Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 12:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy 5.3.3 and Puppy School for Beginners
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 7 [92 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
je_dryst04

Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 22:57    Post subject:  

What can a puppy do? Is there a puppy for Windows XP?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1031
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 14:11    Post subject:
Subject description: Lucid Puppy (lupu) 5
 

Dear Developers, Moderators, Lobster and other supporters and all readers,

After upgrade from 4.0.6 then reinstall of 5.0.0 and just one week of testing I am truly delighted with Lucid Puppy.

My/our unstinting thanks and congratulations go to all contributors. My computing knowledge is poor, but I can appreciate stability, excellence and attention to minute detail.

Lobster, thank you for your introduction in this thread and for your screen background which I have used in the picture below:



I deliberately put my download, data and Windows/Wine folders outside of the Puppy system, but I observed that when I used quickpet to install Java that the Java folder was also placed outside the main system.

I made a frugal install on my hard drive though when I did an automatic upgrade from 4.0.6 (using a 5.0.0 CD) everything apparently worked perfectly, but my free MB dropped to 440 MB - so I did a fresh install and that (for some reason) saved about 300 MB.

I have a few minor queries, but this thread is not the place for asking questions. However, might this be an ideal spot to maintain information or pointers to keep lupu users up-to-date with major developments?

My regards and joyous barks

PS I can easily copy and paste everything (or just my lupusave file) from my Puppy partition to another folder in the same partition or to another partition on the same drive or to another drive. So I can pre-test any "daring for me" changes and/or have a backup/clone.

_________________
Desktop (1998 with 2002 Motherboard replacement) @ 2.0 GHz with 640 MB (SDRAM).
Precise 5.6 with Multi-session-Live-CD/DVD + W98SE solely for rare printing needs.

Last edited by Jasper on Thu 27 May 2010, 05:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Wed 26 May 2010, 04:59    Post subject:  

what kernel version is used in puppy5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cbs

Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 30 May 2010, 02:57    Post subject: Need drivers for Lupu 501
Subject description: need driver for wireless smc lan card
 

I have a Compaq Armada M300:- 600 MHz, 320 MB Ram, 10GB hdd
I am using a PCMCIA wireless network card: EZ connect SMC2632Wv2
Its has both Windoze XP and a Poor man's install of Puppy Linux 4.3.1. Everything worked fine on my old notebook.
Downloaded Lupu 5.0.1 recently... but it did not detect my wireless card.
Does this mean that 4.3.1 will be the final version of Puppu Linux for this computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 30 May 2010, 04:35    Post subject: Re: Need drivers for Lupu 501
Subject description: need driver for wireless smc lan card
 

cbs wrote:
I have a Compaq Armada M300:- 600 MHz, 320 MB Ram, 10GB hdd
I am using a PCMCIA wireless network card: EZ connect SMC2632Wv2
Its has both Windoze XP and a Poor man's install of Puppy Linux 4.3.1. Everything worked fine on my old notebook.
Downloaded Lupu 5.0.1 recently... but it did not detect my wireless card.
Does this mean that 4.3.1 will be the final version of Puppu Linux for this computer?


It is certainly possible that the kernel in Puppy 5 does not support your device.

A solution might be to use "ndiswrapper" which uses the windows wireless driver.

In "SNS" you choose the "Wndows" button and navigate to the windows folder where the driver is stored, OR in Dougal's network wizard you need to click "Load Module" and then "Use ndiswrapper" and again find the windows driver. The "inf" file is the one you want.

HTH
Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bremer


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun 2010, 04:30    Post subject:  I need a new breed of puppy
Subject description: Looking for pointers
 

Hi! I like Puppy in many ways, but there's one thing that makes it too annoying to recommend and that makes me even consider switching.

I take my Puppy with me wherever I go and use it to boot various defective Microsoft Windows machines. When I do, Puppy asks me silly questions about what keyboard I want and what timezone and what my monitor's resolution should be and other things that I don't care about. I just want it to use the defaults, no questions, and boot up super-fast so I can get things done.

