Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 18:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lucid Puppy Quickset edition (LupQ-511)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 08:21    Post_subject:  

shinobar, love your version. I use it daily. I feel no need to use any other Puppy or other Linux distro.

But an annoying thing is that you??? or is it Lucid deciding and you accepted. Have not tested but two of the Icons to the most left lower corner. SDA1 and SDA2. are locked there each time I boot while all the others accept the place one gave them before shutting down.

How does one unlock these icons? All else seems to just work.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 08:23    Post_subject: Grub4Dos and Grub legacy
Sub_title: full install
 

maxpro4u wrote:
. I see you included grub4dos instead of just grub. Why is that?

Good question, maxpro4u.
Actually, LupQ has both Grub4Dos and Grub legacy, but only the Grub4Dos is on the menu.

Grub4Dos can do all the grub legacy can. It can read even the menu.lst written for grub legacy.
Grub4Dos does not require Linux partitions. You can boot up PC's only with NTFS/FAT, most common Windows pre-installed PC's, without rebuilding the partitions.
The only one problem of the Grub4Dos is the case the first partition is EXT4 file system. That is why LupQ has the both Grub4Dos and Grub legacy.
Users need not aware with. The grub4dosconfig automatically arrange the boot sequence using grub legacy chaining to the Grub4Dos.

As the result, LupQ can boot up any combination of the partitions, NTFS/FAT/EXT2/EXT3/EXT4/RiserFS.

If you are used to the grub legacy, it is easy to switch to the Grub4Dos. The syntax of the menu.lst is upper compatible with the legacy.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 08:29    Post_subject: icon position  

nooby wrote:
Have not tested but two of the Icons to the most left lower corner. SDA1 and SDA2. are locked there each time I boot while all the others accept the place one gave them before shutting down.
How does one unlock these icons?

You can configure the ROX-Filer for icon position.
Right-click the 'file' icon and 'ROX-Filer' > 'Options..'.

EDIT: Sorry, it is not.
You may need to modify some scripts... Confused

EDIT2:
Edit the file '/etc/eventmanager' with text editor.
Maybe at the last lines:
Code:
#left, right, bottom, or top of screen...
ICON_PLACE_ORIENTATION='bottom'

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 08:52    Post_subject:  

Sorry, gave my best to follow this instruction.

See no Prefences are you talking about Options?

But that did not help me either, numerous options have no idea which one lock the icons.

Edit 2.

wow that look promising indeed.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 08:58    Post_subject: ICON_PLACE_ORIENTATION  

Hi, nooby!

EDIT2:
Edit the file '/etc/eventmanager' with text editor.
Maybe at the last lines:
Code:
Code:
#left, right, bottom, or top of screen...
ICON_PLACE_ORIENTATION='bottom'

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 09:32    Post_subject:  

Close but no cigar.

I have edit and edit that one.

If I put a # in front of that line then it accept to stay about 7 oclock.

Which is some inch higher up but it still locks to that position instead of to be stay where one place it like the others do so has to be some other script that take care about it.

Maybe we have to just let it have it's will? Just annoying it force me to accept something that I had hoped would be under user choice where to have them.

I tested to write Left but then it went to Top instead. Unpredictable behavior.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 19:46    Post_subject: Drive icon position  

For information:
They are determined by the function free_coord() at line 209-298 of /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 22:59    Post_subject:  

Shinobar,

so if I get it they are defined as variable within a function?

One need to recompile to get at them?

We call it a day it is not important just an annoyance to take away flexibility that I as a Noob expect of an OS.

Much appreciated you cared this way. I fail to get why me should use any other Puppy.

Now I have to over come my laziness and make DVD and offer them to neighbors.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
adXok

Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 02:52    Post_subject:  

Unfortunately I could make it even run. Gives me kernel stop message at load procedure. Sad

PC system: Pentium IV 2.4GHz, 1,3GB RAM 333MHz, LG DVD-DL device, Gigabyte motherboard (old), nVidia 6200A 512MB shader 3.0.

Other puppies loading fine from the same RW-CD. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 04:25    Post_subject: Re: kernel stop  

adXok wrote:
Gives me kernel stop message at load procedure. Sad

Do you remember what it says?
Check the md5sum of .iso file.
Try 'safe mode' from boot menu.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2507
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 04:57    Post_subject:
Sub_title: midori again
 

hello shinobar,
sorry, it is midori again:
klicking on menu help launched midori file:///usr/share/doc/index.html
There klicking the 2nd select (4dtris) lets midori freeze.
Therefore I have installed good old seamonkey, it does not freeze!
Then I have changed default browser to seamonkey.
As menu help was continuing to launch midori, I have revised puppyhelp and made 2 changes. (see Posted: Yesterday, at 21:46 Post subject:
Subject description: addition 2 to langpack-de
).

Now klicking menu help launches my default browser (seamonkey) file:///usr/share/doc/help/de/index.html

But anyhow, we will continue to make it better Very Happy

edit
please change last lines of my /usr/sbin/puppyhelp posted in translate lupq from
Code:
#
[ "$F" != "" ] || F="/usr/share/doc/index.html"
exec $BROWSER "file://$F"
to
Code:
#[ "$F" != "" ] || F="/usr/share/doc/index.html"
[ ! -f "$F" ] && F="/usr/share/doc/index.html"
exec $BROWSER "file://$F" &

was my mistake

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 06:00    Post_subject:  

deleted by Nooby
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
adXok

Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sun 03 Oct 2010, 15:46    Post_subject:  

Well, I tested it and is very, very good puppy distro.
One thing I would like is XFCE desktop environment. I used to use NOP distro 4.3.1 and find it very useful. Not a big deal but anyway.

One question though!

I saw that my Audio Mixer ALSA is full with channels. Is that your work or the new Puppy Lucid is like that. I seem to make use of it when using my emu 10k2 Creative sound card (like an audio routing driver).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 03 Oct 2010, 21:23    Post_subject: Audio Mixer  

Thanks, adXok.

adXok wrote:
One question though!

I saw that my Audio Mixer ALSA is full with channels. Is that your work or the new Puppy Lucid is like that. I seem to make use of it when using my emu 10k2 Creative sound card (like an audio routing driver).

I am not sure i am following you.
It highly depends on the audio driver of the kernel.
LupQ has Retrovel as the audio mixer, can start from the menu. But aslo you can run alsamixer from the virtual terminal. Any difference between the two?

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4296
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 04 Oct 2010, 17:06    Post_subject: http://bkhome.org/blog/  

@shinobar
Did you see this note from Barry about Jemimah's work.
http://bkhome.org/blog/

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0839s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]