Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 03:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lupu-515 Beta New Version DEC 18
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 27 of 210 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 208, 209, 210 Next
Author Message
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 20:42    Post_subject: Compiz and cairo-dock work in luci-233/234  

Compiz and cairo-dock now work in luci233/234 (at least at my end).
Grab them from here:
Compiz-0.8.4-Lucid.pet

cairo-dock-2.1.3.10-Lucid.pet.

Nevertheless, bewarned that the installation especially, for compiz is not straightforward. As I posted earlier (page 23 of this thread), I followed tombh's thread: Compiz-Fusion for Puppy 4.0 .

As pointed out in that thread,
Quote:
... there are only 3 main types of card that can run CF; ATI (newer than 7000), Intel (newer than i810) and Nvidia (newer than GeForce2).
Well, my machine uses intel so I had no problem whatsoever.

Now, these are the steps that I took:
1. I installed a fresh luci-233 frugally and the first thing I did was to install O1micko’s
xfce4-4.6.2-511-beta-Lucid.pet.
Oh yes, compiz only works in xfce, KDE and gnome Crying or Very sad
Might work in Openbox but I didn't succeed trying that.

2. installed the new WmSwitcher (v7) before doing the switch to Xfce. However, fbpnel was still visible with openbox menus. I had to rename /usr/bin/fbpanel to fbpanel-old and after restart, it was gone.

3. Installed Xorg_High-1.1-Lucid.pet for 3D acceleration. (Note: no need to install the xorg_xorg_full_dri-7.3.pet as suggested by tombh in the Compiz thread posted above).

4. I then installed openshot. (Note: This version of Openshot contains a mini-python which will also be useful for the compiz ccsm.) You can install only the python_minimal-2.5.pet
or the full python found elsewhere in the forum if you don't want to install Openshot.

5. Installed Compiz. (Note: This version of compiz contains libwnck for better performance of Emerald. It also has the simple-ccsm which is a no-brainer in configuring Compiz. (Hint: I always use the "ultimate" option in simple-ccsm for smooth and better performance of Compiz).

It is now time to tighten our belts as we are going to make some changes to system files.

6. Open the file /etc/profile and add # at the beginning of line 88. That is:

Code:
#export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1


7. Edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf according to the instructions given here: Compiz-Fusion for Puppy 4.0

8. Add this somewhere near the begining of .xinitrc:
Code:
#start compiz
LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1 compiz --replace --indirect-rendering --sm-disable ccp emerald --replace &
sleep 3


At this point, Compiz should work after restarting the computer. However, I found out that the screen flickers after clicking the right button of the mouse.

To overcome this. I disabled the following lines in /root/.xinitrc:

Code:
/usr/sbin/fixPuppyPin /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin #v1.0.7
if [ -f /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPan1 ];then
rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin -r /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPan1
else
rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
fi

They should look like this:
Code:
#/usr/sbin/fixPuppyPin /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin #v1.0.7
#if [ -f /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPan1 ];then
# rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin -r /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPan1
#else
# rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
#fi


(Note: The above lines in /root/.xinitrc must be line113 and lines116 through 120 after pasting the Compiz startup code given in 8.)

Now if you want some further eye-candy, then proceed with the installation of cairo-dock.
9.. Install cairo-dock and add this:
Code:
#start cairo-dock
cairo-dock -o &

just before:
Code:
#exec $CURRENTWM

in /root/.xinitrc.

Restart your machine and enjoy.

cheers.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 21:10    Post_subject:  

Hi smil99

I am trying right now.. but in the /root/.xinitrc I will suggest to playdayz to make some improvements for compatibility with xfce4 and fluxbox..such as not loading fbpanel!!! does flux do compiz????

The wmswitcher needs improvement too, I'll upload a fixed xfce without wm-switcher and a new wm-switcher soon. I'm thinking to drop lxde support, only because of too much conflict with fbpanel.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 21:22    Post_subject:  

Quote:
drop lxde support,


Yes. The LXDE-Light I made. Do that. I have already removed it from PPM--it is a different openbox too which makes for even less compatibility.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 21:26    Post_subject:  

I am sorry to offend ttuuxxx. I do that hype b.s. just for fun, like, The Greatest Show on Earth!!!

It looks like you have us on the themes Wink We have 18 backgrounds though--probably too many.

01mickos sfs-getter in Quickpet for one-click install of sfs's is a good move toward ease of personalizing imho.

Two built-in and 3 added wm's is another move--though maybe also in the excessive range.

And then there is Quickpet in the first place and LupuNews to keep up with latest releases and updates.

Can we call it a tie?

Luci-234 - One of the two most easiest to personalize Puppies ever!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 21:27    Post_subject: Grub and Grub4Dos  

Regarding the Grub and Grub4Dos,
I like to show our experience of Japanese editons for your information.
From the 430JP released October last year, Japanese editions have both Grub(legacy) and Grub4Dos, as the recent Bary's Wary and Quirky do.

But new comers use Grub(legacy) instead of Grub4Dos,
and wonder why the grubconfig do nothing for the frugal installs.
They may also be missing the message given by the univasal installer(even translated in Japanese) how to boot up frugal install.
Anyway, if his PC is Windows pre-installed, he forced to make a frugal install on NTFS, there are no hope with Grub(legacy).

They don't have an idea even to try the Grub4Dos appears next to the Grub(legacy) on the menu.
Maybe because of its unfamiliar name 'Grub4Dos', they thought it a tool manipulating Windows MS-DOS or something.

