Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 16:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppeee 4.3X
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 164 of 176 [2633 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, ..., 174, 175, 176 Next
Author Message
sandungas

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sun 01 Aug 2010, 22:53    Post subject: Re: puppeee tshirts
Subject description: pink shades
 

jemimah wrote:
sandungas wrote:


"IceWm configuration" app generates a strange error that i cant understand (i supose that changes something in the "global" iceWM config file)
To replicate the fail:
1- open MENU/DESKTOP/ICEWM CONFIGURATION
2- close icewm configuration (just open & close, there is no need to change settings)
3- right click on the mouse over any of the taskbar monitor apps (battery, temperature, etc...)


This makes the taskbar icons to lost their background settings, and the fail happens in all the themes, even after rebooting the fail is permanent (and i have not found a way to fix it)

------------------------


Hmm, I can't reproduce it. Anyone else have this issue?

I realized that if i boot a clean install of puppeee, this problems is not present, so there must be something wrong with icewm config in my savefile
I dont remember exactly what i did, but this days i was playing with icewm, so probably it was my fault

jemimah wrote:
sandungas wrote:


Xcompmgr desktop effects is very cpu/gpu intensive, the windows effects are veeeeeeery slow
I think this app is unusable in a eeepc, and dont match with the idea of puppeee (fast & light)


What model EeePC do you have? The effects seem much smoother on Celeron than Atom in my testing, but never totally unusable. What kind of framerate do you get in glxgears?

glxgears gives me a 237 FPS

To be more precise, what is slow is the fade effect behind windows & menu
-windows - a bit slow, but usable
-menu - same speed than windows fade, but adding the delay of the menu items in icewm... makes the menu seem buggy

The shadow effects behind windows/taskbar/menu are nice, no problem with them

Maybe there is a config file with the fade speed, or with an option to deactivate it, but seems more a problem of the app than a problem of puppeee

----------------------------------

Yesterday i readed that the icewm puppeee uses is compiled by you, and you was talking about transparencyes
I realized about an strage behaviour with desktop icons

The problem happens in icewm themes that uses background images in the menu/submenues (like the themes i did)
If you change between "Graphic" & "Office" & "Personal" submenues... you will see some desktops icons behind them dissapear partially (i.e. chat icon)

Seems to be some kind of delay with the menu background images (probably something normal)

The strange thing is that Xcompmgr fixes this problem (if you activate Xcompmgr the menu is slower because the fade effect, but the problem with dissapearing icons get fixed) Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simon1482

Joined: 15 Jul 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue 03 Aug 2010, 04:59    Post subject:  

Thanks for all your help so far! Unfortunately, I've got myself in trouble again...do'h...

After getting firefox tweaked to my taste, its suddenly gone back to its default settings/extensions/plugins/etc. I was experimenting with Desktops (Rox-Filer, PCManFM, etc), somehow I think this has killed it. The settings I want back are in
/initrd/pup_ro1/root/.mozilla

How do I tell which folder is being used by the current instance of firefox? And how to I get write access to this folder so I can move the files there? (I tried copying the files to other pup_ro2, pup_ro3, etc directories, but the directories were read only)

Thanks,
Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 03 Aug 2010, 10:05    Post subject: Re: puppeee tshirts
Subject description: pink shades
 

sandungas wrote:

glxgears gives me a 237 FPS

To be more precise, what is slow is the fade effect behind windows & menu
-windows - a bit slow, but usable
-menu - same speed than windows fade, but adding the delay of the menu items in icewm... makes the menu seem buggy



The fade is tweakable (although adjusting the speed does not seem to help on Atom models [but looks good to me on Celeron], turning the fade off is also possible). Eventually I'm going to add more features to the GUI to allow more effects customization. Anyone want to take a stab at it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 03 Aug 2010, 10:19    Post subject:  

simon1482 wrote:
Thanks for all your help so far! Unfortunately, I've got myself in trouble again...do'h...

After getting firefox tweaked to my taste, its suddenly gone back to its default settings/extensions/plugins/etc. I was experimenting with Desktops (Rox-Filer, PCManFM, etc), somehow I think this has killed it. The settings I want back are in
/initrd/pup_ro1/root/.mozilla

How do I tell which folder is being used by the current instance of firefox? And how to I get write access to this folder so I can move the files there? (I tried copying the files to other pup_ro2, pup_ro3, etc directories, but the directories were read only)

Thanks,
Simon


The files in /initrd are the AUFS layers - you shouldn't try to modify them directly.

What Firefox uses is a result of combining the layers in the readonly file systems and your writable save file. If you just delete /root/.mozilla, AUFS will white that directory out and none of the layers will show through.

So what you need to do, is boot without loading the save file. Then click on the save file to open it and delete the .mozilla directory. Then the next time you boot, the .mozilla directory that I put in the firefox sfs file will show up and you can start over.

