Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Why do Puppies switch bios clock ?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 07 Sep 2010, 17:03    Post_subject:  Why do Puppies switch bios clock ?  

Hello,

In all my Puppies the clock in bios is switched two hours back. In Puppy 511 I choose my time zone to GMT+1 for Berlin and local time. I don't want the system time changed.

Svgt
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
babaguy


Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 07:28    Post_subject: I noticed that too...!  

Hi svgt,

I just managed to get the CD of LuPu 5.01 burned and running on my Toshiba Equium laptop a few days back. I am using LuPu thru the CD, not as installed on the hard drive.

I too noticed that the clock had been re-set - weird !

But I simply went into the clock/locality settings on the "Setup" menu and re-set them - I may have been asked to re-start X (can't remember) - but once done manually, Puppy has remembered and this hasn't been a problem since...Hope this helps !

_________________
"Real happiness lies in making others happy." - Meher Baba
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 08:47    Post_subject:  

Set your timezone to Europe/Berlin not GMT.

Scroll up from the GMT's to find it in the setting window.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11130
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 15:44    Post_subject:  

Linux reads the RTC clock on boot. After boot it keeps time on its
own software clocks.

So, Linux doesn't modify the RTC clock, unless . . .

. . . a programmer(s) writes a routine to change it, and this is quite
common.

When I first read the complaint, I was about to reply, "Puppy
doesn't change the RTC."

Then I thought, well actually, the best I could assert is, "Puppy
didn't (in earlier versions) change the RTC."

Now based on two similar complaints, I wonder if maybe it does in
the newer releases.

~

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
babaguy


Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu 09 Sep 2010, 16:01    Post_subject: Still a problem...
Sub_title: - and a few others...
 

TOSHIBA EQUIUM
System *says* 2 x AMD Athlon (tm)64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55

(But I *KNOW* I had to have the motherboard replaced and I believe the new processor is an Intel Celeron - The Celeron processor shows up on some glimpses into the Hardware, but not others, which still read out that I have a dual core AMD Athlon TK-55)...

(LuPu 5.01 running on CD - this hardware readout is from the system Info displayed by LuPu...)

Hello Puppy Meisters !

The widget clock on the desktop is still not setting properly, and this is probably because whoever has programmed it has not allowed for BRITISH SUMMER TIME - (I'm based in Scotland...) When I set it to GMT it does not put the hour forward and there doesn't seem to be a setting for BST in the clock settings in the SETUP menu....I have had to re-set it each time I open up Lucid Puppy and the configuration hasn't been saving in the pup-save file...

If anyone has an idea how to make the clock (the desktop clock is the one I am most concerned about !) display the cortrect time on boot-up, I'd be most appreciative...Thanks!

_________________
"Real happiness lies in making others happy." - Meher Baba
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 09 Sep 2010, 19:11    Post_subject:  

Bruce B wrote:
Linux reads the RTC clock on boot. After boot it keeps time on its
own software clocks.

So, Linux doesn't modify the RTC clock, unless . . .

. . . a programmer(s) writes a routine to change it, and this is quite
common.

When I first read the complaint, I was about to reply, "Puppy
doesn't change the RTC."

Then I thought, well actually, the best I could assert is, "Puppy
didn't (in earlier versions) change the RTC."

Now based on two similar complaints, I wonder if maybe it does in
the newer releases.

~


In latest Woof, there is a script for changing RTC created by pizzasgood, but it has to be specifically chosen. So what is being reported is probably a Lucid Puppy thing -- I think that they have some different code in that area.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
postfs1


Joined: 27 Mar 2010
Posts: 831

PostPosted: Fri 10 Sep 2010, 09:35    Post_subject:  

BIOS can have a hidden options and one of them is a BIOS write protection. If a BIOS write protection was turned on, then the operating system will not find automatically a fresh devices which have been connected after completely finished operating system's booting process. In short, BIOS write protection defends BIOS clock.
_________________
  • I don't know why laboratories are named a hospitals.
  • The alive personage is like a tea bag with granules of unknown density inside, at that one the packet was made of organic material and was placed in the evaporated liquid or liquid.

