Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 16:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.1- A Full-Featured Compact Distro
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 92 of 145 [2171 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, ..., 143, 144, 145 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 01 Aug 2010, 22:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
I am using gxine 0.5.9 that you put in Lucid-Puppy-5.0. It works fine here. I know the later ones seem to cause some problems that's why Barry stuck with this version I believe. Another idea might be to setup the media players like you have done with the choice of browsers. The only problem with this is it will create problems for people with slow or no internet connections. If you don't have an internet connection then a browser is not important but a media player is a must.


It's too late to do that this time--but I think placing it in PPM would be close to as good. You are using it in 5.00 I assume. I tried this afternoon to use gxine, xine-lib, and mplayer_codecs_full put I had some problems. Could you try to extract them from 5.00 that will work in 5.07. I will try again too. Thanks. There is obviously more needed than just gxine, xine-libs, and mplayer_codecs_basic. Only mpg video will play both video and audio--other video formats only play audio. mp3 audio plays but not flac.

Quote:
1. Is there any way of getting a current list of the problems that have not been resolved yet, in the same place? so nothing gets missed between versions and to save having to trawl back through this post?

2. Could a checklist or rota be set up to make sure all applications have been tested fully (including pets) to ensure the best release version possible? instead of for example 47 people testing Gplayer and nobody testing 1 of the graphics programs and a possible problem slipping through.


This are good ideas Stripe. We are getting to the point where we could do that kind of organization. That's how it should be done and now we have the foundation to work from, imho. Not for 5.1 unfortunately, but for 5.2/5.5--01micko is rearing to get his hands on those Maverick binaries Wink No joke, when you see the start of the next cycle please remind me. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2588
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 00:21    Post subject: Countrywizard
Subject description: Changing keyboard settings without falling back to console
 

I made countrywizard-0.1 and calling for testing.
Changing keyboard settings with this wizard, you need not have to fall back to console anymore.

See Advanced Topics » Additional Software » Desktop » Countrywizard-0.1
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58312
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 01:20    Post subject:  

I imagine this is buried somewhere in the 92 pages of threads ... but just want to report that the old problem of overlapping text and graphics when scrolling in Seamonkey is still there:

Quote:
VGA compatible controller : Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device
Display controller : Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated


Otherwise everything else I have tried so far seems rock-solid.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 03:17    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
(SNIP)
This are good ideas Stripe. We are getting to the point where we could do that kind of organization. That's how it should be done and now we have the foundation to work from, imho. Not for 5.1 unfortunately, but for 5.2/5.5--01micko is rearing to get his hands on those Maverick binaries Wink No joke, when you see the start of the next cycle please remind me. Thanks.

technosaurus uses(d) googlecode. He did this for 4.4 but it didn't catch on too well as far as I know, that doesn't mean to say it wasn't a good idea. I think it was a great idea, just we are all so used to this forum that change is slow.

Of course there are the usual advantages/disadvantages, I won't go through them because the point of this post is not to discuss the idea but make aware that we can put some sort of system in place.

hehe.. Maverick . m-m-m (to steal a Lobster phrase) ... yes! But not for a month for me. You wont see me for a little while after 5.1 is released .. (I'll be around just not prominent Wink )

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1795
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 05:43    Post subject:  

01micko and playdayz, I have just spent the day setting up lupu-507 on a friends machine. All worked pretty well except the sound volume is very low. I had tried all the normal things like alsamixer and retrovol and turned everything up full blast, still not very loud though. When I booted windows the sounds was very loud. Any ideas. HP Pavilion a1220a.

The other issue. When I placed a sfs file, picasa in this case at /mnt/home and rebooted, some of the icons returned to their original position. I think it was the screen lock, bin and zip. I had moved them to make way for Pwidgets. Not a big deal as the next boot I think they stayed put. It only seems to happen after a sfs file is added or removed via boot manager.

I'm a little confused about Gxine. The one I am using in lupu-5.0 is the one that came with 5.0. Are you saying you are having problems with it? I will see if I can find a copy and try it in lupu-507.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 06:09    Post subject: minor little thing with Glipper  

507 frugal, after restarting, the glipper tray icon doesn't show although glipper is actually running and there is an empty space where the icon should be. Restarting x server puts it back in the tray.

