Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 12:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Grub config for Puppy 5.1.0 Full Install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 21:54    Post_subject:  Grub config for Puppy 5.1.0 Full Install  

Is this correct for a full install of puppy 5.1.0?

Start GRUB global section
#timeout 30
color light-gray/blue black/light-gray
# End GRUB global section
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy Linux (on /dev/hda1)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 ro vga=normal
# Linux bootable partition config ends

I tried to do a full install from a frugal install. I deleted the savefile and booted into ram then formatted and installed puppy.After reboot there were no entries for puppy,only windows which was gone after formatting the drive ext2. I am going to try again but I need a copy of the grub config to check what is made by the install script to compare before I reboot.

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 22:00    Post_subject:  

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=normal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 22:26    Post_subject:  

thank you, everything else looks ok then?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 23:56    Post_subject:  

maxpro4u wrote:
thank you, everything else looks ok then?


I did a full install from a frugal install about 1 1/2 yr. ago.

Had the temporary frugal on sda4 (it was necessary to have a
save file to make it work).

Used the universal installer to put full on sda3.

When it asked where files are, chose directory in left column and
the sfs in the right.

Made a grub entry for full.

With full install, reboot , do not save.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1458891794&t=39513

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 08:04    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=normal


so this line
title Puppy Linux (on /dev/hda1)
is fine or should also be changed to
title Puppy Linux (on /dev/sda1)

thanks for your help

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 08:24    Post_subject:  

The title line is just a comment and doesn't execute anything.

You can say what you like there.

It would make sense to change hda1 to sda1 in the title line to avoid confusion when reading the script later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 10:26    Post_subject:  

ICPUG wrote:
The title line is just a comment and doesn't execute anything.

You can say what you like there.

It would make sense to change hda1 to sda1 in the title line to avoid confusion when reading the script later.


Thanks! Just trying to get everything ready before formatting again. With this old machine a full install may run a little faster.

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 13:10    Post_subject:  

grub.cfg is for grub2 :
Code:
menuentry 'Ubuntu, mit Linux 2.6.32-24-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   recordfail
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd2,3)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 04f6c08a-0af3-4d95-8b3e-c7eb057bbb98
   linux   /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-24-generic root=UUID=04f6c08a-0af3-4d95-8b3e-c7eb057bbb98 ro   quiet splash
   initrd   /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-24-generic
}

menuentry "quirky-130 (on /dev/sdc3)" {
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd2,3)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 04f6c08a-0af3-4d95-8b3e-c7eb057bbb98
   linux /quirky130/vmlinuz pdev=sdc3 psubdir=quirky130
   initrd /quirky130/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "dpup001 (on /dev/sdc3)" {
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd2,3)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 04f6c08a-0af3-4d95-8b3e-c7eb057bbb98
   linux /dpup001/vmlinuz pdev=sdc3 psubdir=dpup001
   initrd /dpup001/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "dpup003 (on /dev/sdc3)" {
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd2,3)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 04f6c08a-0af3-4d95-8b3e-c7eb057bbb98
   linux /dpup003/vmlinuz pdev=sdc3 psubdir=dpup003
   initrd /dpup003/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "dpup005 (on /dev/sdc3)" {
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd2,3)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 04f6c08a-0af3-4d95-8b3e-c7eb057bbb98
   linux /dpup005/vmlinuz pdev=sdc3 psubdir=dpup005
   initrd /dpup005/initrd.gz
}

the grub2 `grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg` uses the `linux-os-prober` command which seems not to recocnize 1. all mounted partitions (even its own) and 2. frugal installs only if there is no pup-save-.2/3fs-file already
to get the UUID : blkid command
grub2 does not uses 'kernel' but 'linux /boot/vmlinuz ...'
some entries work
Code:
menuentry "     Opera_2 JUMP  " {
   root (hd2,7)
   linux /JUMP-8/vmlinuz pdev=sdc8 psubdir=JUMP-8 debug
   initrd /JUMP-8/initrd.gz
}


So the solution is also with the puppy grub-0.97 to install to mbr and --root-directory=/dev/sd** from frugal mode.

Full installs do install a new grub without problems but frugal might confuse /mnt/home or /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2
I think I`ve tried to install grub-0.97 from frugal mode some time ago and had been successless I think

LiveCD pfix=ram would be the best solution I think

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 09:15    Post_subject:  

Thanks to all that replied. Seems that I made an error when I went about this. Wakepup was not working right because I failed to format my usb drive properly. It was formatted FAT and not FAT32. Once I changed it to 32 everything went well and I was able to boot from my usb drive and then do a full install. There was still an entry for windows in grub but I deleted it and all is well. I am a happy camper again.
_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0669s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]