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1485
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 10 Sep 2010, 15:49    Post_subject: Re: Still a problem...
Sub_title: - and a few others...
 

Hi

babaguy wrote:
The widget clock on the desktop is still not setting properly, and this is probably because whoever has programmed it has not allowed for BRITISH SUMMER TIME - (I'm based in Scotland...) When I set it to GMT it does not put the hour forward and there doesn't seem to be a setting for BST in the clock settings in the SETUP menu....I have had to re-set it each time I open up Lucid Puppy and the configuration hasn't been saving in the pup-save file...

If anyone has an idea how to make the clock (the desktop clock is the one I am most concerned about !) display the cortrect time on boot-up, I'd be most appreciative...Thanks!

This is how i set up Lupu,
and i do not have a problem with the clocks (even after several reboots.)

Note:
The two images Graphics-2.jpg & Graphics-3.jpg do not actually represent my monitor,
simply because the screenshots were taken in QEMU. Wink (actual testing was done in a proper frugal install)

Also, notice in the Clocks.jpg image,
that i edited the clock in the JWM taskbar to display seconds just for accurate comparison of the time.

Hope this helps
CatDude
.
Welcome-screen.jpg
 Description   Select the: Classic Configuration Experience
 Filesize   72.7 KB
 Viewed   605 Time(s)

Welcome-screen.jpg

Select-keyboard.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.43 KB
 Viewed   621 Time(s)

Select-keyboard.jpg

Select-timezone.jpg
 Description   Select: Europe/London
 Filesize   26.68 KB
 Viewed   586 Time(s)

Select-timezone.jpg

Set_hardware-clock.jpg
 Description   I left this on the default: Local
 Filesize   18.04 KB
 Viewed   594 Time(s)

Set_hardware-clock.jpg

Graphics-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.5 KB
 Viewed   615 Time(s)

Graphics-1.jpg

Graphics-2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40 KB
 Viewed   592 Time(s)

Graphics-2.jpg

Graphics-3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.2 KB
 Viewed   588 Time(s)

Graphics-3.jpg

Clocks.jpg
 Description   Both clock are exactly the same (time wise)
 Filesize   12.84 KB
 Viewed   568 Time(s)

Clocks.jpg


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 10 Sep 2010, 16:07    Post_subject:  

I set up Puppy the exact same way CatDude, and the clocks are fine too.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
babaguy


Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri 10 Sep 2010, 16:38    Post_subject: Now Boys, A Joke's a joke...!  

Cat Dude & Dave S. -

Thanks for your supportive observations. I set up my LuPu *EXACTLY* as you've screen-shot yours, Cat Dude - when I first set it up.

What I've found since is that every time I open it up, the clock on the desktop is NOT CORRECT - It's an hour off (same as svgt's 2 hours for Berlin, except it's only one hour!) I have re- set the location a few times (and anyway the location always reads correctly - it's already been set! Just the time is off...), but this does not change the desktop widget clock....

So I go to the DESKTOP - Set Clock option, and then manually set the hour to the correct local time - the widget clock then switches over without the screen gyrating too much...

What I found this afternoon when I had to do some work without Puppy, I switched the Ubuntu machine on and the clock on IT was now an hour AHEAD ! ! ! This would have been because in trying to set the clock in Puppy, I asked the computer's internal clock to match the widget clock - but the BIOS clock then thinks it needs to be an hour AHEAD of where it ought to be!

As Barry K. has observed, there *is* some coding involved that may be the culprit...Not sure what to do about it except to keep on re-setting the clock until British Summer Time ends in a few weeks' time!

Now on to my 'No Sound In LuPu 5.10' thread.........

_________________
"Real happiness lies in making others happy." - Meher Baba
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0763s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]