Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 16:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 38 of 133 [1983 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9263
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 04 Oct 2010, 11:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
Where did this patch come from? I'll take a look at it.

The original thread was here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon 04 Oct 2010, 20:50    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
jonlowe wrote:
Speaking of Chrome; any chance of getting Chrome 6.x in the next version of Fluppy? Some add-ons, specifically Ad Block, don't work in 5.x. Plus Chrome sync is not fully functional in 5.x.


Both fluppy05 and fluppy06 have Chrome 6.


Uhhhh, Jeremiah, "About Google Chrome" gives me this in Fluppy 006:

5.0.375.127

It also has two menu icons on the upper right, indicative of a 5.x installation. 6.x and up consolidated them into one.

What am I missing? I verified Fluppy 006 from the kernel version.

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon 04 Oct 2010, 20:57    Post subject:  

Stripe wrote:
Hi all

The fluppy-cups patch does work I forgot to add the following two lines of code after installation Embarassed Embarassed

# rm -rf /var/spool/cups
# /etc/init.d/cups restart

Hope this helps
Stripe


Stripe,
What is the correct order of installing the patch? Install it, then reinstall CUPS? Or vice versa?

Thanks.

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9263
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 04 Oct 2010, 22:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
What is the correct order of installing the patch? Install it, then reinstall CUPS? Or vice versa?

You don't need to reinstall CUPS.

Just install the patch and run the two commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 04 Oct 2010, 23:35    Post subject:  

jonlowe wrote:
jemimah wrote:
jonlowe wrote:
Speaking of Chrome; any chance of getting Chrome 6.x in the next version of Fluppy? Some add-ons, specifically Ad Block, don't work in 5.x. Plus Chrome sync is not fully functional in 5.x.


Both fluppy05 and fluppy06 have Chrome 6.


Uhhhh, Jeremiah, "About Google Chrome" gives me this in Fluppy 006:

5.0.375.127

It also has two menu icons on the upper right, indicative of a 5.x installation. 6.x and up consolidated them into one.

What am I missing? I verified Fluppy 006 from the kernel version.

Jon


Doh, seems it got accidentally reverted in Fluppy006. I'll put it back for Fluppy007. Shouldn't be long I am on vacation and working on this full time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 09:53    Post subject:  

Hi all

bcrypt does not seem to be working with 006.
Any other encryption programs??

Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 11:03    Post subject:  

Hi all

It seems just to be working on the local partition and not on the others, seems very sensitive to filename length as well

Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 11:12    Post subject:  

If someone suggests a bcrypt replacement that's better and reasonably sized, I'll swap it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 11:59    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:


These flash drive attempts were 3 files short of previous Fluppy
flash installs.
Added the files, it fixed sound and wireless, but still has gxine
segmentation fault.
The full install still seems good.


It seems this happens in Xvesa. I'm working on an Xvesa replacement that will hopefully work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 13:46    Post subject: bcrypt  

jemimah wrote:
If someone suggests a bcrypt replacement that's better and reasonably sized, I'll swap it out.
For me bcrypt seems to work OK
Test file bcrypt.txt:
    This file tests the bcrypt function
Password: "12345678"
hexdump bcrypt.txt.bfe yields:
    0000000 0154 440b 06c8 46fe 0fb0 4cba 99e3 c5a7
    0000010 790e 1529 dcfc 3556 55fb a28e c9d8 c0a1
    0000020 a9b5 14ba 28aa 2da6 27fd e4ad 1d45 bf6d
    0000030 8b5c 01aa 2b07 8edb 3940 de1b 70da 4b95
    0000040 008f 3ff3 1489 aebd 4b13 338d 629a c8b1
    0000050 3279 fa15 dff7 5a15 b7f7 a31d 55aa c7db
    0000060 26e0 819f ce61 623c 2d88 0023 0000
bcrypt.txt.bfe.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  bcrypt.txt.bfe.gz 
Filesize  148 Bytes 
Downloaded  286 Time(s) 
bcrypt.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.17 KB
 Viewed   2607 Time(s)

bcrypt.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 15:59    Post subject:
Subject description: Power management
 

