Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 01:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
How I got a Panatech USB Modem to work wit Verizon Broadband
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
CaptBry


Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jan 2009, 05:13    Post subject:  How I got a Panatech USB Modem to work wit Verizon Broadband
Subject description: PUPDIAL just found it -EASY!!! GENIUS!!
 

Very Happy no big How to here. just a Search-able YES to those looking for a LINUX that finds and uses their Panatech Verizon USB modem easily and automatically.
It detected mine correctly on \dev\ttyACM0
queried it it and generated a working CHAT - smart Puppy!!
Username = yourphone#@vzw3g.com
password = youraccount password

click the 'Connect to Internet' button.
It did a chat with the modem answering in the dialog box - comforting to watch - Thanks to a Programmer who knows what its like to be unsure!
then said "... carrier detected, don't know what to do"

I tried the Browser in a different window and all went AWESOME!!!

I love my new PUPPY!

THANKS!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Doglover

Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jan 2009, 08:56    Post subject: Congrats
Subject description: very easy with Pupdial
 

I found that speeds were significantly faster and connection was more stable than on windows.

To have PupDial connect faster, check stupid mode.

user is your phone#
pass is vzw

If you want an icon on your desktop for one click dialup look at this

Have fun.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CaptBry


Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jan 2009, 21:23    Post subject:  

Thanks, I'm just a 'whelp' with Puppy and appreciate the Tip!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3432
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jan 2009, 05:29    Post subject:  

" I'm just a 'whelp' with Puppy "

And we appreciate your success and your report back.

Happy days and welcome to Puppy.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
electric smurf

Joined: 21 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 20:11    Post subject:  

I have installed Puppy in a friends Lap top with a pentech USB Modem that I'm trying to use with Verizon Broadband but it keeps telling me "No Carrier".

Puppy 4.2.1 has detected it on \dev\ttyACM0

I have PupDial checked for stupid mode

the number to dial out is #777

user is his aircard phone#
pass is vzw

But it still keeps saying "No Carrier". Confused

Any help would be most appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CaptBry


Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed 11 Aug 2010, 18:12    Post subject:  

*** NO CARRIER **

Stupid mode ON
Console->eject SR#
run modem scan ware, probably /ttyACM0


First make sure "Stupid Mode" is checked yes.
This skips running the Peers and Chat scripts that try to talk through the login in procedure. you just need to see something ... ppp on the text window and then launch you Browser etc.

Second, The USB modem turns on as a CD drive SR# which has it's PlugnPlay firmware for Winblows. I opened a Console and tried all kinds of ways to make it into a modem again.
Then I typed eject, just in desperation

EJECT worked. one the USB port was clear of the Panatech psuedo-CD, the usual modem scans worked fine.

Also, on a dual boot, run the modem in XP (example) and reboot so power never leaves the modem. This way the modem is left in its modem mode and doesnt reset to a CD drive.


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 12 Aug 2010, 12:39    Post subject:  

Does this require a special contract with Verizon for PC-Wireless access or does it "spoof" the Cellphone and connect as though it is the cellphone and with the Panatech functioning as a tether?
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CaptBry


Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 10:58    Post subject:  No spoofing; still paying full price for NOT unlimited acces  

edoc wrote:
Does this require a special contract with Verizon for PC-Wireless access or does it "spoof" the Cellphone and connect as though it is the cellphone and with the Panatech functioning as a tether?


No SPOOFING involved here.
Although the modem's EXE program is not run, the broadband ISP's computer is as aware of your connection as if it was running under winblows.

I still get my bill (91/mo for broadband and a phone) for Cricket's (i changed believing their adds) "Unlimited" broadband. It slows to email-only speeds after 5Gb. Then I set one computer to batch send/receive 24hrs- Cricket falls to an automatic disconnect mode then. eg It "connects" which their lawyers say meets the "unlimited connection" function, but disconnects in under 5 seconds; totally unusable for anything. Beware of the new definition of "Unlimited", I"m sure other corporations will adopt this definition. Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 13:19    Post subject:  

OK, thanks for the heads-up!

I guess I will look into a month-to-month contract with Verizon for a minimum data speed and throughput-- unless they offer a bill-for-use (on-demand only) plan, which would be far better if not more costly.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0626s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]