Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 11:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Puppy 4.1.2: How can I add a network printer? [SOLVED]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 06:23    Post subject:  Puppy 4.1.2: How can I add a network printer? [SOLVED]  

Hello,

My computer is connected to a LAN network with a network cable, Internet works with this network, and there is also a printer in the network. When running WinXP, I can print.
Installing the printer, I found that Puppy 4.1.2 has the driver (Canon PIXMA Ip4000) but CUPS 1.1.23 asks for "device", offering me this choice:
Code:
AppSocket/HP JetDirect
Backend error handler
Internet printing protocol(http or ipp)
LPD/LPR host or printer
Parallel Port #1
pdf writer(unknown)
SCSI printer
serial port #1..#4
USB printer #1..#16

I have no idea what to choose for a network printer! Moreover, CUPS also asks me for "device URI", giving examples such as
Code:
file:/path/to/filename.prn
http://hostname:631/ipp/
http://hostname:631/ipp/port1
ipp://hostname/ipp/
ipp://hostname/ipp/port1
lpd://hostname/queue
socket://hostname
socket://hostname:9100

how can I find out what to specify here? I hardly know anything about networks, and the person who does knows nothing about linux. In WinXP, I just installed the driver and it worked, but still I like Puppy Linux much more Smile

Thank you.

_________________
Lupu 5.0.0 frugal with lupusave.2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM

Last edited by hanzf on Sat 02 Oct 2010, 11:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6427
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 07:27    Post subject:  

Sounds like 4.1.2 still had the bug that meant you needed to create a link to get the samba backend to show up in the cups configuration http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=265984#265984
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9042
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 09:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
and there is also a printer in the network.

How is this printer connected to the network? Is it hooked up to another PC through a USB cable? Or is it connected to a router or some kind of print server box?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 12:34    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
How is this printer connected to the network? Is it hooked up to another PC through a USB cable? Or is it connected to a router or some kind of print server box?

It is connected to the router with a network cable just like the computers.

_________________
Lupu 5.0.0 frugal with lupusave.2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9042
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 12:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
It is connected to the router with a network cable just like the computers.

Are you sure that this is a PIXMA IP4000? I looked up this model and it does not have an Ethernet port. By any chance are you using a USB printer port on the router?

In any case, you will probably need to use the AppSocket/HP JetDirect device. However, you will also need to determine the IP address of the printer.

You might want to try a more recent Puppy that has a newer version of CUPS. It may auto-detect your printer and save a lot of problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9042
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 14:50    Post subject:  

I'm guessing that what you actually have is a Pixma IP4000R which does have networking. I tracked down the setup manual, but I can't tell if this model uses a standard networking protocol like appsocket/jetdirect or a Canon proprietary protocol.

Like I said above, your best bet is to try a newer Puppy like Quirky or Lupu and see if CUPS can auto-detect the printer. If not, you may be out of luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 22:28    Post subject:  

To get the IP address of the router connected network printer, try accessing the router setup using your browser and look for "Connected devices"
That should give you the IP address of the printer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6427
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 30 Sep 2010, 03:35    Post subject:  

hanzf wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
How is this printer connected to the network? Is it hooked up to another PC through a USB cable? Or is it connected to a router or some kind of print server box?

It is connected to the router with a network cable just like the computers.

Sorry, I missed that Embarassed

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 30 Sep 2010, 05:44    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I'm guessing that what you actually have is a Pixma IP4000R which does have networking. I tracked down the setup manual, but I can't tell if this model uses a standard networking protocol like appsocket/jetdirect or a Canon proprietary protocol.

Like I said above, your best bet is to try a newer Puppy like Quirky or Lupu and see if CUPS can auto-detect the printer. If not, you may be out of luck.

Yes it is an iP4000R, sorry for confusing. I downloaded Quirky 1.3 and gave it a first try, and I found that CUPS in Quirky has a link to an explanation of how to deal with network printers. We will see.