I actually am new to this thread of Fluppy so if this has been noted before I did not know.
But I just did my first boot of Fluppy on a Compaq Presario PC with 3 gig ram, AMD Athalon X2 4800 Dual-Core Processor, and Nvidia GeForce 6150 SE Graphics.
My eth0 was automatically set up and using xorg for my video card worked too.
But the thing that amazed me was that when I ran Hardinfo and selected sensors, it showed my PC temperatures as running almost 10c cooler than with other Puppy versions.

This might be off thread, but with that kind of difference, I think that feature should be part of Puppy 6, currently under development.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 16:55    Post subject:  

Try as I might, I cannot get printing to work with CUPS and my HP 2600n printer in Fluppy 006. I could get it to work in Fluppy 005, and it works in Puppy 5.1.1, by installing several pets, including foo2zjs-hp-cp1215-i486.pet, foo2xxx_r220909-0.0-i486.pet, and foomatic from the PPM in Fluppy. The foomatic drivers are the only ones that work with the 2600, because the others require an unobtainable proprietary plugin from HP. I've tried the various patches in this thread to CUPS, but nothing works. I REALLYwant Fluppy to work, because it has a later kernel than either 005 or Puppy 5.1.1, and it allows the lid switch and the sleep function keys to work on my netbook, which the earlier kernels don't. Fluppy 005 and 006 both share the same CUPS version, and Puppy 5.1.1 uses a later one, so I know it is something in 006 that doesn't allow it to work.

I always get the warning that the foomatic driver failed. I tried finding the print logs, butI can't find them.

Any ideas?

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9263
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 17:40    Post subject:  

@jonlowe:

First, you will need a clean install to fix this up.

1. Install the cups-fluppy-patch as described here. Don't forget the two commands. Do NOT reinstall CUPS!

2. Install the foomatic-filters-4.0.4-i486.pet from here.. This is another key part of the CUPS printing chain that is missing.

3. Install the foo2xxx_r220909-0.0.pet from here.. This is the most up-to-date package for the foo2xxx drivers. Get Item #13.

Don't confuse the "foo" in #2 with the "foo" in #3. They are different things.

I did a simulated install of your printer using the above steps and it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 19:48    Post subject:  

Ok, got it. I'm away from that computer at the moment, but it looks like the filter package is later than the one in PPM. Everything seems to install ok, and I can set the printer properties, but it always gives me the foomatic error. I will give it a try later and report back.

Do you know what changed in CUPS between Fluppy 005 and 006?

Thanks for your help!

Jon

rcrsn51 wrote:
@jonlowe:

First, you will need a clean install to fix this up.

1. Install the cups-fluppy-patch as described here. Don't forget the two commands. Do NOT reinstall CUPS!

2. Install the foomatic-filters-4.0.4-i486.pet from here.. This is another key part of the CUPS printing chain that is missing.

3. Install the foo2xxx_r220909-0.0.pet from here.. This is the most up-to-date package for the foo2xxx drivers. Get Item #13.

Don't confuse the "foo" in #2 with the "foo" in #3. They are different things.

I did a simulated install of your printer using the above steps and it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 20:46    Post subject:  

rcrsn51,
Thank you, that worked! I note that the filter package is newer than the one in PPM, which must be a key to this working. You are a master of CUPS, which I wish wasn't necessary for Linux. A print system that "just worked" would be a godsend for Linux. The 2600n has always been somewhat problematic, but I will say that the Ubuntu 10.10 handled it well, although I don't like much else of it. Too big and fat.

Jerimiah,
Can you put those pets in the PPM for Fluppy 007? They would greatly simplify things.

Thanks again,

Jon

rcrsn51 wrote:
@jonlowe:

First, you will need a clean install to fix this up.

(snip)

I did a simulated install of your printer using the above steps and it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 38 of 133 [1983 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1196s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0351s) ][ GZIP on ]