Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 14 Oct 2019, 10:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Additional Programs: How To Install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12719
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Sep 2010, 01:23    Post subject:  Additional Programs: How To Install
Subject description: The basics of installing additional programs
 

Basic info on installing additional programs.

First, understand that programs are compiled to run in a specific version of Linux, Puppy, or some other Linux OS.
They may or may not work in something they were not compiled specifically to run in.
Usually a specific Linux OS has a repository of programs compiled for it.
Some software is compiled to work in as many different Linux OS as possible or may be offered as several different packages, each one for a different Linux OS.

Most programs offer the source code, so you can compile it yourself for whatever Linux OS you use.
But that is really rarely needed. So forget that for now.

Puppy Package Manager (PPM), that is installed with the version of Puppy Linux you have, is the best place to get new programs. It will open, showing programs that are known to work on your version of Puppy. (software from repositories for that specific Puppy version)
It also tries to find all needed dependencies.
1. Run Puppy Package Manager.
2. Left mouse click on a listed program.
3. Follow install directions
4. Program installs.

PPM does need to be updated, at times, to know about stuff added to or updated in the repositories.
PPM>Configure>Update Database does this.


Note:
PPM does offer software from non Puppy repositories.
That software was not compiled specifically for Puppy Linux.
PPM tries to get everything needed, but sometimes the needed stuff is not there.
Why?
Because, the Linux OS, it was compiled for, already has the dependencies, so those are not in the repository.
However, usually you can get stuff working with a little digging.

Sorry, but PPM is limited when using non Puppy repositories.


Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) section of this forum is the next best place to look. However, you must keep in mind that you will find programs that where originally compiled under a specific version of Puppy and they may or may not work with your version.
General rule is to read the posting for the program pet and see if there is any info that would indicate what version of Puppy it will work under.
Most of the stuff will work on a large portion of Puppies, but not 100% guaranteed.
You may find more then one version of a program. Sometimes that makes a difference.
1. Find a program you want.
2. Open the program topic.
3. find the link for downloading the program pet.
4. Left mouse click on the link
5. Follow the directions to either install or save.
(If you save the pet file you can install by viewing the pet file in Rox-Filer (file manager) and left click on it)

Installing from a .deb package
New or newest versions of Puppy can install programs that are packaged as deb packages.
They install the same way a pet package does.
Download.
Left click on it to install.

The big problem with these Deb packages.
They may not have everything needed and the Puppy version may not have the needed dependency files/programs.
Some Deb packaged programs just work.
Others need a lot of searching for missing stuff.
you should be using deb packages from a version of linux with similar versions of the base system libraries (e.g. glibc and ncurses). Otherwise the package you install might require newer libraries than are on your system.
The Check Dependencies Installed Packages program can help to figure out what is needed.

Last edited by bigpup on Tue 18 Jun 2019, 17:40; edited 14 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12719
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2011, 17:29    Post subject:  

SFS packages are another option for adding programs
to Puppy.

Note:
Puppy needs to be a frugal install to take advantage of the benefits of SFS packages.

You can read all about them here:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/squashfs

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

Last edited by bigpup on Fri 18 Aug 2017, 11:49; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frenchiveruti

Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 01:50    Post subject: Great info!  

Hi, I just read the page on Package management. And it really solves a lot of questions that I had, specially with those pesky but now very useful sfs files!

But, also, this creates in me more questions, how do they work? How do I create my own!
Sadly, the page linked doesn't give sfs love.
(I can make my own rhymes too Laughing )
So, where do I read, to get SFS a go?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 3063
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 02:14    Post subject: Re: Great info!  

frenchiveruti wrote:
Hi, I just read the page on Package management. And it really solves a lot of questions that I had, specially with those pesky but now very useful sfs files!

But, also, this creates in me more questions, how do they work? How do I create my own!
Sadly, the page linked doesn't give sfs love.
(I can make my own rhymes too Laughing )
So, where do I read, to get SFS a go?


http://puppylinux.org/wikka/squashfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12719
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 02:28    Post subject:  

Thanks nic007,
I have been thinking about adding SFS package info to this topic.
I needed a little push. Laughing
See 2nd post.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 09:42    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Thanks nic007,
I have been thinking about adding SFS package info to this topic.
I needed a little push. Laughing
See 2nd post.



Hi Bigpup,

I don't know if this sounds reasonable or not, but maybe for sanity purposes there could be two threads? One thread focuses on whatever ways are available to people to install to "frugal" installs?

