Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 03:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Insidious Puppy 001
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 18 [270 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1888
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 08:49    Post subject:  

Good news, more stuff for 002:
- New Iceape template with a modified profile - Puppy links in the toolbar, some default settings, a homepage and no Modern theme (1 MB, too much)
- /usr/bin/nicoedit is now a link to /usr/bin/leafpad, for backwards-compatibility (as I did with xarchive and File-Roller)
- New udev 164, compiled from the Debian sources

Stuff already in:
- pupRadio
- The package lists downloader
- Some missing packages (3 if I remember right)

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 09:58    Post subject:  

TEH Iguledereh

Seems to be a woof problem with zzz. In quirky-1.4 and Insidious with my 3G modem I have to 'modprobe option' to get the thing loaded. Luci is ok, but things are a little different there Smile . NOTE: muggins had the same issue in quirky, see teh blog!

Also having video trouble on this old box (a radeon 9200pro card, not my main box which has nvidia) with mplayer but NOT gnome-mplayer .. yes more weirdness, been that kind of day!

Funny thing.. with luci modem is ok and sound no good, with insidious and quirky it's the other way, sound ok, 3G modem no good

Cheerio

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 11:06    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Which PET or SFS of OpenOffice is recommended for use with Insidious, please?

I started to load the openoffice-3.2.1.9502_en.US.pet but the pop-up warned about installing to /mnt/home

BTW: That error message includes a misspelled word.
Always report type of install.
You should know that since Aug 2005.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4367
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 11:14    Post subject:  

My sig has said FRUGAL for years, I didn't notice that the last time I edited it the word had been dropped. It is there again.
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 13:07    Post subject:  

tubeguy wrote:
abushcrafter wrote:
What about this for a home page: http://puppy.b0x.me/psearch.html

Love it, bookmarked. Nice job.
It's not mine. I found out about it by a thread from the author on the forums which I can't find in my history.
_________________
adobe flash is rubbish!
My Quote:"Humans are stupid, though some are clever but stupid." http://www.dependent.de/media/audio/mp3/System_Syn_Heres_to_You.zip http://www.systemsyn.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jplt


Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 118
Location: Somewhere en NORMANDIE - FRANCE

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 13:35    Post subject:  

My usb keyboard still don't work under jwm but work in console !

My keyboard work very on lupu ,lupq, fluppy !!!!!

_________________
my hardware/mon materiel

Frugal Install Puppy Precise 5.7.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 16:32    Post subject:  

jplt wrote:
My usb keyboard still don't work under jwm but work in console !

My keyboard work very on lupu ,lupq, fluppy !!!!!


Hi jplit,

That's a strange problem. I guess nobody replied to your first post about it, because it is so uncommon, as far as I know.
Did you try the Mouse/keyboard wizard? ( menu >>setup>>)?
Maybe you'll find your keyboard there, in "advanced xorg keyboard configuration"?
Otherwise you could try menu>>setup>>setup puppy>>wizardwizard>>change the mouse and keyboard >>choose keyboard layout. There you can tick "keyboard has usb interface". Maybe that helps, but I really don't know. My keyboard is usb, and the "keyboard has usb interface" is unticked in my case.
There's always a solution.. Wink

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 16:35    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
My sig has said FRUGAL for years, I didn't notice that the last time I edited it the word had been dropped. It is there again.
OK, the good thing is that all your post from 2005 on will reflect FRUGAL again. Wink
I used the version you reference as a sfs and never had a problem.
In a FRUGAL I avoid to use a pet as it reduces sometimes considerable the save space.

There is a sfs version here
I am not aware that there are specific OOo versions for puppy's.
I didn't have incompatibility issues.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4367
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 16:50    Post subject:  

Thanks for that link!

I am trying to switch to SFS versions as quickly as they are made available.

QUESTION: Does the Italian version of OO taste better or is the background music Sinatra? Wink

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 16:57    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Thanks for that link!

I am trying to switch to SFS versions as quickly as they are made available.

QUESTION: Does the Italian version of OO taste better or is the background music Sinatra? Wink
I never did put OO in a pizza. Who knows how good it taste with the background music Sinatra.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2647
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 17:26    Post subject:  

Fancy GTK engines with themes included to make your puppy apps smooth looking Cool
gtk_engines_all-i486-inpu.pet about 600-700 KB

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
CosmiCat


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 18:02    Post subject: Insidious Puppy 001  

Hello everybody, I'm new from Italy.
my PC: ASUS P4 PE -X TE, P4 2,4 GHz, 512MB memory
MATROX G550 32MB monitor PHILIPS 190C
Controller scsi ADAPTEC AVA-2904

I like Dpup and I was very curious about Insidious Puppy. Unfortunately in the boot sequence I was no able to configure the screen resolution (I got only a blank screen with the message "cannot display this video mode) and unlike Dpup, does not even works the boot option command "puppy vga=795" (corresponding to the native resolution of my monitor). The VESA option is useless for me, because I don't need a emergency rescue system. My goal is a fully functional substitute of MS Windows.
I posted this as a test report (if someone is interested)
Sorry for my bad english

p.s. Hi Iguleder, I send you an email one week ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1888
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 04:37    Post subject:  

I guess you used fbdev and a framebuffer driver - the Matrox one. Insidious doesn't have any framebuffer modules except the generic VESA one and the KMS ones.

Have you tried any other drivers? What is your GPU (brand, model)?

And regarding the email - I received your mail some time ago (I'm pretty sure it's more thana week) but I was too busy to reply (worked and slept 24/7), I apologize for this. And I wish to thank you.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
CosmiCat


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 06:47    Post subject: Insidious Puppy  

Hi Iguleder
I apologize a lot.
I did not mean to say "Hey, I sent you an email, why don't you answer me?"
I mentioned it because I thought you would recognize me. I'm very sorry, I know you are very busy.

During start up, as well as with many other distros, I'm stuck in xorg wizard panel. When I'm asked to choose the resolution and test it (in this case 1280x1024@60Hz 24bit),
Puppy probes and recognises correctly my video card (Matrox Millennium G550 dual head vga, dvi, with 32m memory)
and uses the right driver (mga) but when I test it I get only a message from the monitor "cannot display this video mode, change resolution".
Lesser resolution or vesa driver works, but being my monitor LCD, resolution other than that native produces poor quality screens. Vesa driver does not use full capability of hardware.
It was what you meant for "have you tried any other drivers"?

Thank you for your attention
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 07:01    Post subject: No Frugal nor Full instalation.
Subject description: Instruction missing?
 

Well things were going well until
I wanted a full install or frugal.

The live CD runs ok! This bit of instruction software
is missing.

So how do I get a full install?

Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 18 [270 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0981s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0154s) ][ GZIP on ]