Is there a fast-boot version of Puppy or other tiny distro that's made for people like me? (Please don't tell me to use Damn Small Linux. I have tried it, and it works, but I don't like the direction they are heading getting rid of the desktop icons.)

Thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun 2010, 04:43    Post subject:  

bremer if you choose to save the pupsave file after your initial setup all of your settings will be saved. The first time you shut down puppy you willl be asked to save this file, select yes. Next time you boot, puppy will load your settings automatically.

I am assuming you are using a frugal install which would be the best type for your purpose. You could even have the save file on the original CD/DVD if you like. You just need to ensure you burn it as a multi session when you first burn the iso to DC/DVD.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bremer


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun 2010, 19:21    Post subject:    

smokey01 wrote:
bremer if you choose to save the pupsave file after your initial setup all of your settings will be saved.


Yeah, I knew about that, but for most of the machines I either don't want to or am not allowed to touch the hard disk.

smokey01 wrote:
You could even have the save file on the original CD/DVD if you like. You just need to ensure you burn it as a multi session when you first burn the iso to DC/DVD.


Ah! Now that's something I didn't know. That would solve my problem nicely. I'll poke around and see if I can figure it out. Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bremer


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 15:21    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
You could even have the save file on the original CD/DVD if you like. You just need to ensure you burn it as a multi session when you first burn the iso to DC/DVD.

Okay, I tried it and it was surprisingly easy to use (I just clicked on "Save" on the desktop) and it is almost but not quite what I want. The problem is that I need the hardware to be autodetected every time because I'll be using this disk in many different machines. Saving it as multi-session seems to hardcode information (the video driver, at least) and I just want the autodetection scripts to assume the default for everything instead of asking me.

By the way, the save-to-multisession dialog boxes are very bizarrely worded right now. For example, one message was

LucidPuppy wrote:

Have saved session to live-DVD
(unless it has not, which is an error).
Remove DVD media if you wish.
Do not press close button on drive.
Press ENTER key to close drive tray
(laptop drive, have to manually close)


What the heck is that message telling me and why? Personally, I'd change it to read simply, "Session successfully saved to Live-DVD".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bremer


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 15:44    Post subject:  How much is that doggy in the window?
Subject description: Looking for a new puppy
 

bremer wrote:

Okay, I tried it and it was surprisingly easy to use (I just clicked on "Save" on the desktop)


Oops, it wasn't as easy as I thought. I clicked "Save' a second time and got a message that it was time to migrate to a new live-DVD. (Which is crazy since there is plenty of room left on the disk). It gives two options "Blank DVD-R" and "Upgrade DVD-R". I tried both and neither worked. I even tried blanking my Puppy DVD-RW first using "wodim blank=fast dev=/dev/sr0", but that also failed (it didn't even try to write; it just gave me the cryptic "Have saved session to live-DVD... or not" message I mentioned above). So now I've gone and erased my puppy by accident and I'm back where I started.

What breed of Puppy would be best for a person who just wants to boot quickly into a usable system on any random PC they encounter?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10511
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jun 2010, 05:54    Post subject: Re: How much is that doggy in the window?
Subject description: Looking for a new puppy
 

bremer wrote:
bremer wrote:

Okay, I tried it and it was surprisingly easy to use (I just clicked on "Save" on the desktop)


Oops, it wasn't as easy as I thought. I clicked "Save' a second time and got a message that it was time to migrate to a new live-DVD. (Which is crazy since there is plenty of room left on the disk). It gives two options "Blank DVD-R" and "Upgrade DVD-R". I tried both and neither worked. I even tried blanking my Puppy DVD-RW first using "wodim blank=fast dev=/dev/sr0", but that also failed (it didn't even try to write; it just gave me the cryptic "Have saved session to live-DVD... or not" message I mentioned above). So now I've gone and erased my puppy by accident and I'm back where I started.