In the LupQ, i removed the Grub(legacy) from the menu with this reason.
( Actually LupQ has both because one exceptional case requires the grub legacy.
The user interface, grub4dosconfig hides this fact and automatically arranges the grub and grub4dos.)

I guess the menu title of grub4dosconfig can be renamed as 'Grub configuration' hiding the name 'Grub4Dos'.
Because the Grub4Dos is upper compatible with the grub legacy.

Please see also:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61348

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5972
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 21:31    Post_subject:  

Just noticed that the default cache setting in Firefox 4 b6 is 250 mb ........isn't that a bit higher than the usual Firefox pet?
Reset mine to 20...... Laughing
firefox cache.png
 Description   
 Filesize   83.87 KB
 Viewed   3425 Time(s)

firefox cache.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 21:34    Post_subject:  

Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

This compiz is a blast.. I just minimised my Opera window and watched it fold inta paper plane and fly downwards Laughing

Those blokes (compiz devs) surely have too much time on their hands!

_____________________________

Ok, will ditch lxde from wm-switcher

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5972
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 21:43    Post_subject:  

Almost forgot, I've installed Fluxbox and have a different wallpaper for each wm......seems to be working fine.

Somewhere in the midst of changing wm's back and forth I've lost the firewall status indicator in the taskbar though. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 22:00    Post_subject:  

@01micko
Quote:
does flux do compiz????

I guess not. Crying or Very sad
According to the fluxbox-wiki:

Quote:
Can I use fluxbox or parts of it with XGL/Compiz/Beryl?
No, you can't. Fluxbox is a windowmanager, compiz and beryl are window managers (combined with a composite manager). So you can only replace fluxbox with one of them. KDE, GNOME and XFCE are desktop environments, which bring a windowmanager (kwin, metacity and xfwm) along. That's why you can use them with compiz, only the windowmanager is replaced.
Fluxbox is not modular, so you can't use the fluxbox menu, toolbar, slit or anything else with compiz. You can read the eyecandy section for some nice effects with fluxbox or switch completely to compiz/beryl and miss all the great features fluxbox has.

So we now have Xfce as the top candidate for compiz.

@01micko
Quote:
This compiz is a blast..


It surely is Very Happy . I hope you can come come out with an easy way to install it.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 22:04    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
I am sorry to offend ttuuxxx. I do that hype b.s. just for fun, like, The Greatest Show on Earth!!!

It looks like you have us on the themes Wink

Can we call it a tie?

Luci-234 & 2.14X - are One of the two most easiest to personalize Puppies ever!!!

Ok I can agree with a tie Smile would be nice if one day if all the puppy Linux developers got together and built a release. If we took the amount of effort that we put into our personal projects and funneled into a main release it would be tops.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 22:10    Post_subject:  

Quote:
So we now have Xfce as the top candidate for compiz.


Yeah works well with it and only weighs in at 5MB.. so all up, to have a wobbly desktop it costs about 20M compressed,, not bad.

I guess the whole lot could be packaged with a special xinitrc that doesn't overwrite the current one... build it into wm switcher and it should be simple to switch between compiz and the other wms (switching the xinitrc in the process). I did note that X just refuses to start with the others.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 22:17    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Quote:
So we now have Xfce as the top candidate for compiz.


Yeah works well with it and only weighs in at 5MB.. so all up, to have a wobbly desktop it costs about 20M compressed,, not bad.

I guess the whole lot could be packaged with a special xinitrc that doesn't overwrite the current one... build it into wm switcher and it should be simple to switch between compiz and the other wms (switching the xinitrc in the process). I did note that X just refuses to start with the others.

Cheers

Switching xinitrc is the best way to do it, That's the way I did it in 432 and 2.14X.
in 2.14X the script is as follows
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cp -f /usr/local/wmsitcher/metacity/windowmanager /etc/windowmanager
cp -f /usr/local/wmsitcher/metacity/.xinitrc /root/.xinitrc
sleep 3 &&
exec restartwm

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 22:29    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Just noticed that the default cache setting in Firefox 4 b6 is 250 mb ........isn't that a bit higher than the usual Firefox pet?

Yeah, mine too. I cannot remember ever setting that, but 20 seems more reasonable to me, so I think I will set it.

<add: I changed the cache to 20MB and started the pet going through the ibiblio mirrors..

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 22:36    Post_subject:  

@01micko
Quote:
I did note that X just refuses to start with the others.

Unfortunately yes. Crying or Very sad I forgot to mention that.
@ttuuxxx's
Quote:
Switching xinitrc is the best way to do it, That's the way I did it in 432 and 2.14X.

Let's give that a try with ttuuxxx's help.
@ttuuxxx's
Quote:
would be nice if one day if all the puppy Linux developers got together and built a release

Very happy to hear you here. That is what I call the puppy spirit, so infectious and yet very accommodating allowing for crossbreeding. Very Happy

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 30 Oct 2010, 22:45    Post_subject: Switching xinitrc  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Switching xinitrc is the best way to do it,

It is the easiest way but not the best.

My IME(Input Method Engine) PET rewrites the .xinitrc by the postinstall.sh.
Other PET can do, there may be a chance users edit .xinitrc manually and not want to reverted it.

I do not have any good idea, but some 'if' branch in the .xinitrc can be one of the method.
Like:
Code:
[ -x somescipt ] && somescript

in .xinitrc.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 210 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 208, 209, 210 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1371s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0324s) ][ GZIP on ]