And then another thread that focuses on ways to install to to full installs (for any device, HDs, USB, Sdcard, etc, etc).

This way, having two threads, we could point people (i.e. newbies) to one thread or the other, because it seems invariably when helping people/newbies related to this question of additional software installs, the first question that always comes up before anything else is:

How did you install it originally?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Mon 08 Apr 2019, 23:12    Post subject:
Subject description: how to make SFS of a just-installed app
 

bigpup wrote:
SFS packages are another option for adding programs
to Puppy.

Note:
Puppy needs to be a frugal install to take advantage of the benefits of SFS packages.

You can read all about them here:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/squashfs

.

At the above link, it says:

Quote:
Copy or move all the directories and files that make up the software package into one single directory.


How do I find "all the directories and files that make up the software package"? I just successfully installed WxMaxima to Bpup64, and I want to make an SFS of it so it doesn't have to be in my save folder.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 943
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Tue 09 Apr 2019, 05:20    Post subject: no install needed
Subject description: not always
 

I just want to mention there are programs you can just LINK.
You unpack/put it anywhere and click or link the binary.
I do that with essentials like firefox and LibreOffice.
I do not know what other apps are suitable for that. Would be interesting to hear about that.

And there is also something like appimages. I have not done that, so don't know much about it.

I short: you do not always need to install.

ps: I found this to be a nice overall overview:
https://opensource.com/article/18/1/how-install-apps-linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Tue 09 Apr 2019, 08:18    Post subject: Re: no install needed
Subject description: not always
 

foxpup wrote:
I just want to mention there are programs you can just LINK.
You unpack/put it anywhere and click or link the binary.
I do that with essentials like firefox and LibreOffice.


Can you please provide more detail how you do that?

For example, when you say "when you unpack it"... what is "it"? and how do you get "it"?

Thank you

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3393
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Tue 09 Apr 2019, 09:27    Post subject:  

Hi Ether,

Some background about what is sometimes referred to as "Program Folders" or "External Programs". As far as I know, playdaz first explained them here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=200816#200816. I discussed how to create menu entries to them here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=507532#507532. If I recall correctly, someone --sorry his/her name escapes me-- posted and then guided me through creating either an 'Old' opera and 'old' firefox Program Folder.

Essentially the process --and answer to your question regarding "it" is that you download via your Web-browser an application published by its original creator (such seamonkey from seamonkey's website) packaged as a ".deb" or "tar.gz". [Other packaging formats, e.g. rpm, might work, but I haven't tried them]. What I do is Right-Click the deb/tar.gz and from the popup menu select UExtract. [Probably other extraction/decompression applications will also work]. Within the extraction folder created by UExtract will be another folder just having the name and version number of the application. Within that folder will be all the folders and files that make up the application. Move that folder to /mnt/home [or in my case into a folder named /mn/home/pup-apps so that (a) I can maintains some order on /mnt/home and (b) its easy to get to all "program folders" via a bookmark.

Another package which can be decompressed to create a "program folder" is an SFS.

Since the folder contains all the dependencies required by the application, merely Left-Clicking the application's executable will start the application.

The second post referred to above explains how to create a menu-listing. Essentially, that consists of three files: an icon, a bash-script calling the executable and a /usr/shere/applications/xxx.desktop referring to both those. It is sometime possible to just provide an icon and specify the exact and complete path to the executable as the desktop file's Exec= argument.

Sometimes --e.g. masterpdfeditor and foxitreader-- the deb/tar.gz package does not contain all required dependencies. The latter two expect qt-libraries to be part of your operating system. File-browsing to the executable, Right-clicking it, and Selecting ListDD (list dynamic dependencies) can identify those missing. Just find and install them into you system (not into the 'program folder).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 943
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Tue 09 Apr 2019, 10:34    Post subject: Re: no install needed
Subject description: not always
 

Ether wrote:
Can you please provide more detail how you do that?

For example, when you say "when you unpack it"... what is "it"? and how do you get "it"?

"It" is a tarball or even a package (often .deb).

For Firefox you can download "it" here: https://www.mozilla.org/nl/firefox/new/
or you can go here for an esr (I recommend this): https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/organizations/all/
These is a tarball.
For LibreOffice you have a lot of choice (fresh/still, languagepacks, offline help files).
Just make sure you do not take the tar.xz files but take "deb" targzipped files.
The tar.xz files are if you want to compile, the targzipped files contain lots of deb files which are compiled already.