What breed of Puppy would be best for a person who just wants to boot quickly into a usable system on any random PC they encounter?


Bremer this is just my wild guess.

I trust that you get more answers if you post this question as a new question in either Newbie or regular user sections.

I don't trust that enough persons read this thread.

And I think your question is interesting so it would help others too but now get buried under a title that is more about which puppy to use for regular daily use.

Your usage is rather special. Yes many use puppy that way but do they look under this thread for an answer? I don't trust they do Smile

I would put rescue in the title.

Working out of the box without asking questions. Lucid Puppy has such versions but realized it is not so easy always.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bremer


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 07:06    Post subject: Re: How much is that doggy in the window?
Subject description: Looking for a new puppy
 

nooby wrote:

I trust that you get more answers if you post this question as a new question in either Newbie or regular user sections. I don't trust that enough persons read this thread. [...] Working out of the box without asking questions. Lucid Puppy has such versions but realized it is not so easy always.


Thanks for the hint, Nooby.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10511
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 07:20    Post subject:  

bremer,

here is an important text by Barry K. the dev of Puppy re Lupu.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=418331#418331

I remember that playdayz or MickO released what you ask for but not sure how to find it fast. could be one of the Lupu 111 or other such numbering.

These iso did go directly to the desktop but they had only a hidden Seamonkey browser. I don't remember how one did activate it but they told it in the very long thread.

This post by playdayz indicate yo ushould look for the iso for Lupu 111.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=413117#413117

The key words to use seems to be auto config.

The problem is that one need a fairly general hardware. If the auto config fails then one end up in prompt.

If you give up on using puppy linux you could try out xPUD Linux

I have this in my menu.lst but don't remember which one that worked best.

But I think it goes straight to the desktop and real fast too. Within 30 seconds or even faster.

Quote:

title xPUD ( change lang=se to what works for your keyboard )
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /xpud/boot/bzImage noisapnp lang=se
initrd=/xpud/opt/core /xpud/opt/media



title xPUD 0.9.2 iso-boot
root (hd0,0)
kernel /xpud-0.9.2-image noisapnp quiet lang=se screen=1024x786


Me not sure what goes on here

root=(hd0,0)
root (hd0,0)

use the one that you usually use. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 12:26    Post subject: Available RAM  

Dear All,
I'm a not skilled Puppy user … I apologize for the question, maybe due to my low know-how and please pardon if this is not the right place for the following topic.
I use Puppy since its 3.01 version and thanks to it, I'm still able to work on an old pc (notebook Dell Latitude - 650MHz - 512M RAM).
After some test with the Lucid 5.1 / Live CD , I decided to install it on HD as fresh install (delete all the previous things) as frugal type.

The problem: in a simple Live mode I had (of course) a lot of available RAM, but after the install it becomes about 430M.
Moreover, with just few more packet added (Firefox, Dia, AisleRiot game) and no other activities, it dropped down to 343M.

The version I used before was ChoicePup, with a lot of sfs loaded (Koffice, Opera, FoxitReader and so on), but the amount of available RAM was about 385M.

Could anyone kindly tell me some more info about? Maybe there are some tricks to do or some particular actions.

Oh, an other thing: the chrome browser doesn't run at all, it's not a problem for me because I use Firefox and surely it's yet known, but...

Thanks in advance to everyone for any suggestion (and patience!)

Best Regards,

Inoxidabile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
leftfieldnz

Joined: 21 Aug 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 23:27    Post subject: update to Eldy Noob
Subject description: A great tool for New and Older Users
 

Hi
I have updated the Noob Eldy Helper. Tested in Puppy 5.0

HTH
noob.zip
Description  All the files and information needed
zip

 Download 
Filename  noob.zip 
Filesize  415.52 KB 
Downloaded  857 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 7 [92 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0950s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]