Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 02:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
rec. sound from comp. works in XP not in puppy [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 128
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 07:35    Post subject:  rec. sound from comp. works in XP not in puppy [SOLVED]  

Hello,
I have both Win XP and Puppy 4.1.2 on my computer. In Win XP, I use Audacity 1.2.6 to record the sound that the computer is playing. I can choose "Stereomix" (german software version) from the audacity input selector. The same with Windows Audio Recorder.
In puppy, however, this is not possible. Neither Audacity 1.3.7 (Unicode) nor mhWaveEdit allow me to record the computer sound output. Is there something basically different with Linux sound handling that makes this impossible, can that be fixed or worked around, or is it because of the recording software versions I use?

Thank You

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM

Last edited by hanzf on Fri 22 Oct 2010, 09:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 08:05    Post subject:  

Quote:
can that be fixed or worked around


The early versions of Puppy did record.
out of the box.

You can record in some Puppys - for example Teenpup worked for me.
I had to try many to find that and your setup may be different . . .

It seems to be the drivers.

Audacity worked very well around about the 3 series
. . . and then we upgrade and the testing is lost . . .

Probably ALSA is not perfect Crying or Very sad

Recording does work in other Linux
but is not consistent.

I have two sound cards
and have to resort to recording onto an SD card
with my video camera and uploading that into mhwavedit.

I also find that USB mics are better.
Many people do and are able to record.

You might find Puppy Studio which uses different drivers
is more effective:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=57447

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 08:40    Post subject:  

I also want to be able to do what hanzf ask for.

I could do it on my HP/Compaq in Vista using Audacity and Lame???? something combined. There was a description on how to set them up together and suddenly it worked for me too more out of luck than me really getting or remembering how to.

But I don't want to use Ms at all. So would be cool to do the same .

I used it on Spotify so the sound from the soundcard got tapped by the internal connection not any need to use microphone plug or anything.

Hope somebody knows how to set up Audacity in Puppy to do the same.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 10:16    Post subject:  

Had no luck trying to record desktop sounds either - looked in 'alsamixer' the capture volume was set at zero, set full blast and it still doesn't work for me. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 07:42    Post subject:  

Gently bumping this so the savvy developer see it and get motivated to share the good news on how one do it. Smile
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vinceRABBIT

Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 10:59    Post subject: recording sound in puppy
Subject description: sound
 

Hello People,

i was also trying to use Puppy to record any sound the laptop was making.

Puppy already contains a tool to do this in the multimedia menu. MwEDIT or something.

However, somebody told me that to record sound you must look at the alsa mixer and press "tab" to get you into the "recording" settings window. Then you select "mix" as the source of the sound and try some sliders there.

Ofcourse, i had never used alsa before so did not know about "tabbing" into it's recording window. Alsa does not mention this tab button anywhere on it's interface....so


hope this helps you

There are also "cutsom" tools to record sound. Tools that are very efficient. One such tool is "Precord".

Vince.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vinceRABBIT

Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 10:59    Post subject: recording sound in puppy
Subject description: sound
 

Hello People,

i was also trying to use Puppy to record any sound the laptop was making.

Puppy already contains a tool to do this in the multimedia menu. MwEDIT or something.

However, somebody told me that to record sound you must look at the alsa mixer and press "tab" to get you into the "recording" settings window. Then you select "mix" as the source of the sound and try some sliders there.

Ofcourse, i had never used alsa before so did not know about "tabbing" into it's recording window. Alsa does not mention this tab button anywhere on it's interface....so


hope this helps you

There are also "cutsom" tools to record sound. Tools that are very efficient. One such tool is "Precord".

Vince.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 16:30    Post subject:  

It can be done using the simple command line tool "Wavrec"; with
almost any pc and on some laptops.

It needs a cable from line or headphone out to line input or mic input.
It works on my Powerspec pc and Inspiron 4000 but not with the
Inspiron700m.
A little 2 jack headphone plug is necessary for splitting the signal
between headphone and mic or line so you can hear what you're doing.

With 5.1.1 I turn up retrovol sliders ;
Master
Pcm
Mic; for laptop mic input
Capture
Capture.so > mic for laptop mic input, line for pc line in

Play a stream to test;
In console type;

wavrec -s 44100 -S -t 9 test.wav

That should make a 9 second file in root or my documents;
drag to player

More instructions:

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/WavRec

http://www.linux.org/lessons/beginner/l18/lesson18b.html


Running a line level signal into a mic input is not recommended.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Last edited by rjbrewer on Wed 22 Sep 2010, 10:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 18:50    Post subject:  

I think that 4.3.0/1 "streamtuner" might record streams.