Next you extract the tarball from firefox into /mnt/home/firefox.
I use Uextract for this. You may have to drag the firefox to have it exactly where you want it.
And for LO you first extract the targzipped files, gather them together and then unpack all the .deb files in a directory /mnt/home/LibreOffice.
You will need a little tool to do that. (I post it when I am home.)

You can go in the standalone firefox and look for the binary firefox and just click it: firefox will open.
You should now make a note of the full path of this executable
and use this for the exec line in a .desktop file you make in /usr/share/applications and/or for a script you can place in ~/my-applications/.

In the LibreOffice directory you can go and look for soffice, and click it.
You take note of the full path again. Make .desktop files and/or scripts.

You can also look for the .desktop file(s) inside the standalone (/mnt/home/firefox/usr/share/applications/ and /mnt/home/LibreOffice/usr/share/applications/ ) for an example.
Or just copy the desktop files to /usr/share/applications and adjust the path in the exec line.
Certainly for LibreOffice this is a good idea because there are different applications (write, calc, ...) that need to be called with their own option parameter to soffice.

Copy the icons for the .desktop files - you find them in the standalones - to /usr/share/pixmaps.

If you keep your mind to it, it is all straightforward.

Last edited by foxpup on Fri 12 Apr 2019, 04:41; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Tue 09 Apr 2019, 13:36    Post subject: Re: no install needed
Subject description: not always
 

.
Thank you for the detailed explanation.

foxpup wrote:

go here for an esr (I recommend this): https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/organizations/all/

Next you extract the tarball from firefox into /mnt/home/firefox.
I use Uextract for this.

You can go in the standalone firefox and look for the binary firefox and just click it: firefox will open.


OK, that worked !

Quote:
You should now make a note of the full path of this executable


There are 2 different paths:

/mnt/home/firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted/firefox/firefox

and

/initrd/mnt/dev_save/firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted/firefox/firefox

does it matter which one I use?

Quote:
and use this for the exec line in a .desktop file you make in /usr/share/applications and/or for a script you can place in ~/my-applications/.


I've never done that before.

Should I create a file named, for example, "firefox-esr.desktop" ? With a text editor? If I do that, I get an error message (see attachment).

What else has to be in there? For example, here are the contents of "hardinfo.desktop":

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=HardInfo hardware information
Exec=hardinfo
Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/puppy/card_pci.svg
Terminal=false
Type=Application
StartupNotify=true
Categories=System
GenericName=HardInfo

Quote:
You can also look for the .desktop file(s) inside the standalone (/mnt/home/firefox/usr/share/applications/


There is no usr folder in /mnt/home/firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted/firefox (see attached screenshot)

.
ff.no.usr.png
 Description   
 Filesize   72.43 KB
 Viewed   639 Time(s)

ff.no.usr.png

ff-desk.png
 Description   
 Filesize   27.82 KB
 Viewed   642 Time(s)

ff-desk.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3393
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Tue 09 Apr 2019, 21:42    Post subject:  

Hi Ether,

Not sure why you got the error message. Being both lazy and ignorant, here's how I "create" desktop files.

1. Look on the Start Menu to see what applications show up in the Category I want my application to appear in. firefox-esr being a Web-browser, look in the Internet Category.

2. File-browse to /usr/share/applications. Right-Click one of the desktop files which appeared in the Category in Step 1; from the pop-up menu, select Open in Geany (or Text-Editor).

3. Quickly --so as not to screw-up the menu-entry of the application you opened in the text editor-- Save AS with the name of your application.

4. Edit the following arguments:
Name= [use the name you want to appear on the menu]
Icon= [use the full path and name of the icon including its ending, e.g. png. Note, icons under /mnt don't always (ever?) appear; place your icon in /usr/share/pixmaps or /usr/share/icons.
5. Exec= [use the full path and exact (spelling & capitalisations matter) of the binary. Note, the two listings you gave point to the same executable. I don't know enough about initrd to explain why the reference is there. I always just use the one whose path starts with /mnt/.
6. (Less important) Clean up any references to the wrong application appearing on Comments= and Generic Name= arguments.

