Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 09:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
spup-100 April 2011
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 52 [775 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Author Message
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 05:24    Post subject:  

manual frugal with menu.lst
Code:
title spup051
root (hd1,0)
kernel /spup051/vmlinuz pfix=copy phome=spup051 psubdir=spup051 pfix=fsck
initrd /spup051/initrd.gz


seems to be something wrong with the letters. this stays the same when moved about the screen. same happens with the lettering during wifi connect.
edit: seems that a and r are affected but not always.

is the desktop image of the great divide symbolic?

sns still doesn't tell you if it is wep or wpa so you have to guess and not make a mistake when you enter the password.
good that no partitions are mounted by default.

edit first boot was defaults with x24
second boot exactly the same as the first (ie. no pupsave) except oz ingerlish chosen and then the letters are ok.
lettering.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.03 KB
 Viewed   1916 Time(s)

lettering.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>

Last edited by aarf on Wed 08 Dec 2010, 06:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 450
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 05:58    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
Brown Mouse wrote:
Spot the two errors Wink
erm, the time is wrong. My time doesnt say that at all. Ah the second one is too difficult.

edit oh i see it now two wrong times so two errors, how could i miss that Crying or Very sad

by the way i think you might have a faulty install because the time is ok on mine.


The times are ok,it's in 12hr clock mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 06:04    Post subject:  

Ok aarf.. the pattern seems to be bold lowercase letters 'r' and 'a'. Is it the same if they are not bold? Bold usally occers in Rox when the files are new. If you change the gtk theme is it still the same? Does it occur in anything else apart from Rox? Yes, yes, lots of questions but I don't seem to have the issue. I installed opera-11beta too.



Quote:
is the desktop image of the great divide symbolic?

yes

Barry's app, guess it should be mentioned. (re sns)

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 07:40    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse wrote:
aarf wrote:
Brown Mouse wrote:
Spot the two errors Wink
erm, the time is wrong. My time doesnt say that at all. Ah the second one is too difficult.

edit oh i see it now two wrong times so two errors, how could i miss that Crying or Very sad

by the way i think you might have a faulty install because the time is ok on mine.


The times are ok,it's in 12hr clock mode.

so i got none out of two. Embarassed hope it wasn't some really worthwhile prize, you know like a trip to the moon or something. anyhow good luck to the other contestants.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 07:45    Post subject:  

made some changes to the original post. the black text on yellow background popup messages during wifi connect were also affected. have to concur with bold affected. could be US keyboard with Us english a factor too. all ok now in US keyboard with oz english.
wifi is self disconnecting when typing too long and not surfing. disconnecting doesnt happen in puppeee1
Edited this post too.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 13:10    Post subject:  

01micko,

Thanks for this new spup, it works fine. The extras, especially those essential for the deskbound, are great. All installed applications appear to work find.

    === EXTRASFSS ===
    Bibletime_lucid-2.7.2a.sfs
    firefox4b7wary.sfs
    java_jre-6u22-Lucid-sfs4.sfs
    LibreOffice-3.3.0b3_sfs4.sfs
    OpenOffice.org3-3.3.0rc7_sfs4.sfs
    spup_devx_051.sfs
    === User Installed Pkgs (PPM) ===
    Package Description
    numlockx-1.2-i486 turns on numlock at boot
    gnome-games-Lite_2.26.1-i486-Spup Avoid the robots and make them crash into each other
    gimp-2.6.6-i486-1 Gimp image editor
    sfs_grabber-0.1 Install sfs files
    nvidia-260.19.21-k2.6.34.1s5 Configure NVIDIA X Server Settings
    LHP_sys_info-0.3 Lighthouse System Information & Video Report
    hplip-3.9.12-scan HP Scanner Drivers
    Wbar_with_setup-1.3.3-Lucid Wbar Setup -adjust wbar settings

    Observations:
    1. Printer setup has gone backwards, now requiring CUPS password, naturally I forgot it.
    2. Seamonkey is fine, however, a later version that allows update would be preferably.
    3. Wbar works fine, but first Quickpet needs to be deleted using Wbar Setup.

Well, got to get back to Luci. Wink

Cheers,
Jim
Cups.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Cups.png 
Filesize  847.52 KB 
Downloaded  448 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 18:55    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse- at what stage did you notice the help icon awol? Installing another browser maybe? That could conceivably do it. I see the coluoration issues with a certain program Wink .. unload each module till you have only the one that is showing correctly then reload all of them and switch theme, might just work.. it is a bug in that app.