_________________
Lupu 5.0.0 frugal with lupusave.2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9042
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Sep 2010, 08:08    Post subject:  

Open the CUPS web interface, click the Administration tab and select Find New Printers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 11:25    Post subject:  

I got it to work! Thank you rcrsn51 for the Quirky tip.
rcrsn51 wrote:
Open the CUPS web interface, click the Administration tab and select Find New Printers.
That didn't work but back in Puppy 4.1.2, I went through this explanation that comes with quirky 1.3 (see attachment) and it works!

This is what I did:
(Fortunately, I also have WinXP on by box which allowed me to find out the MAC address and IP address of the printer.)

Unfortunately, Puppy 4.1.2 has neither dhcpd nor bootpd. /etc/dhcpd.conf didn't exist.

I created /etc/dhcpd.conf with the following content:
Code:

host iP4000R {
  hardware ethernet 00-00-85-3C-32-B3;
  fixed-address 192.168.178.35;
}


and I added this to /etc/hosts:

Code:

#für Drucker:
192.168.178.35 iP4000R


then I ran
Code:
ping 192.168.178.35
and it said:
Code:
#PING 192.168.178.35 (192.168.178.35): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.178.35: seq=0 ttl=64 time=5.949 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.178.35: seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.174 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.178.35: seq=2 ttl=64 time=1.172 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.178.35: seq=3 ttl=64 time=1.128 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.178.35: seq=4 ttl=64 time=1.119 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.178.35: seq=5 ttl=64 time=1.129 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.178.35: seq=6 ttl=64 time=1.207 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.178.35: seq=7 ttl=64 time=1.131 ms

--- 192.168.178.35 ping statistics ---
8 packets transmitted, 8 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 1.119/1.751/5.949 ms

(I terminated it with CTRL-C)

Then I ran the CUPS Printer Wizard to install a new printer:
name="iP4000R"
device="AppSocket/HPJetDirect"
device URI="socket://192.168.178.35"

Now I can print a test page, and Abiword also prints. Looks good!
network printer.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  network printer.tar.gz 
Filesize  13.53 KB 
Downloaded  393 Time(s) 

_________________
Lupu 5.0.0 frugal with lupusave.2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 11:33    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
To get the IP address of the router connected network printer, try accessing the router setup using your browser and look for "Connected devices"
That should give you the IP address of the printer.

Just for Interest, in case I may need it once, if it's not too hard to explain: How do I find the router setup?
(This is not a real problem for me at the moment so feel free to ignore it if you're hassled by typing)

_________________
Lupu 5.0.0 frugal with lupusave.2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 11:33    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
To get the IP address of the router connected network printer, try accessing the router setup using your browser and look for "Connected devices"
That should give you the IP address of the printer.

Just for Interest, in case I may need it once, if it's not too hard to explain: How do I find the router setup?
(This is not a real problem for me at the moment so feel free to ignore it if you're hassled by typing)

_________________
Lupu 5.0.0 frugal with lupusave.2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9042
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 12:59    Post subject:  

Congratulations! I looked through a bunch of documentation for your IP4000R and never saw a reference to it working with the AppSocket/JetDirect protocol.

Out of curiosity, do you actually need the host configuration setup that you did? Will the printer work without it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 13:24    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Out of curiosity, do you actually need the host configuration setup that you did? Will the printer work without it?
I just renamed /etc/dhcpd.conf to a crap name, and I deleted and re-added the printer and it still works. So obviously I don't really need that...
rcrsn51 wrote:
I looked through a bunch of documentation for your IP4000R and never saw a reference to it working with the AppSocket/JetDirect protocol.

Of course I didn't know the printer would work with the AppSocket/HPJetDirect protocol but it was the only possibility I could reasonably try at that point because all other protocols given in this Quirky-CUPS-network Manual require more information, like a "resource" being specified, or something else that I had no idea what it could be, so I decided to give it a try before hassling you good people asking what "resource" might be Smile
Thank you

_________________
Lupu 5.0.0 frugal with lupusave.2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0980s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]