installing streamtuner from debian.org at dpup-005 and lupu throws error Failed to execute child process "xmms" (no such file or directory)

and after installing a dozen xmms2 and symlinking xmms to xmms2 it still shows a large list of radio streams but won`t even play them ....

and I think I loose the will to hack the dependencies further for the moment ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 20:06    Post subject:  

OK OK

""child process"" : created symlink ln -s /usr/bin/aqualung /usr/bin/xmms

downloaded "streamripper" from debian squeeze http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/streamripper

created symlink /usr/bin/rxvt /usr/binx-terminal-emulator and now I`ve got
/root/Gong 96,3 powered by www.nci.de/incomplete/ - EDWYN COLLINS+++a girl like you.mp3 /root/Gong 96,3 powered by www.nci.de/incomplete/ - HUEY LEWIS AND THE NEWS+++stuck with you.mp3 inside a folder /root/RADIOSTATION/incomplete/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 20:23    Post subject:  

See also :

http://lifehacker.com/263493/record-streaming-radio-with-streamripper-and-streamtuner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 15:55    Post subject:  

In my previous post about "wavrec" I said headphones and cable
into laptop mic input is needed .
Turns out that is not the case.

The old Inspiron with Maestro3 sound will record anything I can hear
just by typing (wavrec -s 44100 -S -t 9 test.wav) in console.

The "9" after the "-t" is the time in seconds you want it to record.
The Tom Waits concert I'm recording will need 8700 seconds.
Will probably be over 2gb wav file. (actually about 10mb per minute)

Retrovol in 5.1.1 is set;
Master
Pcm
Capture
Capture.So = mix

edit;

Vlc 0.8.6 lite will record some audio streams with my 4.1.2 install.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 128
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 24 Sep 2010, 16:16    Post subject: Re: recording sound in puppy
Subject description: sound
 

vinceRABBIT wrote:

However, somebody told me that to record sound you must look at the alsa mixer and press "tab" to get you into the "recording" settings window. Then you select "mix" as the source of the sound and try some sliders there.
On my computer, alsamixer has a slot named "mix" but there is no slider to move. (see alsamixer.png)

rjbrewer wrote:

The old Inspiron with Maestro3 sound will record anything I can hear
just by typing (wavrec -s 44100 -S -t 9 test.wav) in console.

My computer turns out to be unable to produce any sound when wavrec is running. When I start wavrec while sound is being played, it only says:
Code:
Device or resource busy:
Opening audio device /dev/dsp
and terminates.

rjbrewer wrote:
Retrovol in 5.1.1 is set;
Master
Pcm
Capture
Capture.So = mix
Where can I find these settings?
alsamixer.png
 Description   
 Filesize   9.7 KB
 Viewed   1090 Time(s)

alsamixer.png


_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 24 Sep 2010, 19:23    Post subject: Re: recording sound in puppy
Subject description: sound
 

hanzf wrote:

My computer turns out to be unable to produce any sound when wavrec is running. When I start wavrec while sound is being played, it only says:
Code:
Device or resource busy:
Opening audio device /dev/dsp
and terminates.

rjbrewer wrote:
Retrovol in 5.1.1 is set;
Master
Pcm
Capture
Capture.So = mix
Where can I find these settings?


Retrovol only exists in the latest Puppies; 4.12 has a simpler volume
control.

My old Inspiron will do wavrec, but the700m will not.
I get the same "resource busy" "/dev/dsp" as you do.
I haven't found a solution to the problem; but I think it has
something to do with the intel audio and modem sharing the
the same onboard device.(snd-intel8x0, snd-intel8x0m)
"The winmodem curse?"

The Maestro sound card in the old Inspiron does not share.

I was able to use Vlc with 4.12 to record shoutcast streams;
and it should work for others also, once I learn how to use it.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 24 Sep 2010, 21:14    Post subject:  

Quote:
Retrovol only exists in the latest Puppies;

But you can of course install it (from the forum) in earlier puppies.

Quote:
My computer turns out to be unable to produce any sound when wavrec is running. When I start wavrec while sound is being played, it only says:
Code:
Device or resource busy:
Opening audio device /dev/dsp

I think maybe that means wavrec is using oss (well actually alsa's "oss emulation", since puppy doesn't include the real oss). See if you can figure out how to make it use alsa.
But you shouldn't need to use wavrec anyway. You should be able to record with any of the gui recording applications - you just need to make sure "mix" is selected as the input - in alsamixer or retrovol or wherever. Some of the recording applications have the setting themselves too.

Quote:
On my computer, alsamixer has a slot named "mix" but there is no slider to move. (see alsamixer.png)

Yes, there is usually (always?) no slider for mix - you control the volume with the main "Capture" slider (or maybe the "Master" output slider, and "PCM" output slider or whatever). But you need to select "Mix" as the output device (in alsamixer you select it with the space key).

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1005s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]