But, before you do anything else, your firefox folder is buried in the firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted folder for no good reason. I'd open a window to /mnt/home. Just Left-click the desktop drive icon. Then, opening another window, I'd file-browse to the firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted folder so that I could see the firefox folder, Left-Press, Hold, then drag the firefox folder into the window showing /mnt/home and select Move. Your path to the executable would then be /mnt/home/firefox/firefox. You can then delete the now empty firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted folder.

If you are also running another firefox you may want to change the names of folders and in the desktop arguments.

I use a lot of program folders. Moreover, my Puppies share a partition with (currently) Peppermint 9. So when I file-browse to /mnt/home dozens of folders appear. To maintain some order, I place all Program Folders in a folder named "Pup-Apps" which can quickly be reached via a Bookmark.

FYI, the alternate method of specifying the path to the executable is:

1. File-browse to /root/my-applications/bin.
2. Right-Click an empty space. From the popup menu Select New>Script and give it a name, such as firefox-esr.
3. Right-Click that Script and select Open in geany/Text editor. In the window which open you will already see written
#!/bin/sh

To call fredx181's firefox quantum 64-bit I started a new line and typed in the command

exec /mnt/home/Pup-Apps/firefox64/ff "$@"

Generalizing the above it reads: exec FULL-PATH-TO-EXECUTABLE "$@"

The Exec argument in the /usr/share/application/firefox_portable.desktop file is
Exec=/root/my-applications/bin/firefox64

The above technique makes creating desktop files easier as I can use one bash-script as a template for another and just change the name in the desktop file's Exec argument.

Last edited by mikeslr on Wed 10 Apr 2019, 10:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 943
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2019, 08:49    Post subject: program folder
Subject description: .desktop
 

Ether wrote:
Quote:
You should now make a note of the full path of this executable


There are 2 different paths:

/mnt/home/firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted/firefox/firefox

and

/initrd/mnt/dev_save/firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted/firefox/firefox

does it matter which one I use?
I does not matter, /initrd/mnt/dev_save/ or /mnt/home/, it is the same.
But you better drag the firefox directory to /mnt/home/, it is 'cleaner', do not leave it in /firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted.


Quote:
Quote:
and use this for the exec line in a .desktop file you make in /usr/share/applications and/or for a script you can place in ~/my-applications/.


I've never done that before.


Quote:
You can also look for the .desktop file(s) inside the standalone (/mnt/home/firefox/usr/share/applications/


There is no usr folder in /mnt/home/firefox-60.6.1esr.tar.bz2.extracted/firefox (see attached screenshot)

You are right, there is no firefox.desktop in the tarball of firefox. Sorry, I didn't check that. LibreOffice does have .desktop files in its tarball-debs.
Easiest is to copy a .desktop of another browser in your /usr/share/applications/ and adjust it in a texteditor, as mikeslr explains.

Note: creating a script in ~/my-applications/bin/ is for easy starting firefox from terminal or from another script.
If you put it there it is 'on the path', meaning you do not have to specify the whole path to the terminal or script. Puppy will look for it 'on the path'.
There are a few other directories 'on the path' for scripts and executables (/bin, /sbin, /usr/bin etc.) and for libraries (/lib, /usr/lib etc.).

Note added:
Instead of making a script in /root/my-applications/bin/ one can also put a link to the binary/executable in /root/my-applications/bin/ .
That is even easier! Just drag the binary/executable and choose Link (absolute).

Last edited by foxpup on Fri 12 Apr 2019, 04:43; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 943
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2019, 18:12    Post subject: tips  

If you want to unpack a lot of .deb files at once updebs is handy.
Put it in /root/my-applications/bin.
Put all the deb files together in 1 directory.
Open a terminal in this directory and type this command:
Code:
updebs aname
where aname is the name of a directory.
You will find the debs unpacked in the directory aname.

[ (Instead of making a script in /root/my-applications/bin/ one can also put a link to the binary/executable in /root/my-applications/bin/ .
That is even easier! Just drag the binary/executable and choose Link (absolute).
]

I have also included my .desktop file for firefox.
firefox.desktop.gz
Description  fake .gz
example of a desktop file for (firefox)
gz

 Download 
Filename  firefox.desktop.gz 
Filesize  204 Bytes 
Downloaded  91 Time(s) 
updebs.gz
Description  fake .gz
script to unpack all .deb files in the directory into a specified directory
gz

 Download 
Filename  updebs.gz 
Filesize  326 Bytes 
Downloaded  103 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1975s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0608s) ][ GZIP on ]