Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 07:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LupQ-510s FINALIZED - Lucid Puppy Quickset edition
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 15 [221 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
charlie6

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 937
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 04:17    Post subject:
Subject description: alsamixer to be launched from console only
 

Hi shinobar,
I first have thought alsamixer not present in lupq-50X as its entry is not present in Menu/Multimedia/Multimedia/xxx (as it is the case on quite all puppies).
Nevertheless it is present in lupq and can be started doing in a console:
Code:
#alsamixer

Would it be interesting to add the entry "Alsamixer" in the menu in next lupq version, wouldn'it?
Merci d'avance, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 04:25    Post subject: alsamixer in menu
Subject description: alsamixer to be launched from console only
 

charlie6 wrote:
It can be starting doing in a console:
Code:
#alsamixer

C'est ça.

Don't the Retrovol do all of what alsamixer does?
…Oops. Also Retrovol is not in the menu Laughing

You can right-click the speaker icon on the tray(bottom of the desktop) and select 'Full Window'.
But i think we need on the main menu too.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2477
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 09:01    Post subject: lupq509
Subject description: midori
 

Bonjour shinobar,

having tried to post from lupq509 pfix=ram,
set locale, installed langpack Very Happy
but posting let midori freeze (98% CPU)
I know, midori bug is another topic, but let it be the default browser?
No Rolling Eyes

Other thought:
Is it possible to install available langpack automagically after countrywizard?
Would be really another great thing made by shinobar Idea

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 09:19    Post subject: Re: lupq509
Subject description: midori
 

Hi, L18L.

Midori is yes problematic.
L18L wrote:
Is it possible to install available langpack automagically after countrywizard?

Nice idea. Technically, yes.
The .iso file may be 200MB or so.
I like to try such a version after this release finalized.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yordanj94

Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 77
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 09:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
You can test with LupQ-509 + rc_sysinit-20100916 + rp-ppoe-fix-20100919-1.pet.


Hi Shinobar.
Sorry i was late with my answer but i needed some time .
It worked Shinobar !!! It worked.
All the ways .
I tested first without reboot then rebooted and still could get connected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 10:36    Post subject: rp-pppoe  

yordanj94 wrote:
It worked Shinobar !!! It worked.
All the ways .
I tested first without reboot then rebooted and still could get connected.

WOW!!! Very Happy
OK, the final release will contain this fix.
Thanks so much, yordan.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
charlie6

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 937
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 02:59    Post subject: Re: lupq509
Subject description: midori
 

Ohayo gozaimasu shinobar !
Guten Morgen L18L !
L18L wrote:
...
but posting let midori freeze (98% CPU)
I know, midori bug is another topic, but let it be the default browser?...

I got te same problem with midori. (see post here)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58654&start=120
I do not use it anymore for posting. Midori is used just for html viewing or Cups configuration.
There are other tiny browsers like Dillo or PuppyBrowser (do not know much about them).
(have used Dillo in another puppy: poor graphic rendering but worked OK excepted when downloading: problem filling the save dialog box and could not get any download)

Ja mata.
Bis später.
Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2477
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 04:39    Post subject:
Subject description: midori
 

Ohayo gozaimasu shinobar (japanese in latin legable in common Question )
Guten Morgen charlie6 (googled or wellknown language Question )
charlie6 wrote
Quote:
I do not use it anymore for posting.

Nor do I.
(Now posting in good old seamonkey, puppy 431)
But I think, Quickset Edition must be able able to be used by newbees
without the need to select another browser.
I have used lupq509 in lang=de_DE.UTF-8, so it seems to me that the problem of the squeezed build of midori is not a special locale but utf8 in general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 05:39    Post subject: midori as defaultbrowser  

Ciao charlie and L18L.
L18L wrote:
But I think, Quickset Edition must be able able to be used by newbees
without the need to select another browser.

One thought, how about to remove midori frome the menu(/usr/share/applications/midori.desktop).
Then midori does not appear in the 'Choose Default Browser', though may need additional modification of the Quickpet.
I think it makes sense regarding 'a choice in browsers' is a feature of Lucid Puppy.

mmm... Crying or Very sad

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 06:59    Post subject:  

shinobar ,

I did start a new thread to not clutter up this one but failed to get help.

Hope it is okay if I ask here?

I've fail to set it up so it remember how to keep the connection at start up.

When I use Quirky it uses SNS and it always start up connecting to internet and remember this to next boot up.

In LupQ I have to go to set up and network and find no SNS there.

It has lost memory of the set up next time me boot in so have to start all over again. Very annoying and time consuming just for to check a mail.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 08:50    Post subject: Network setup lost  

nooby wrote:
It has lost memory of the set up next time me boot in so have to start all over again.

What are you using for the connection? Wired or Wireless?
The settings of the Network Wizard shall be saved under /etc/network-wizard. They may be 'xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx.conf' at the subsidiary directories, network, wireless, interfaces, profiles, and so on.
Are they there?
If you loose the connection, what happens when right-click the 'connect' icon on the desktop and select 'Autoconnect'?

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 09:39    Post subject: Re: Network setup lost  

Hmm... Seeing your another post, no problem with LupQ-506 or 508 but update to 509 has the trouble, right, nooby?
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60046

Were you using SNS wtih LupQ-506?
SNS is removed from 507 release.
Remove the old settings of SNS from /etc/simple_network_setup.
And run the Network Wizard and save the settings.

EDIT:
Ensure /usr/local/bin/defaultconnect does not direct sns.
Run the 'Internet Connection Wizard' from the main menu, check the 'Desktop/tray', choose 'Network Wizard' or 'Internet Connection Wizard'.
internet_connection_wizard.png
 Description   Tik on 'Network Wizard' or on 'Internet Connection Wizard' on the buttom frame.
 Filesize   8.53 KB
 Viewed   1075 Time(s)

internet_connection_wizard.png


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Mon 20 Sep 2010, 09:58; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 09:40    Post subject:  

Oh

Edit.

You are the Champion. this must be the reason

Quote:
Were you using SNS wtih LupQ-506?
SNS is removed from 507 release.
Remove the old settings of SNS from /etc/simple_network_setup.
And run the Network Wizard and save the settings.


Yes me had 506 and updated to 508 and then 509 and most likely did not remember about the connection thing. Using Quirky instead.

But now I want to use LupQ instead.

So I do as you suggest. I deleted the sns folder but

#!/bin/sh
exec sns

And deleted sns there in that defaultconnect.

But what should be there instead? Something pointing to autoconnect maybe?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 10:10    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
#!/bin/sh
exec sns

And deleted sns there in that defaultconnect.

But what should be there instead? Something pointing to autoconnect maybe?

See my above post, EDIT:...
Run the 'Internet Connection Wizard' from the main menu...

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 10:22    Post subject:  

Yes finally it did work. I rebooted and it still worked when I clicked on the email and it downloaed emails and clicking to this thread.

So a big Thank you very much for all this detailed help.

Hopefully others also can be helped if the find this thread.

What worry me now is that my ISP will throw me out each 30 minutes.

But most likely me can just autoconnect each time.

Why did SNS disappear then. It was my rescue last time me lost connection each 30 minutes. Very annoying to lost it when one look at a streaming TV or radio.
Hopefully it works though.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 15 [221 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0785s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]