If you continue to have layering problems, you can use Pet Maker Plus to convert the firefox sfs file into a pet and install it normally. Then all the firefox stuff will be in your save file, and hopefully won't pull any weird disappearing acts. AUFS can be a touch buggy at times - if it bothers you, you can do a full install - in which case AUFS is not used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sandungas

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue 03 Aug 2010, 20:00    Post subject:  

I prefer firefox over chrome mostly because 2 plugins (AdBlock plus & NoScript)
These 2 are a must for me, they must be configured for every web you visit, but are "spam killers" and makes web browsing faster
Is easy to add plugins to the firefox.sfs ?

I have not tried, but im thinking to make a new puppeee install... reboot (save) and load firefox.sfs and install the plugins (reboot and save again)
Then boot a fresh puppee and take a look at the savefile to try to identify the plugins files
Extract this plugins files and try to inject them in firefox.sfs
Is doable ?

Actually im using chrome, because it seems that is more "integrated" with puppeeee (and faster), but the way chrome can be uninstalled is nice and gives us more freedom
Im not sure wich one i will use, but im happy with both
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 03 Aug 2010, 21:08    Post subject:  

Have you tried these:
Adblock:https://chrome.google.com/extensions/detail/gighmmpiobklfepjocnamgkkbiglidom
Flashblock:https://chrome.google.com/extensions/detail/gofhjkjmkpinhpoiabjplobcaignabnl

Javascript can be managed in the Chrome content preferences.

------

Remastering the Firefox SFS is also pretty easy. Just install your addons and bookmarks and such. Then boot into Live mode, open your save file, and use the Edit-SFS application to open the Firefox SFS. Move the /root/.mozilla directory from your save file over the top of the one in the the Firefox SFS. Then click Build and you'll have a new custom SFS.

Firefox creates some rather large database files when it first starts up. For a smaller SFS file, you can delete those out of the .mozilla directory. It's sort of trial and error which files need to be there and which can be deleted, but you can look the the files I have in the SFS to get an idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 03 Aug 2010, 21:27    Post subject:  

Another thing to consider is using this method to block ads.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58332

Works for all browses and won't slow anything down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 05 Aug 2010, 09:59    Post subject:  

Before I make the release announcement, can some people test out my isos, md5sums, and zip packages to make sure I didn't screw up anything major.

http://puppeee.com/files/Puppeee1.0/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 05 Aug 2010, 10:49    Post subject:  

Puppeee-1.0-celeron.iso 05-Aug-2010 00:35 127M
md5sum ok
click iso, copy 4 main files to folder on vfat partition on sdcard, grub boot ok
open wifi connect ok. auto reconnect wifi on reboot ok
opera portable 10.61 post this message ok
create ext3 pupsave, reboot ok
java sfs as configured here ok
pwidgets ok

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zicozico


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Thu 05 Aug 2010, 11:31    Post subject:  

downloading celeron-zip via crappy but free Smile internet connection in holiday resort in Switserland. (50 minutes left)

I'll test as soon as the download has completed, providing I'm not forced to go to a restaurant Very Happy

Regards,
Zicozico
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
calexand

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu 05 Aug 2010, 13:04    Post subject: Puppee 4.3 RC 8  

Downloaded RC 8 last night, placed it on a 4GiB Sandisk Cruzer, and booted my 900A. The OS was indeed fast and felt stable, except for pwidgets, which would not work. I downloaded it from the Repository and did finally succeed to get the clock to work. Nothing else would work, no matter what I tried.
Looks good, otherwise.
CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 05 Aug 2010, 13:09    Post subject:  

You need to start pwidgets using the Start/Stop Pwidgets entry the File menu. Upgrading it will probably break the patches for the Fan and Battery.

That reminds me I forgot to fix the double batteries in the battery widget. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
calexand

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu 05 Aug 2010, 13:15    Post subject:  

Thanks for your reply.
Yes, Ma'am, I did attempt to start/stop pwidgets from the file menu. It would not start originally, that is why I decided to try downloading it (again?) from the repository.
Other than pwidgets (still) not working (properly), it appeared to cause no other noticeable harm to the OS.
Thanks again,
CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 05 Aug 2010, 14:13    Post subject:  

Which window manager? Pwidgets/Openbox doesn't work right without some modifications. (Also it only works with ROX, not PCmanFM).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TomRhymer

Joined: 18 Sep 2009
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Thu 05 Aug 2010, 14:37    Post subject: Puppeee 1.0  

I downloaded both the Atom iso and zip, both matched the md5 sums.

Put the zip on a flash drive, ran it on my Aspire One. Everything that I've tried so far has worked fine. Saved and rebooted, no errors. Good job.

This is easily the best Linux distro I've ever found for netbooks. Thanks for all the work you've put into it.

BTW, is there an easy way to edit the boot menu? I'd like to move the 'don't check the hard drive' option out of the advanced menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 164 of 176 [2633 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, ..., 174, 175, 176 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1301s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0447s) ][ GZIP on ]