Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 21:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppeee 4.3X
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 174 of 176 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 172, 173, 174, 175, 176 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 10 Sep 2010, 21:32    Post_subject:  

I'm about to change webhosts - I think that will solve most of the problem. Also I need to start using the ibiblio mirror - which does have auto mirroring.

So don't bother for now - I'll work on it this weekend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 11 Sep 2010, 19:32    Post_subject:  

Here is an updated trayclock with a "set the time" feature. Someone asked for this a long time ago and I finally got around to it. Very Happy
trayclock-.33.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  trayclock-.33.pet 
Filesize  53.69 KB 
Downloaded  656 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sandungas

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sun 12 Sep 2010, 04:21    Post_subject:  

sandungas wrote:
jemimah wrote:
There is a window of time between when the kernel does usb detection and when Udev starts that you can plug in a usb device and it won't show up. The solution is to just wait until the desktop has loaded. Are still you having the problem if you wait?.

Yes, tested with several pendrives, none of them is detected
One of the pendrives has a led, and i can see the blinking pattern that usually does when plugged (maybe this means something to you)

When i plug them, dont appear a new icon in the desktop, if i open pmount and i press "refresh" button the pendrive is not detected

I dont remember exactly what happenend, but the other day i saw an error in pmount when connecting or disconnecting a pendrive
Pmount window was blinking, something like closing and opening continuously
I dont remeber what i did to stop this, i thought that was a fail of pmount and i gave no importance
But it seems that after this my USBs are blind...

I found the problem lurking in my savefile, i had 3 whiteout files inside /dev folder
.wh.sdc
.wh.sdc1
.wh.sdc2

The only device that i connected with 2 partitions (fat & swap) was a 512mb pendrive USB v1.0
I did this 2 partitions time ago when trying hibernation to USB... but this time i did nothing strange with it, just plug it
I suspect that the files was generated because a disconnection (in fact... the connector of the pendrive seems to fail sometimes, and usually is not detected when plugged)

I hope this helps you to track this problem

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sandungas

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sun 12 Sep 2010, 04:54    Post_subject:  

jemimah wrote:
Here is an updated trayclock with a "set the time" feature. Someone asked for this a long time ago and I finally got around to it. Very Happy

I installed it yesterday (in a ramboot session), but nothing changed Embarassed
Its supossed to work with the 3 windows managers ?


Btw... talking about the clock... this remembers me that i have to purpose you to change some default settings for the next release
As always... are just suggestions

Quote:
IceWM clock 24 hours
IceWM config file --------> /root/.icewm/preferences
Code:
TimeFormat="%H:%M"

24 hours format clock is smaller in size, and i think that is more "standard"

Quote:
Menu items
IceWM menu template config file ------> /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.icewm_menu
Here you can remove the "help" icon (and even the "run" icon)

The idea is to make this menu smaller, although is not needed, but we have another help icon in the desktop

Quote:
ROX desktop
ROX-Filer ---> options ---> Pinboard

Foreground ffffff (white)
Text shadow 000000 (black) shadow type: thin
Font size: 13
Icon grid step: medium (16 pixels)


The combination of white over black in the fonts is a standard in other operative systems... is visible over dark & light backgrounds
Font size 13 i think is optimun for small screens... by default is 12... but 12 is a bit small... and 14 is too big

Default grid step (fine setting) is 2 pixels... and is not accurate at all, is very hard to align icons with the default setting
Coarse setting is 32 pixels (is too much, and is not needed)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jtouso

Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Barcelona, España

PostPosted: Sun 12 Sep 2010, 06:15    Post_subject:  

An easy way to compare and differenciate Puppeee 1.0, Puppeee 4.4 beta1 and fluppy 005?
How to install wbar (wich one pet archive does I need? in any of them?
Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 12 Sep 2010, 10:45    Post_subject:  

Puppeee 1.0 should be called Puppeee 4.3X. Most of the libs in 4.3X are the same as 4.3.1. This version is considered stable.

4.4 is my new development version. I'm updating the multimedia stuff and continuing moving forward, trying new things, etc.

Fluppy 005 is the same as Puppeee 4.4Beta1 except the kernel and Eee-control.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jtouso

Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Barcelona, España

PostPosted: Sun 12 Sep 2010, 16:11    Post_subject:  

Clear as clean water!
Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mvainio

Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 17:50    Post_subject:  

I just installed Puppeee 4.3X about two weeks ago, and am very happy with it. It makes the OS I love, and which was installed by Asus look like a doorstop.


But I'd like to point out a few things that, to me, seem lacking. Just observations. It won't be turning me off to my decision to install Puppeee, even if they aren't addressed. Smile


1) An equivalent of checkdisk automatically run when errors encountered during boot. Hard to do I am sure given the number of ways people get to their Puppeee, but would be nice.

