Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 02:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to manually install Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
RoxFox64

Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 24 Sep 2010, 19:36    Post_subject:  How to manually install Puppy
Sub_title: For grub and syslinux
 

Okay, I'm not going to preface this too much. Just a few words about syslinux:
If you used the universal installer, and when you boot you go straight to the puppy screen(Bios shows, then straight to puppy(No Grub, lilo, ntldr)) you are using syslinux.

Step 1:

We are going to have the booting drive mounted and readable of course.
The first step is to just simply make a subdirectory to hold puppy in. For this example I've made the directory 'PuppyArcade' because I'm installing Puppy Arcade 9.



Step 2:

With the install folder made, the next course is to mount the ISO.
Not much behind it. We need the files from it.




Step 3:

Very simply copy over the files 'initrd.gz', 'vmlinuz', and the version specific sfs
You may have another file inside of here at times. it will begin wit a 'z' and will contain the version number as well. Copy this over too if it exists.



Now, thats the bulk of this. Simple, right?

The next step involves editing a menu.lst, or syslinux.cfg(Or extlinux.conf).
You'll just simply be adding in lines for a new menu entry of puppy.

Step 4:


For syslinux I'll be using this:
Code:

label arcade
kernel PuppyArcade/vmlinuz
append initrd=PuppyArcade/initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=PuppyArcade nosmp


For grub, this:
Code:

title Puppy Arcade 9
root (hd0,0)
kernel PuppyArcade/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=PuppyArcade nosmp
initrd PuppyArcade/initrd.gz


Reboot, and enjoy your new puplet.

~RoxFox64~
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 24 Sep 2010, 23:04    Post_subject:  

If your screen wasn't twice the width of my laptop, I might even look
at your post.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 05:36    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
If your screen wasn't twice the width of my laptop, I might even look
at your post.


Why cant you use the scroll bar like everyone else Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6439
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 05:45    Post_subject:  

Using the scroll bar isn't really practical.
The other reason it is bad practice to post massive screenshots is that a lot of Puppy users are on very slow internet connections.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RoxFox64

Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 12:52    Post_subject:  

Heh, sorry guys. I'll have to make better links when I have time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6439
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 21:22    Post_subject:  

Thanks.
Also, in this case the screenshots aren't even very helpful.
They show what you see after doing something (like clicking on the ISO file to mount it), but you never explained what to do. How is someone supposed to know that they just need to click on the ISO to mount it? If you think the other actions are intuitive (creating a directory / copying files by drag-and-drop), do the screenshots actually add anything?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6439
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 21:25    Post_subject:  

It would be good to edit the title or at least the text of your post to clarify that it is about adding a new additional Puppy installation to a system that already boots with syslinux or grub. At the moment that isn't clear.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
niechen861102
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 27 Sep 2010, 02:14    Post_subject:  

The other reason it is bad practice to post massive screenshots is that a lot of Puppy users are on very slow internet connections.
Back to top
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0541s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]