEP=25 to PSLEEP=999 (or, add it if it's not there, in the kernel line)

and Puppy will copy the contents of pup001 to RAM, run it from there, and then save pup001 back to disk at shutdown time. This makes Puppy run faster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 02:52    Post subject:  

Cool thanks.
I have to get some sleep now but I will be back now and then(tomorow night) to get more knoledge Shocked so I hope to talk to you later

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 02:58    Post subject:  

OK see you then. If you look over in Announcements, the new snapshot of Puppy 2 Alpha has been released by BarryK and is temporarily available at MU's fast website. My advice is, get it while you can, before MU runs out of bandwidth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toddyjoe

Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2006, 11:44    Post subject:  

I have been watching the thread and am glad you two finally got this to work. Here is a sincere pat on the back and "Good job!" congratulations to both of you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 11 [151 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0723s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]