Being an extreme nub to *nix, I am at a loss to resolve the simple errors. It looked like a few blocks were unallocated due to an improper shutdown/lidclosing, and it seems Puppeee is happy to operate in spite of them. fsck seems to find them, repair them, but each time i have rebooted there are still errors. (And yes, I probably have made a simple situation worse trying fscK, but Puppeee seems fine all the same)

how do I get to fsck and an unmounted Puppeee partition from within Puppeee? Or is this even the correct tool? f-ile s-ystem c-heck k-omrade I presumed Wink


2) I know the Puppeee help says that I can find other people's applications if they are not provided by the Puppeee site, but for me, discovering where to find them (no list?), or what other distro's versions are compatible with Puppeee makes that job seemingly impossible. Puppeee being derived of Puppy is easy. But the rest is harder for me.

ie: I am a diehard eMule user, and am well aware of aMule and how well its claimed to work with Linux distros. But with so many around, no idea what I should base my decision as to which to pick.

Put this in as a request for it to be added as part of Puppeee, or that some kind soul make it available. I couldn't find it.

Again, all this is small potatoes. I love the abilities it provides, and how much RAM real estate it makes available.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 20:03    Post_subject:  

Fsck is on the Advanced boot menu if you created a bootable card with my installer.

If you're booting with grub, you need to add an entry with pfix=fsck on the kernel line.

You find apps on this forum, under Additional Software. You need to use 4.3 packages and not ones for lupu.


This aMule pet might work.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=172759016&t=38404
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sandungas

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 20:59    Post_subject:  

@mvainio
There are .pets compatibles with puppy 4 in this folder
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/

Btw...
@jemimah
Take a look at this icon theme when you have a spare time, please
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/desk_icon_theme_original-1.pet
Is a shiny icon theme, and uses very intuitive images (mostly copied from KDE)

*The only icons i dont like in this theme are the ones refered to "mounted devices" that adds a ugly text over the icon
Yesterday i was thinking in replacing this text with a simple coloured point (like other themes does)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Trip[ABK]

Joined: 12 Jun 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 22:49    Post_subject:  

uhh i cant be bothered to read or update the os...works fine w/e version i got... i got it a few months ago... just wanted to say it runs good and stable, aside from an accidental reboot.. (was wipen dust off..hit power button)

[21:51] &NO_U[ABK] Record Uptime: 5 weeks 4 days 3 hours 55 minutes 7 seconds set on Fri Sep 10 03:07:55 2010

it was on for over a month.....and i run irc/ventrillo/msn on it constantly and occasional website viewing and gameplay...i keep a fan under it...but it runs cool..runs good..very smooth..no issues..all is good.. just wanted to post my pro uptime Razz woulda been like 2 1/2 months now damn reboot Sad



my only..suggestion which i believe is a puppy..or a linux based issue for that matter... is some kind of built in duel monitor support. i know it HAS it..but only a mirror desktop thing goin on ...monitor 1 and monitor 2 would be pwnage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 17 Sep 2010, 16:06    Post_subject:  

sandungas wrote:
\
@jemimah
Take a look at this icon theme when you have a spare time, please
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/desk_icon_theme_original-1.pet
Is a shiny icon theme, and uses very intuitive images (mostly copied from KDE)

*The only icons i dont like in this theme are the ones refered to "mounted devices" that adds a ugly text over the icon
Yesterday i was thinking in replacing this text with a simple coloured point (like other themes does)


Yeah, the zip and play icons don't really look right either IMO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 17 Sep 2010, 16:12    Post_subject:  

Trip[ABK] wrote:

my only..suggestion which i believe is a puppy..or a linux based issue for that matter... is some kind of built in duel monitor support. i know it HAS it..but only a mirror desktop thing goin on ...monitor 1 and monitor 2 would be pwnage.


First you need to reboot with the VGA plugged in - it doesn't work right if you plug it in after booting up.

Then you can use Zarfy to setup spanning. The LxRandr tool only supports mirroring, but Xorg supports spanning fine. If the virtual screen size is not big enough to fit both monitors side by side, there's a way to increase it by editing the xorg.conf. I don't remember what it is off the top of my head though.


I find the LCD on the Eee to be too small to be very useful as a second monitor though - I usually just close the lid when I connect to my external monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gonkbag

Joined: 07 Jan 2010
Posts: 22
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 14:58    Post_subject:  

Hello jemimah
I'd just like to send a big ass thanks to you for puppeee, I eventually got round to trying it on my son's eeepc 1001ha (I think it is) and it works out of the box Very Happy I had tried for ages to get the wireless working (I think it's ralink 3090 although I could be wrong) and now you've gone and made fluppy so I'm going to put that on a stick and give that one a whirl.
Once again THANK YOU
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 15:45    Post_subject:  

Jemimah, I must do something very wrong but I totally fail to get right time using Fluppy and sorry for asking in Puppy but as you say it is essentially same behavior when it comes to setting time as I get it.

Time does not fail in Lupu and other puppies. Most likely I fail to get what goes wrong.

Any suggestion or hint on how to set it right. I live in Stockholm Sweden so I do set it to GMT+1 but that makes it go one hour wrong. it is 8.46PM now local time but Fluppy says it is 9.46 instead.

And I corrected the time yesterday and it revered back to showing wrong time. Annoying. Smile

Do I have to go into Bios and set that one straight and then do what?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 174 of 176 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 172, 173, 174, 175, 176 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1439s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0522s) ][ GZIP on ]