As I said, minor, but 1st post says test everything, so... Smile

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 07:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
When I booted windows the sounds was very loud. Any ideas.


I get low sound but not in Ubuntu Lucid Lynx (so it is not the Ubuntu binaries)

I seem to remember that Barry did set the sound very low
and there was a reason . . .

I often have to set my woofer to max to get acceptable sound
Somewhere in the boot up there is a way of just
upping a number in a config file . . .
Maybe someone will remember . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 07:52    Post subject:  

Frugal 507 IceWM
Had to add powerapplet_tray to z-start-icetrayapps for the battery monitor to show in the task bar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 09:04    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
The other issue. When I placed a sfs file, picasa in this case at /mnt/home and rebooted, some of the icons returned to their original position. I think it was the screen lock, bin and zip. I had moved them to make way for Pwidgets. Not a big deal as the next boot I think they stayed put. It only seems to happen after a sfs file is added or removed via boot manager.
This is the normal operation for all pups using ROX. To compensate, make a backup of root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin (ie copy PuppyPin to PuppyPinBak) and after your reboot, delete PuppyPin and copy PuppyPinBak back to PuppyPin, then restartX, which will quickly restore your desktop to it's desired appearance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 09:27    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
smokey01 wrote:
The other issue. When I placed a sfs file, picasa in this case at /mnt/home and rebooted, some of the icons returned to their original position. I think it was the screen lock, bin and zip. I had moved them to make way for Pwidgets. Not a big deal as the next boot I think they stayed put. It only seems to happen after a sfs file is added or removed via boot manager.
This is the normal operation for all pups using ROX. To compensate, make a backup of root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin (ie copy PuppyPin to PuppyPinBak) and after your reboot, delete PuppyPin and copy PuppyPinBak back to PuppyPin, then restartX, which will quickly restore your desktop to it's desired appearance.


Yes, I've been meaning to swat that one for awhile.. should be relatively simple, (however there is one caveat, unpluggin/plugging dongles/cards between boots), it can wait, but not forever Wink

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 10:11    Post subject: Bibletime-2.7.2  

I used a clean frugal installation of 507 with Edit-SFS to edit tazoc's Bibletime-2.7.2a.sfs to add the libs that I posted earlier for 506. The resulting Bibletime_lucid-2.7a.sfs works great. All that's necessary is to add the missing libs already posted. Menus and icons are correct.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 11:56    Post subject:  

tubeguy, more info about saving to a partition. It works with a hard drive if and only if you install the frugal files to / instead of in a folder such as puppy510. That would be good for development I think. It worked for me anyway.

------------------------------------------------------
In lupu-508, we should test the sound level.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=434775#434775
This might help.

Last edited by playdayz on Mon 02 Aug 2010, 12:48; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 12:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
I'm a little confused about Gxine. The one I am using in lupu-5.0 is the one that came with 5.0. Are you saying you are having problems with it? I will see if I can find a copy and try it in lupu-507.


Yes smokey, I used the pets gxine, xine-lib, and mplayer_codecs_basic that were installed in Lucid Pup 5.0, and installed them in 507 and the resulting gxine runs but it does not play everything it should--in fact it only plays a few things,. It plays mpg video and mp3 audio and maybe some others but not most video and not flac audio. There must be something else that is in 5.0, well duh, but I don't have time to chase it down right now. If you did then I would put it into PPM in time for the release of 5.1. Thanks.

I remember that when we made the shift from gxine and installed a pet of mplayer to test, someone reported that it made gxine not work as well anymore. But I would like to have it for PPM for sure if it could be compatible. We have a few days.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
hehe.. Maverick . m-m-m (to steal a Lobster phrase) ... yes!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYrsDT02OcE
Last edited by playdayz on Mon 02 Aug 2010, 12:36; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 657
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 12:29    Post subject:  

Hi all

Problem with sound icon (volume control) disapearing from taskbar and a loss of sound in icewm after a reboot, will reinstall with alsa sound card wizard (from the set up menu) but after a reboot in icewm it disapears again, but if rebooted into jvm the icon stays and I still have sound.

Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Mon 02 Aug 2010, 20:16    Post subject:  

Lupu-508 Beta 3 is ready for some testing. In the first message of this thread. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 92 of 145 [2171 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, ..., 143, 144, 145 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1271s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0321s) ][ GZIP on ]