James C -looks like you need to learn Italian! Actually any firefox package should work, dbus is in the main system, but it tends to break seamonkey for some weird reason. Next version will include seamonkey-2.0.10 (or later if available) with dbus enabled.

As for other browsers, Opera11 from SHS works fine as does Iron, but it needs, gconf, eggdbus, ORBit2 and polkit.. package later, and maybe a default chooser (differsnt from luci's Wink )

johnnywinner.. nice desktop! Where did you get the tint 2 (version please) and openbox packages? As for the suspend issue it could be to do with rfkill, I didn't look at the kernel configuration but I believe it is disabled. It also could be a video driver issue .. some more info from you please? (Computer model, vid driver)

Sir Jasper -thanks for kind words. Enjoy learning the differences! I will look into memory calculation issues.

Jim -root, woofwoof (cups password).. I'll try to get rid of it and if I can't put a message in the initial dialog. Seamonkey is getting updated. Wink I may make a special wbar package with the slack imlib2 (well at least compiled the slack way Wink .. there's plenty of 'hands on' with SlackwareTM!) Ok, Seamonkey-2.0.10 is posted in the second post (dbus enabled, pretty small too Wink , conflicts with firefox Sad )

aarf -I'll load up on my eee and see if I can't sort that silly font issue, could be graphic driver related.. I'll try lots of locales.. I just thought.. does enabling utf8 make a difference?

Lobster... no quickpet as yet.. I gotta get back to Luci too, but this is here and isn't going anywhere in a hurry. Like I said, updates woofly Wink (that could be daily! never know with BK!)

Luci should take priority over this. But in saying that Luci/Lupu isn't everyone's cup'o'tea, so to speak. It's here, use it if you want.

Please report.

Cheers!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Wed 08 Dec 2010, 21:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 771
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 19:04    Post subject:  

Hi

Luvly Puppy - absolutely a PAW.

playing now - report later

so far - looks really nice.

Many thanks and best regards - Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 19:12    Post subject:  

No problems to install FRUGAL (Lin'N'Win) and run my application environment.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 19:34    Post subject:  

Hi micko

Nice to see a new pup without all the bells and whistles and a newish pre installed browser

2 usual problems,
1. new asus motherboard needs a sound card installed as with all woof built pups, installed progs never work with the on board sound.
2. printer does not work with cups, but installing gutenprint 5.2.3 does not fix it this time, cups is not recognising my printer at all (epson s21 on usb)

downloading devx and will get back after further testing.
Looks good though
Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 21:54    Post subject: No sound detected !  

I did a live CD run with this one on
my main machine, main things to get started --
i.e. connect to the internet, and lets have some sound.
Well that works ok!

So off I went to my laptop for a frugal install, network ok!,
but won't find my sound card.

Machine COMPAQ N1020V

Thank you all and have a Happy Christmas!

Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 22:41    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

James C -looks like you need to learn Italian! Actually any firefox package should work, dbus is in the main system, but it tends to break seamonkey for some weird reason. Next version will include seamonkey-2.0.10 (or later if available) with dbus enabled.


Somebody wasn't paying attention. Laughing
Grabbed 3.6.3 from the official repo,updated to 3.6.12 and all is good.
Italian Firefox.png
 Description   
 Filesize   3.37 KB
 Viewed   1664 Time(s)

Italian Firefox.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 00:49    Post subject:  

Mi scusi, Signor James C! Laughing

Stripe -gutenprint-5.2.6 is posted in the main post, DOC, DEV and NLS too.

Tui... I wonder if your sound driver failed to load? Does it normally? (I guess so). Did you try to use the "Setup ALSA Sound" from the setup icon? Two outputs I want from your laptop. Run 'lsmod' in a terminal and save to a file, also 'lspci'. Thanks. Oh, was the speaker icon in they tray?

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1927
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 03:15    Post subject:  

Hey 01micko, good job with this one Very Happy

Wanted to ask - do you need a kernel? Going to the army on this Monday so I don't have any time left for big project. In this week I compiled about 5 kernels, wrote a minixcal replacement, hacked a retrovol replacement and did lots of small projects.

Yesterday I started working on 2.6.35.9 with an intel_idle backport from 2.6.36.1, should save 0.5W of power usage on Atom systems. Would you like me to upload this thing? Maybe you'll find it useful, after all you're the mind behind Lupu's kernel.

_________________
My homepage
My GitHub profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 03:23    Post subject:  

Well, 2 kernel are always a good idea.. I think BK released 431 with 4 kernels!

Thanks, and someone may as well take advantage of your great work! It will be appreciated.

Good luck with the Army adventure. Take care.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 52 [775 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1083s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]