Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 04:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Gatotray
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 14 Sep 2010, 22:12    Post_subject:  Gatotray
Sub_title: combined cpu/temp monitor for the systray
 

I don't know what puppy to compile for any more and stuff combined on Puppeee/Fluppy is no longer compatible with 4.3.1. But this is still worth knowing about so I'll post source code links.

Pros: small, multifunction applet, works in all WMs
cons: not transparent, no warning capability


http://gatopeichs.pbworks.com/f/gatotray-1.10.tgz

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 12:14    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the link jemimah,

Working fine in 214X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6448
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 17 Sep 2010, 21:19    Post_subject: Re: Gatotray
Sub_title: combined cpu/temp monitor for the systray
 

jemimah wrote:
no warning capability

Apart from this:
Quote:
Thermometer blinks on high temperature (>=85 C)


The log scale is rather weird Smile
Does anyone know what the "wa" is?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 17 Sep 2010, 21:48    Post_subject:  

Cool I didn't notice that. I wonder if it could be modified to auto-calibrate to the correct critical temperature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gatopeich

Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jan 2011, 20:28    Post_subject:    

So, are you using gatotray then?

I am the happy father of the creature but I get very little feedback about it. If you provide interesting feedback I would probably (depending on time availability) add some features, specially a settings dialog where to choose colors, ranges, and the program to start on-click.

gatopeich.-
http://gatopeichs.pbworks.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jan 2011, 06:47    Post_subject:  

So it has to be compiled first, at least for the latest version.
The bin available on the web site excutes in LightHouse 502G.
But:
The cpu freq isn't displayed
A click should bring TOP, but it doesn't.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jan 2011, 12:30    Post_subject:  

I would be very tempted replace Traytemp with Gatotray in my puplets if Gatotray had configurable warning threshold and action from right-click menu (and maybe configurable top command).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jan 2011, 13:02    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
So it has to be compiled first, at least for the latest version.
The bin available on the web site excutes in LightHouse 502G.
But:
The cpu freq isn't displayed
A click should bring TOP, but it doesn't.


Hi Béèm,

Please try this version that I modified for 2.14X, it is already included in Puppy 214X-TOP5 series. It´s a great applet.

It works with older kernels, htop is opened with a left click and it shows the freq information.

Greetings,
clarf
clarf_gatotray-1.10_patched_source.tar.gz
Description  Patched Sources with commented changes
gz

 Download 
Filename  clarf_gatotray-1.10_patched_source.tar.gz 
Filesize  14.07 KB 
Downloaded  498 Time(s) 
clarf-gatotray-binary.zip
Description  Compiled in 214X
zip

 Download 
Filename  clarf-gatotray-binary.zip 
Filesize  8.38 KB 
Downloaded  481 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gatopeich

Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 23:47    Post_subject: gatotray v2.0  

Hey I just finished adding a preferences dialog to gatotray, and the option to have the background transparent.

It involves quite big changes so I versioned it 2.0. I am keeping it as lightweight as ever though!

I am also thinking of allowing the user to customize top command, and the tooltip contents.

I am also thinking about setting a project page where I can coordinate patches, bugs, and suggestions, maybe in Google Code Hosting...
gatotray-2.0.tar.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  gatotray-2.0.tar.bz2 
Filesize  53.45 KB 
Downloaded  518 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 00:10    Post_subject:  

Looks great so far - especially with the transparent background. I like that it monitors both the cpu and the temperature with one applet.

Is there any way to set the warning threshold? It looks like it's still hard coded to 85 degrees but I guess this threshold should depend on the cpu architecture and clock speed. I think there's a way to get the safe temperature range from the kernel, but I don't remember where off the top of my head.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 11:50    Post_subject:  

I try it on lucid 5.20 right now.
Indeed the thermometer is always red Temperature varies between 58 and 60°C.
Freq is not displayed.
CPU usage is displayed.
A click should bring up HTOP, but that doesn't occur.
But nice little applet. Promising

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 04:48    Post_subject:  

If you add a commandline option for max CPU temp that may be good, but I can't seem to find anything in /proc for a max CPU temp. Any suggestions where to find?
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 12:03    Post_subject:  

I was thinking of something like this. You probably can't count on this being here but I think it is on most machines.

Code:
pwd
/proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ1
# cat trip_points
critical (S5):           110 C
passive:                 107 C: tc1=1 tc2=2 tsp=300 devices=CPU0 CPU1
active[0]:               82 C: devices=C3C1
active[1]:               74 C: devices=C3C2
active[2]:               66 C: devices=C3C3
active[3]:               50 C: devices=C3C4
active[4]:               30 C: devices=C3C5


Code:
ls /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/*/trip_points
/proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ1/trip_points
/proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ3/trip_points
/proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ4/trip_points
/proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ5/trip_points
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gatopeich

Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 19:03    Post_subject: New project page dedicated to gatotray  

Hello, in order to coordinate all this feedback I am getting for gatotray, I have started a project page at Google code hosting: http://code.google.com/p/gatotray/

Please go there and submit your feature requests under the "Issues" category (http://code.google.com/p/gatotray/issues). Thus I hope to keep good track, and I will work on them at the best pace my dayjob allows...

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6448
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 03:40    Post_subject: Re: New project page dedicated to gatotray  

gatopeich wrote:
Hello, in order to coordinate all this feedback I am getting for gatotray, I have started a project page at Google code hosting: http://code.google.com/p/gatotray/

Great!

disciple wrote:
Does anyone know what the "wa" is?

Maybe I missed this information somewhere, but can anyone tell me? Or is it not displayed on your computers?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0786s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]