Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 20:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
How to make Belkin F5D7000 wifi config persist? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
kuejoe


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 13 Apr 2006, 23:08    Post_subject:  How to make Belkin F5D7000 wifi config persist? (Solved)  

Hello people,

i have my belkin wireless working manually through wag and the ethernet wizard (for the dhcpd) when it is booting puppy, i see this:
ndiswrapper iw_set_freq:289
"SET" failed on device wlan0
setting config failed: c0010015
/etc/rc.d/rc.local:5
/sbin/dhcpd: not found
I am using the bcmwl5.inf driver in ndiswrapper.

If it were for me, I guess I could deal with it if I HAD to (even though it is a major pain in the tail every time I boot - having to go back into the wizards) but it is for my 9 yr old daughter and that would be to much work for her.
At LEAST I have it running - I tried it in Suse, Deb, Ubuntu Fedora and nothing.
Thank you ahead for any help or ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11150
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Apr 2006, 10:42    Post_subject:  

I don't know if this is any help, but if my PCI card cable modem hasn't synced with the cable company by the time Puppy gets to the ethernet config step in the boot sequence, I have to use the Ethernet wizard in the menu in the desktop Setup icon. The point being that perhaps the wireless configuration step during bootup is not giving something enough time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kuejoe


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri 14 Apr 2006, 18:31    Post_subject: Belkin F5D7000 Desktop works - won't boot?  

Thanks Flash,

Where would I do this - in Grub?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kuejoe


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri 14 Apr 2006, 18:44    Post_subject: Belkin F5D7000 Desktop works - won't boot?  

The thing is that wlan0 boots up no problem.
But all the internet stuff isnt.
I am thinking that the dhcpd isnt since /sbin/dhcpd isn't found.
I have to use the ethernet wizard each time to get the dhcpd running because, for some reason it will not in WAG.
Also I noticed in WAG that as i go through it, on the left hand side it will say module not loaded and dhcpd not running.
Ill am able to get everything else up except those two - go into the ethernet wizard and I am in.
The module not loaded makes me wonder if it has to do with the .inf file in ndiswrapper - or am I off on this?
Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 15 Apr 2006, 04:10    Post_subject:  

I think the WAG creates (or adds to) the file /root/.etc/rc.d/rc.local

As a result of advice in anther thread a few months ago, I edited mine manually (right click, Edit as text) and put

sleep 5

or some other number between some of the commands, so it has time to do all the handshaking(?) with the wireless network. I don't know which ones need how long, but I did try to shorten them until it wouldn't work, then lengthened again, and now I've got:


sleep 3
after the ndiswrapper stuff

sleep 5
after the iwconfig

sleep 2
after the rm /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-wlan0.*

sleep 5
after the dhcpcd stuff


If you've got these functions, try the sleep and a number. I suspect that mine are a bit too long for some functions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kuejoe


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun 16 Apr 2006, 00:17    Post_subject: Belkin F5D7000 works - won't boot?  

Thanks Rickrandom

I unfortunately do not have much in this file, let alone what you have described.
I have since used RARSA's ethernet wizard update - and can do everything from there...but I am still at square one, so to speak. My ndiswrapper loads up fine, but my dsl access isn't. I then have to do it manually from the ethernet wizard [rather than the wireless and ethernet wizard - at least RARSA's update saved me a step if nothing else]. Still trying......
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kuejoe


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun 16 Apr 2006, 10:06    Post_subject: Belkin F5D7000 Desktop works -won't boot?  

iwconfig wlan0 channel 0 essid default
dhcpcd wlan0

I put this in /etc/rc.d/rc.local
saved it, rebooted and wlan0 popped up in blinky on the taskbar!
Had a few errors while it was booting - but it works!!

Thank you to all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0513s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]